Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,870 Bewertungen
482 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

5. März 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

EC

21. Feb. 2022

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 472 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Damini B

9. Apr. 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

von umar f

21. Apr. 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

von Diego P L

3. Okt. 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

von सोच: T V

20. Aug. 2020

It was an informative course in practical life across the world. All facts and examples were very relevant and very much helpful to understand the society.

von Lilen Q

10. Feb. 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

von Gilbert A A

22. Apr. 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

von Ajay V

25. Apr. 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

von Erme S

16. Juni 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

von Varun K S

14. Aug. 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

von Tania

31. Okt. 2020

I learned a lot! Do not give up after the first week...keep going and you will see how the concepts can be applied to real situations and problems.

von Kamrul H

6. Nov. 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

von Lucie M

20. Apr. 2021

i have learned so much in this class. the teacher was amazing. she does her job very well. i like her teaching style. thank you miss Christina B

von Maria J S C

9. Juli 2020

Cristina is amazing. Everything is very clear and ordered. I believe this should be a compulsory course for anyone interested in public policy.

von Diana M

4. Sep. 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

von Kristen P

24. Mai 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

von Nj R

11. Nov. 2020

so informative that helps you to be open-minded, understand the various cultures and respect people why they behave or do certain behaviours.

von Catarina B

6. Apr. 2020

I learing a lot in this course. the only thing that I did not like it was the fact of the week 4 was way more longer than the others. Thanks!

von Yenlik T

13. Feb. 2020

Amazing professor! Last week is quite dense with many new notions regarding techniques so separating them into more pieces might be helpful.

von Sarah S

18. Juni 2017

Excellent course, well delivered and a good balance of detail and insight with laymen terminology. I would definitely recommend this course!

von Nakarin C

10. Juli 2020

it s a very good course for any persons who interest the social sci and this course gives me a new len to see how the societies really are

von Pablo G

14. Nov. 2019

Very interesting and useful course. People should learn about this, so better programming oriented to behaviour change could be developed.

von MD. A R H

2. Nov. 2019

I have come up with in and outs of social expectation, norms and behaviour responsible to create or abandon these norms. Helped me a lot.

von Haroon A

13. Juli 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you

von elnaz a

10. Nov. 2021

it was my first experiment about online learning.and it was so helpful and amazing. I am grateful for your effort and time for training.

von Mohamed A S M

29. Jan. 2019

I suggest this course to my all colleagues b/c will give us a lot of solutions for our community problems , thank you for this chance