Chevron Left
Zurück zu Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan von University von Tokio

4.8
Sterne
634 Bewertungen
199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top-Bewertungen

DP

8. Okt. 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

30. Nov. 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 200 Bewertungen für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

von Juan M C M

23. Apr. 2020

Ha sido de gran ayuda!!

von Lisheng H

9. Dez. 2017

Unique scope of history

von Vy N

16. März 2019

I love this course!!!

von jordi o j

7. Dez. 2017

so interesting info!

von Dinno B L

17. Apr. 2022

thank you very much

von Douglas Q

18. Mai 2020

Very Interesting!

von Sebastian G

1. Dez. 2017

Excellent Course!

von Fabíola d S F d R

24. Apr. 2022

Excelente curso.

von Britt W

16. Apr. 2021

great professor

von Sofiia Z

22. Feb. 2021

Amazing course!

von Hisanori S

24. März 2021

Hisanori Sato

von Kleber L d S

24. Okt. 2019

Muito bom.

von Pratap J

30. Nov. 2020

Loved it

von Gabriela A C

29. Dez. 2017

Great.

von Lee Y S J

3. Dez. 2017

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

von Thana S

9. Feb. 2021

The course is very good for non-Japanese reader by having an English professor convey the class. The story and guide gave me new knowledge that could not be found from the book. The only minor thing is I'd expect more photographs and paintings demonstrated in this course. Thank you

von Ebru O

4. Jan. 2018

The course presents an interesting point of view that combines literature and visual materials (ukiyo-e, illustrations and photographs) in Japanese culture. There are many specific examples that we study and make the concept easier to understand.

von Michael K

2. Mai 2021

Robert Cambell is clearly knowledgeable and very motivated to share his knowledge to others. Sometimes he deviates from his main topic and that makes it difficult to keep track of his main point.

von Sumyi L

19. Apr. 2020

Nice learning pace and interesting pick of works of art. It will be great if it can come with a suggested reading list.

von Pilar P d C

13. Apr. 2018

Fascinating information of Japans changing mindset in reference to the image and the onset of photography.

von Michelle M

21. Aug. 2021

I found this to be an exceptionally interesting course and learned a lot, thank you.

von Kellan M

31. März 2020

Very interesting subject for those interested in art of the world.

von Vivek S

13. Aug. 2020

A nice course on the literary prowess of 19th century Japan.

von Caroline H

24. Jan. 2018

It was a surprise to see a course on this topic. At first I found the central premise fascinating, but would have preferred more conciseness in the lectures and a wider variety of assessment tasks. For instance, why not have students analyse some images themselves?

von Justin H

23. Dez. 2019

There was some interesting information here, but I can not imagine any situation where a certificate of completion for this course would be useful. About half of the images could have been interchanged with any number of random photos from the period.