Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
1,508 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top-Bewertungen

ES

4. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11. Juni 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 614 Bewertungen für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

von Gracie A

16. Apr. 2018

I loved this course! It was amazing and entertaining. Also, this course helped spark inspiration through the prompts

von Savarni P

8. Mai 2016

This course has helped me out a lot and turned my vague knowledge on Poetry to a concrete one. I personally love it!

von James M

8. Mai 2021

This course covers a lot of ground in a very compact way. Like good poetry this course is tight an devoid of fluff.

von Deleted A

25. Aug. 2018

Interesting, useful and fun course with a unique (actually, unforgettable) instructor presentation style. Thanks :)

von Saul G

7. März 2019

Instructor, Mr.KEARNEY makeS of poetry something so lit. It has awaked the interest for understanding it better.

von Carla G

25. Sep. 2016

This course gave me a better understanding of poetry, the art form. The class is well-structured and well-paced.

von Sharon E

7. Okt. 2020

Educational, inspiring, entertaining - a wonderful, unique all-round experience - I learned so much.

Thank you!

von Rubén J

8. Dez. 2017

Extremely useful and well explained for anybody from someone who has never seen the topics to English graduates

von Lindsay M

22. Sep. 2020

Lots of fun while learning key concepts. Exercises and Assignments really helped me engage with the material.

von Vladislav L

24. Nov. 2016

An amazing, interesting and very thought-provoking course! Thank you, Douglas Kearney and all fellow students!

von Sieran Y

14. Nov. 2021

L​oved the prof! Funny, engaging, and eloquent presenter. I enjoyed giving feedback to classmates the most.

von Brandy R

28. Jan. 2022

I enjoyed the peer review process the most. The course was great. The professor was insightful and creative.

von Larry W

22. März 2018

Engaging and informative but not overwhelming. A wonderful introduction to the various components of poetry.

von Gustavo A G A

28. Aug. 2017

Extraordinario maestro. Gran curso. Hace que la poesía sea algo asequible para todos. Altamente recomendable

von Xie W

9. März 2017

It's a lot of fun to study this course, especially the peer review could be very rewarding and entertaining.

von Mariam

10. Apr. 2017

The setup and information provided and partnered with prompts is really helpful in aquiring greater skills.

von Joseph F

2. Feb. 2021

Fun instructor, very good choices of poems to examine and a concise breakdown of the many literary devices

von Alisha B

21. Juni 2020

Amazing course! I learned so much about not only writing poetry, but reading it and analyzing. I loved it!

von Stephanie R

13. Feb. 2021

Douglas Kearney is an exceptional teacher. I've taken many online courses and he gets 10/10 for delivery!

von Megan A

30. Nov. 2020

This was such a fun learning experience! It challenged me and pushed me to get creative and build skills.

von Mo A

21. Juni 2020

Doug is a great teacher and I enjoyed his methods a lot. I learned a lot from him. I appreciate it all!

von katie w

1. Aug. 2019

The instructor is great and we get to read some really awesome poetry. The prompts are fun and creative!

von Kamila Ś

30. Aug. 2017

Nice, easy and informative. Enjoyed it very much. Now I'm starting work on my own little book of poetry.

von Deepika S

11. Juli 2017

Learning a lot of things relevant for this course; I think the peer graded workshop is very helpful too.

von Erin

7. März 2018

This was an entry level course to poetry and I feel like by taking it I have become a much better poet.