Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Program Design in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
2,665 Bewertungen
452 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 of 435 Reviews for Functional Program Design in Scala

von Arslan S

Sep 05, 2016

This is one of the best courses I have taken on functional programming using Scala.

von Guixin Z

Jan 11, 2017

nice content and challenging assignment. help me understand and start using some popular tools and libraries in Scala eco-system.

von ELINGUI P U

Nov 12, 2017

If you are able to pass this course, you are very strong :-) Great course well taught

von Tin H K

Jan 28, 2017

A great continuation course to learn functional programming in Scala. Thank you very much Professor Odersky!

von Vinay P

Nov 08, 2017

A very good introduction to scala and functional programming

von Michael P

Nov 07, 2016

Great course. Nice and to the point. I wish there were a course dedicated to Scala web stack (ScalaJs,React,etc. ...)

von Jakub T m G

Jan 12, 2017

interesting and good structured lectures, challenging assignments,

von Lance F

Jun 12, 2017

This is an absolutely outstanding course - far better than I would have believed possible. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Scala.

von Yihan S

May 17, 2017

Excellent mindset of functional programming

von Karthik B

Dec 30, 2016

Very nice course. Had a lot of material to learn and understand. Helped a lot in understanding reactive programming in Scala.

von Almaz

Jul 11, 2017

AWESOME

von Krishna A

Jun 12, 2017

This course continues where Part 1 left off and covers some of the advanced concepts of FP - especially the dreaded Monads.

von Krishnan C

Dec 05, 2016

This class was really useful for helping me to understand streams and functional reactive programming!

von Carlos S

Jun 23, 2016

A great course, come jump in and learn good programming skills.

von Grant N

Oct 19, 2016

Great course. The lecture about actors that were mentioned in the beginning of week 4 would have been a nice addition.

von Vladimir P

Oct 26, 2016

Great course!

von Marcus V M d S

May 11, 2018

Excellent exposition of many new, interesting ideas. Definitely opens your mind and enables you to become a better programmer.

von Qi G

Oct 14, 2017

Very good~

von Nguyen T V

Oct 20, 2016

Thanks, great course!

von Vadim Z

Apr 02, 2018

Interesting practical assignments, good material base, quizzes. Recommended!

von Gian U L

Sep 05, 2016

And here too I got a lot of fun

von Kartikeya K

Jul 24, 2016

very good lectures and hands on example.

von Alex G

Jul 04, 2016

Amazing

von Gavrilov E

Oct 07, 2016

Thanks! It's a great course!

von Hyung-tak J

Jul 25, 2016

good