Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
1,022 Bewertungen
263 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 of 259 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Taeho K

Nov 05, 2018

This course is a good for refresher for people who took A-Level Further Mathematics or equivalent. By taking the course, you'll be able to look at functions in a different way. The questions are also slightly time consuming (or should I say 'challenging') which helps you have a solid understanding.

von augustin m k

Nov 12, 2018

the course was good for me ,i undestand it very well

von C M

Oct 01, 2018

This has been a fantastic introduction to Calculus, albeit Taylor Series are not generally the first topic, but it is doable for someone who has already taken a basic Calculus course in college or high school. The exercises were challenging a lot of times, and I had to retake a lot of the quizzes. I studied thoughtfully and the result has been very pleasing. Looking forward to the next course!

von Rui F

Sep 17, 2018

Excellent course with appropriate difficulty. Professor's speech is very clear. This is extremely helpful for non-english speaking students like me.

von Michael C

May 03, 2019

Great course.

von r

May 09, 2019

It's really interesting and helpful !

von DHYEY D M

May 25, 2019

Great

von Luis Y

May 11, 2019

Well explained and demanding.

von Abdulla A S

May 26, 2019

Wonderful course delving into the basics of calculus. I loved the explanatikon and colors. Although I am still not sure about Orders of growth, everything else was explained perfectly and enthusiastically.

von JHONNY L L

May 14, 2019

I really liked this Calculus course, there were many interesting problems and with a good degree of difficulty. I give them five stars, and I greatly appreciate them for this course.

von Audrey

Apr 30, 2019

a little bit difficult but worth learning!

von Pavel K

Jun 16, 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

von 孙宇杰

Jun 04, 2019

good course, very helpful!

von Ramanuj H

Jun 05, 2019

This is a very good course delivered in an engaging and accessible way

von Sheldon D

Jul 04, 2019

a little bit hard

von Lintao D

Jul 13, 2019

Very Nice Course!

von Anurag G

Aug 06, 2019

they don't give a certificate scam

von BOUHL M

Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course and its style ! There's a lot of colours and animations so it makes the course funny and attractive (more fun and attractive than classical math courses in high school and in many universities). Thank to professor Ghrist, I've finally understood the utility of Taylor series, the real meaning of a limit and other things. I'm going to follow the next chapters and I'm waiting for another mooc about multivariate fonctions : I hope professor Ghrist didn't forget it and that it will be quickly available. :D

von Yashh S K

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

von Jonah A

Feb 11, 2019

E

von Bashir A

Jan 18, 2019

the big O part is a bit ubiquitous. But everything else is amazingly described.

von

Mar 17, 2019

good course, has a potential to add some more explanation on 'big o'.

von Fulgence I

Jan 07, 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

von Amangossov A M

Jun 17, 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

von Senanayake H

Dec 19, 2016

good