Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
1,134 Bewertungen
286 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 282 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Mount N

Sep 04, 2016

ppt真心做得很漂亮,但是这门课程不是一门入门课,面向对象是在已经掌握了微积分的前提下、希望对微积分进一步了解和巩固的学生,自然,有些地方的讲述是非常仓促的。

思路上讲主线一直围绕泰勒级数展开,也总是以泰勒级数为思考角度(包括后面part 2也是如此),个人并不是十分适应这种纯数学的方式,更喜欢感官上、性质上来把握,所以……仁者见仁智者见智吧 ^_^

von Krishna P R

Jun 20, 2018

I have taken a calculus course at university which dealt with the epsilon-delta definition of things. Enjoyed the different approach as well, keep up the good work!

von Benjamin C

Mar 19, 2018

Challenging, because begins with the infinite series, which are not a simple concept. Once complete, a much higher level of mathematical understanding is achieved.

von Anna G

Aug 07, 2017

A good course but quire difficult and definitely requires a strong calculus foundation. The weird rhythm of the professor speaking is somewhat distracting.

von Dr. T V R

Dec 27, 2016

I would like to have been able to review some quiz questions with answers after the course was complete. That option does not seem to exist.

von Harshavardhan

Feb 26, 2018

The lectures on Big O (growth rates) are way too hard to comprehend, compared to the rest of the lectures. Please do try to simplify them.

von german l

Sep 02, 2019

Excelente curso para volver a repasar los conceptos de calculo que estudiamos en la universidad.

von Bashir A

Jan 18, 2019

the big O part is a bit ubiquitous. But everything else is amazingly described.

von Yiwen W

Dec 06, 2019

Videoes of the course is very good but some questions are little difficult.

von Roshan N

Sep 24, 2018

Very Tough Part

Learn lots of things that I never know before

Thank You

von Wenruo H

Dec 05, 2016

It could be better if we can see the key or tips for the homework.

von Mohammad H

Mar 22, 2018

a good and neat course, I used it for reviewing and it went well

von Yashh S K

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

von Peanut G

Jun 11, 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

von Fulgence I

Jan 07, 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

von Shwet R

Jan 10, 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

von Amangossov A M

Jun 17, 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

von Rajasekhar

May 21, 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

von Atef H

May 21, 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

von Ahsan M

Jan 25, 2020

great course fot beignners !!

von Jaspreet S

Jan 25, 2016

very good learning process

von Johannes M

May 20, 2016

Very good!

von Aditya T

Jun 25, 2017

good

von Senanayake H

Dec 19, 2016

good