Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel Programming in Java

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel Programming in Java von Rice University

4.6
685 Bewertungen
137 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Top-Bewertungen

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 136 Bewertungen für Parallel Programming in Java

von Rahul K R

Jul 21, 2018

We need more exercises and more small size exercises

von Serikzhan K

Jul 20, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

von Travis W

Jul 23, 2018

A little easy, I don't think I spent more than 5 hours on the whole thing lol

von Tianxiang X

Jul 23, 2018

Well-made videos, good explanation of concepts, great hands-on projects (not too difficult).

Some issues w/ differences b/t dev and grader environments in terms of performance / tests passing, but that's inevitable.

von Leonid S

Sep 07, 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

von Suresh T

Sep 12, 2018

This covers fundamentals of parallel programming and upto date with all jdk8 lambdas and functional programming

von Мухин С А

Sep 25, 2018

Всё хорошо

von Jonathan H

Sep 27, 2018

awesome

von Ignacio G

Oct 22, 2018

It's a great course, you learn the fundamentals to keep going and challenge your task at work to improve the performance.

I don't find that good that sometimes we have to use the API's provided by the University and not Java libraries.

von Grigory N

Oct 24, 2018

The course is good!

von Leonardo S

Aug 17, 2018

Very enjoyable and educational

von Light0617

Nov 02, 2018

wonderful!!!

von Arun K

Nov 03, 2018

The fundamental core concepts are lucidly setforth by the teacher.

von Sudharaka P

Nov 06, 2018

Great course!!!

von Mehul S

Nov 08, 2018

Very informative course.

von Mark F

Aug 20, 2018

Well organized and high quality videos. Nice job with this class!

von Sonu M

Dec 03, 2018

I liked the course material and the relevant assignments and projects. It is of right difficulty level: gives you knowledge and makes you comfortable with the concepts and tools without making you slog for weeks. I feel students will be able to retain the gained knowledge longer than traditional classes.

von Marcos N F

May 04, 2019

Excelente

von Tsung T C

Jul 13, 2019

Clear instruction and concepts provided with this 4-weeks-long course.

von John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

von frishta

Oct 10, 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

von PATEL H K

Oct 17, 2019

Good course to learn parallel programming in java

von Matthew

Oct 23, 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

von Carlos A R

Oct 23, 2019

Really didactic!

von marcos h b p

Nov 11, 2019

I liked very much the material support. I found fascinating the framework PCD. Congrats