Chevron Left
Zurück zu Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
20,156 Bewertungen
3,736 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Practical assignments
(217 Bewertungen)
High quality content
(256 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 3,624 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

von Anthony S

Apr 01, 2018

So far courses 1 and 2 have been great with excellent explanations. I have no idea why, but that all changes for this course. The explanations are lacking and I'm left super confused. I ended up passing this class, but I feel I didn't get a good grasp and would need to take another "access web data" like class to actually have a grasp, even a basic grasp at that. This course should be revisited with better explanations.

von Alan M R

Jan 10, 2018

As an experienced programmer, I am unimpressed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; web i/o. I would introduce classes before getting into web i/o; this would emphasize critical coding habits of productive programmers: modularity and reusability. Also, variables and files are poorly named. Comments are lacking. The exercises don't ask students to program; they ask students to tweak (at most) the example programs. Students are instructed to disable security features without sufficient discussion of the risks involved. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

von Christian W

Jul 22, 2016

Unfortunately on the whole I was very disappointed with this class. I took the first two Python courses and found them manageable, but this third one was an unrealistic increase in difficulty from the previous two. I reached out for help on the discussion board a number of times and saw many others were struggling as well. Mentors who responded to some of the other students were clearly getting defensive when those students were getting nowhere on the assignments. I think this program should reevaluate itself so students such as me can keep up with the assignments. On average I was spending about 10 hours per week just on the syntax for building the programs.

A little about my background: I have 20 years of experience in the private sector and am currently an analyst in cyber security. I have an undergraduate degree in finance, an MBA, and another master’s degree in Data Analytics. This 5 course program has been described and sold as beginner level, and given my background I should have handily been able to complete it, but that was definitely not the case. Normally I don’t leave feedback unless I feel strongly about something, so I hope you take it seriously. Thanks.

von Karunamoorthy M

May 14, 2019

One of the Great Course on web Data Accessing through Python.

Thank you for your friendly teaching method.

von Greg C

Apr 08, 2019

Great material, but it feels a bit rushed, covering as many topics as it does, in such a short amount of time.

von 赵泽民

Jul 05, 2019

The course materials provided are very clear and useful.

von Daniel H

Jun 15, 2019

The assignments often go way beyond what is taught in the lectures or book. There was not a single assignment that I did not have to rely on reading tons of extra info from Overstack or other coding sites. I don't mind if the course is challenging, but it's challenging not because it's extremely difficult, but rather because it is testing things that weren't taught.

von Raquel R G

Dec 11, 2018

Doing this course is not so much related to Python but to other computer engineering topics.

Network concepts are required, as well as knowing other programming languages such as HTML, XML or JSON, API or WebServices. Assignments require parsing webpages in HTML, XML or JSON, so knowledge of the same is needed. I would not pursue this course unless having strong knowledge about those topics

It is offered as part of a certification for people that know nothing about programming, so between course 2 and 3 there is a huge conceptual gap (going from loops, if-else and defining variables to HTTPS protocols, JSON and Service Layers). Keep your expectations right

von 叶子昊

Jul 21, 2019

good teaching!

von Sumit K

Jul 21, 2019

At first I was loving the content of the course but at the later stages, this proved to be the same as my school where they teach something and give assignment about something else

von Fengye F

Jul 21, 2019

a bit hard for me, but pretty interesting! thanks dr.chuck!

von Kevin K

Jul 20, 2019

Very useful stuff. Glad to get exposure at a high level to both XML and JSON. Would prefer to get introduced to objects a bit earlier - and maybe a bit more brush-up on dictionaries as applied here -- but I am impressed how the examples are structured to help us easily unlock things through self-study.

von Kulbhushan S

Jul 20, 2019

Good.

von Yuliang Z

Jul 19, 2019

Great course!

von Libro

Jul 19, 2019

good

von Diego M G

Jul 18, 2019

amazing explanation. amazing course

von Ashray G

Jul 18, 2019

As I mentioned in the previous reviews about this Specialisation, all these courses are meant for beginners without previous programming experience and the difficulty of courses rises gradually.Thus, the first course was a real piece of cake, second got a little tougher and this one is the first course that really took me some time to finish it. This time I really had to listen to some lectures twice, to debug my code a hell lot of times and to stick to the sample code a lot.Students, who have programming experience might still think that this course is too slow and easy, but it is a great way for the beginner to learn python.To sum up: great course, uprising difficulties, recommend enrolling after finishing previous courses. 10/10

von Siddhartha M

Jul 18, 2019

Professor Chuck's way of explaining is fantastic. Each progressive assignment requires the knowledge of previous assignments. So that helps in re-iterating.

One feedback - I think there shall be some more assignments

von A O

Jul 17, 2019

Nice course

von Karan M

Jul 17, 2019

Its an awesome course as always. I love coursera. they have provided me with financial aids and I have started to gain value as an industry professional. Thanks, Coursera, and Dr. Charles.

von Eddie Z

Jul 15, 2019

Chuck is great. enough said

von jose m c

Jul 15, 2019

El contenido del curso es denso, sin embargo el Dr. Chuck nuevamente explica detalladamente que esta sucediendo en el código, como facilitar el trabajo con el uso de librerías que son muy útiles para este tipo de tareas, el curso en lineas generales es confuso pero no porque haya habido una mala explicación del mismo solo que el contenido del curso lleva tiempo entenderlo.

von Christian D

Jul 15, 2019

Excellent!!

von Aman S

Jul 14, 2019

This course was very interesting and I found this a little difficult.

von JETARIN C

Jul 14, 2019

very good course