Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
1,024 Bewertungen
264 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 259 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von Xiaolin H

Feb 09, 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

von Huang-Yu C

Mar 22, 2018

I learn a lot by participating in the class! Thank you professor~ and also thanks UPenn

von Snehal D

Apr 28, 2018

Great course!

von José A D S

Dec 01, 2017

Es un curso excelente, me gusta mucho, propone muchos retos.

von Xiaoming J

May 22, 2017

Very good organized and I especially like the exercises in this course which is both challenging and doable.

von Hemant K A

Feb 02, 2016

A really very good course. I learnt a lot. Many thanks to the instructor.

von Noe G S G

Apr 27, 2016

Mr. Robert Ghrist is an excellent teacher. It's a dificult course.,You wil need to practice very much. But you can do it.

von Wolfe G

Feb 17, 2017

A little scary to start with Taylor series, but once mastered, it gives a depth of understanding not given by other MOOCs I have found on the subject.

von Juan J C C

Jun 27, 2017

Muy bueno, explicaciones muy acertadas y excelentes ejecicios.

von Mohamed K E

Dec 17, 2015

amazing class even for an experienced student like myself , i had many gaps in my understanding of calculus that was filled by this class

von WU C

Feb 04, 2017

Excellent Course! Thank you professor Ghrist!

von Dmitry P

Feb 14, 2018

For me the most difficult part was "order of growth". It would be very nice if this subject was explained more detailed. It was rather hard course for me (I can't do all the exercises in time). Big thanks for many exercises and for few errors.

von Jerry M

Dec 26, 2016

This is an excellent course! I enjoyed the problem sets and the Bonus Lectures. Well Done!

von João D M P

Jan 03, 2016

The taylor series insight on growth orders and differentiation as well as function definition is invaluable. The lecturer is superbly original in both presentation of the material, but also on an integrative exposition.

von M-x

Feb 29, 2016

Simply put, this is the best course on Coursera, part one.

von Alvin L

Jun 16, 2017

Great lecturer. The quiz questions can get pretty tough, at least for me. I found the explanations of Taylor series clearer than any I had in school.

von EDILSON S S O J

Mar 11, 2016

Amazing!!!! The best course ever!!!!!

von Luoqi W

Aug 30, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal class. Prof. G leads the students in a tasteful exploration into the world of calculus with a curious heart and methodical mind. Lectures are grouped into weeks as mini-series and usually begin with a thought-provoking question or statement. These are immediately followed up with definitions and principles that lay the ground for further examination. But fear not if abstractions aren't your expertise, an army of concrete examples accompany you every step along the way.

Personally I completed this course on Coursera the summer before I entered college in 2013 as an electrical engineering student. To my amazement, even today in 2017 after all those years' bombardment from college level courses I am still revisiting Single Variable Calculus and find it a fresh breeze of air. Thank you Professor G and your team for creating what will be remembered as not just a great math class but a wonderful intellectual adventure.

von Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

von Dmitry K

Oct 29, 2016

Very interesting and enlightening!

von Michael G D

Jan 19, 2018

Brilliant, great

von trshant

Mar 25, 2016

i am finally beginning to understand calculus!

It is perfectly paced, and the core homework, while simple really makes you think about what you learned. And prepares you for tougher things, like the challenge homework.

von Aleksey C

Dec 29, 2016

When I retake homework tasks I try to fix tasks I failed on previous attempt. IMHO it make sense to not repeat them all but provide only tasks that were solved incorrectly. Repeating ALL tasks just wastes my time for reentering correct answers and is error-prone process.

von Mikael S

Mar 02, 2017

Great professor, explain very clearly and give example. I liked!

von martin p

Dec 25, 2017

Excellent approach to calculus with top notch material