Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Program Design in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
3,027 Bewertungen
518 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger Scala applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Finally, you will learn how to leverage the ability of the compiler to infer values from types. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity with using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP
14. Sep. 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
17. März 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 502 Bewertungen für Functional Program Design in Scala

von David P

5. Jan. 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the lectures by M. Odersky! Unfortunately the lectures on Futures seemed a bit disconnected from the rest of the material...

von Santiago S L

12. Okt. 2018

Course is fine from an "standard" industry standpoint. However, I would have loved more monads and harder concepts related to category theory.

von Fernando G

13. Juli 2016

Interesting, but a little bit too easy and shallow.

The material was reused from other courses without making it all fit together well.

von Nathan L

13. Okt. 2016

Was quite good but getting less and less useful, too abstract, lacking detail. Examples too academic, needs to be more practical.

von Alfonso M F

19. Dez. 2016

Week 3 assigment had little relationship with the material presented in the course. Week 4 needs quite a lot of polish...

von Yuan L

16. Feb. 2017

The last week has materials that nothing related to assignment, and it jumps a bit fast where i have no clue at all

von Nicolas C

1. Juni 2016

Most of the content was included in Functional Programming in Scala and Reactive Programming Principles in Scala.

von Bidhya N S

2. Apr. 2019

The course is not structured well. Also concepts like monads and functors are not covered in detailed way.

von David S

20. Dez. 2016

Meh. Very basic intro; not the more advanced class I anticipated, based on the first in the sequence.

von Damien F

3. Dez. 2016

The videos were a bit confusing and gave me the impression that it was a patchwork from old lectures.

von Peter H

30. Dez. 2018

Course material seems to be combined from two old courses, and some materials are not well prepared.

von Roger L

9. Aug. 2017

The examples & exercises were too academic. Just glad to complete it. Found it extremely dull.

von Mayeul M

5. Sep. 2016

Not as useful as the first course. The part on the futures is not really understandable.

von yassine a

3. Nov. 2017

not bad , but very short and not huge plus value compared to first course

von Gabriele A

1. Okt. 2019

Good course but not much coherence between lessons and exercises.

von mostafa n

29. Apr. 2017

nice course but i was expecting more about actors and futures

von Andrew Z

5. Sep. 2016

The main difficulty of the task does not apply to the course

von Bert H

6. Okt. 2016

Course material looked sometimes recycled and unstructered

von Chang F

5. Dez. 2016

Not as good as the first one, esp near the end.

von Sergey S

17. Dez. 2016

progfun and reactive programming was better

von Kuba F

24. Sep. 2016

Worse than Scala Principles - too chaotic.

von dani l

27. Sep. 2016

The old version was more interesting.

von Ivan P

27. Okt. 2019

The first week is simply useless :(

von Dmitriy K

3. Dez. 2016

Asigments are too easy to implement

von Luigi

23. Sep. 2016

I was expecting more from it.