Chevron Left
Zurück zu Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan von University von Tokio

4.8
220 Bewertungen
72 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top-Bewertungen

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 72 Bewertungen für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

von Steve B

Jun 10, 2018

I have learned more from this course than some whole degree programmes. Partly this is because Professor Campbell is the 'real thing' - an academic who invests himself in his interests. I imagine him in his serarch through antiquarian book and art shops - turning over photographs. He seems always to be thinking.Yet he has a great way of communicating.I will miss this course when it is finished.

von Amita K

Apr 15, 2019

Exceptional material and a great lecturer!!

von jawaahir a

Dec 16, 2018

i loved it! it was very detailed in terms of historical literature and photographic culture and the narrator really explained everything very well.

von Zongpu L

Jul 10, 2019

The course is very interesting. It not only introduces the traditional Japanese art with its comments but also talks about the photos and postcards.

von Philippe S

May 19, 2019

Interesting and unexpected

von Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

von Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

von Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

von Fanny W G

Apr 10, 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

von Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

von radovan m

Mar 05, 2019

This course, presented by a very charismatic lecturer, opened a whole new literary world for me and provided me with a lot of inspiration for my photographic work. I went through all four modules in two weeks and ended up with more curiosity about the subject :)

von Vy N

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course!!!

von Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

von yan l

Oct 09, 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

von Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

von Alena V

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

von Yujin l

Nov 02, 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

von Katrin W

Nov 22, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

von Andrea K L

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

von theodore k

Dec 03, 2017

This course was excellent. Robert Campbell was remarkable-a terrific lecturer and generous in sharing so much of his private collection of images. I am grateful to Coursera and to Prof. Campbell for the opportunity to have taken his outstanding course.

von Vanice C

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

von JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

von jordi o j

Dec 07, 2017

so interesting info!

von Ana S T P

Dec 10, 2017

Since I like Japanese Literature a lot, I found this course very interesting. I've seen so many pieces of Japanese art with the inscriptions, I imagined the words and the image were related but I had not idea how much related they were. I wish I could learn more about Japanese art and literature. This course was a nice opening!

von Juyoung R

Jan 07, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for