Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
Sterne
1,617 Bewertungen
435 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG
2. Juli 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

KR
17. Aug. 2020

Very good and challenging material! This motivated me to do better in my Calculus Courses. Would definitely have more of these courses soon, as this is suited for higher mathematics in college.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 430 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von oximas

28. Jan. 2020

this is a great course, it talks about a lot of important points in calculus and I really got a lot of value of it

von Ujjwal K

3. Jan. 2018

I sincerely thank the professors and the coursera.org team for bringing out to the public this excellent course.

von Zheng J Y

29. Jan. 2019

It's a very nice course. I strongly recommend it no matter who your are, as long as you what to learn calculus.

von Yalcin C K

29. Mai 2018

This approach of defining taylor series and using them to study limits , function etc is realy a great idea:)

von Samuel K

20. Sep. 2020

Excellent course. You MUST have some previous calculus exposure to take this class. It is quite difficult.

von Brandon Y

5. Juli 2020

This course helped me to rationalize calculus concepts in ways not taught by my high school calculus course.

von Xiaoming J

22. Mai 2017

Very good organized and I especially like the exercises in this course which is both challenging and doable.

von Tom W

8. Juli 2018

very interesting and fun course! it's not an easy course. but it worths the challenge. highly recommended!!

von Hyosik M

13. Juni 2020

Awesome lecture!. If I could get the explanation about challenging problems, it could be the best lecture.

von SUBRAMANIAN R S

6. Okt. 2019

COURSE IS VERY GOOD

I LIKED THE WAY OF TEACHING AND THE PROBLEMS IN THE HOMEWORK AND QUIZ SECTION

THANK YOU

von Benjamin N

2. Dez. 2019

Passionate, heart-felt teaching combined with challenging homework make this a course worth investing in.

von Xiyang S

19. März 2019

Great course series to learn, thanks for the work of the staff! Hope to study Multi Variable series soon.

von Keqin H

13. Juni 2018

Extremely concise lectures. Good aiding graphics. The HWs are challenging yet doable. Highly recommended.

von Maksym S

31. März 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.

von Pavel K

15. Juni 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

von Florent C

15. Juni 2020

Excellent course, although the wiki is currently broken and can only be accessed through archive.org.

von Xiaolin H

9. Feb. 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

von Eva N

19. Nov. 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

von Omar J

29. Sep. 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

von Rep G

15. Feb. 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

von John H

21. Dez. 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

von Adam O

29. März 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

von Adam J

22. Feb. 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

von Nesrine Z

10. Apr. 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very helpful to understand the Taylor series. Many thanks.

von Lijia L

26. Feb. 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!