Chevron Left
Zurück zu Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan von University von Tokio

4.8
Sterne
634 Bewertungen
199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top-Bewertungen

DP

8. Okt. 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM

30. Nov. 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 200 Bewertungen für Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

von pika c

13. Sep. 2020

Great course. Why such a bad looking certificate? I can't use for anything. It's not the professor's real name. It reads "John Doe" and the signature says "signature". It looks like a joie. I can't use it for anything.

von luciana a a

30. Aug. 2020

A lovely course to know a bit more about image and literature. I loved every single video for they're all very well organized and brought very interesting information about this period. Besides our instructor is great.

von Monica F B F

30. März 2018

Me encanto el curso, ya que no solo aprendí de arte e historia de Japón, sino que las lecciones me llevaron paso a paso a comprender mejor las formas de expresión como la pintura, literatura y fotografía y su objetivo.

von Andrew S

9. Nov. 2017

Excellent course! Well-presented, interesting and unusual subject matter, pitched well for beginners and people with some knowledge. I would be interested in studying other courses by the same institution or presenter.

von Azajul I N

13. Mai 2020

I have come to know a lot of unknown facts about the cultures of Japan from this course. My curiosity about Japan has been mitigated by this program. Thanks to the University of Tokyo for this nice course. Well done.

von Randy P G

21. Apr. 2022

Extraordinary course ! I have studied Japanese culture and history and lived in Japan for over 10years

and definitely appreciate the perspectrive and detail delivered in the course. I highly recomment this course.

von Ilse d Y C

4. Apr. 2021

Fascinating. Dr. Campbell - thank you for sharing your private collection of images and books (as well as your knowledge and reflections) with us! I've never felt such an urge to travel to Japan as compared to now!

von Ana L U

12. Nov. 2020

This is a very interesting course. It opens a new window of looking at the Japanese culture that's been immortalized through the connection between visual and literary media. Thank you so much Professor Campbell.

von Maria M

19. Sep. 2020

Professor Robert Campbell is amazing and will take you through a beautiful journey where you will learn about Japanese visual and literary traditions before, during, and after the Edo period. 100% recommended.

von Pedro A N d S

14. Sep. 2021

An amazing course that brought me a deep understanding of and a part of the history of art in japan and how its artistic processes and artists were influenced by times of profound historical change for japan.

von Islas M d s

23. März 2021

Es un curso muy completo que nos deja ver como la imagen y la literatura fueron de la mano en la historia del desarrollo del Japón en el período Edo y en la restauración Meiji, durante el siglo XIX.

von Gerardo C R

26. Dez. 2020

This course was highly educational, as well as deeply interesting. I was not previously educated on the literature or culture of Japanese society and found it still very clear and welcoming,

von Valentina B

2. Apr. 2020

I have studied Japanese culture and art in the past, but this particular topic was incredibly interesting and new to me. The lecturer was very clear and precise, which I found helpful.

von Regina P

19. Juni 2020

Marvelous course! I've learned many cultural things about Japan and now I look forward to learning more. The professor was very clear and his examples were really interesting.

von Faye P

27. Dez. 2020

Thank you for showing us even a glimpse of Japan! I've been very fascinated and mesmerized about their culture. I wish there are more courses available like this. Thank you.

von Archisha B

26. Juli 2020

A very inspiring and informative course. Really broadened my ways of viewing not only Japanese art and literature, but also any other form of art from any part of the world.

von Moritz S

30. März 2020

A very interesting look into intermedial relations between images and writing in early modern to modern Japan. Prof. Campbell's personal collection is certainly impressive!

von Bruna D

9. März 2022

Muito interessante para quem quer aprender mais sobre a cultura e história do Japão. O curso fala não só do óbvio mas faz a ligação com a política e períodos históricos.

von Kuu R

1. Juni 2022

I really enjoyed learning the connection between art and literature and understanding the basic history that was the backdrop to everything which was presented.

von OMKAR

5. Aug. 2020

It was such a wonderful course and I'm glad that I've gained an insight into the literary culture of Japan as well as the visual elements associated with it.

von Yan L

9. Okt. 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

von Anastasia A

10. Okt. 2021

I​ loved it. I learned a lot, which led to a better understanding of the Japanese culture and history in general. I wish there was more. どうもありがとうございます

von Коршунова Е В

3. Nov. 2019

I am so grateful for the opportunity to take this course. I would definitely recommend it to everyone who is interested in Japanese art and history.

von Lin S

20. Apr. 2021

Great course for anyone new to Japanese visual and literary culture. The instructor is clear, engaging and incredibly knowledgeable on the topic.