Chevron Left
Zurück zu Age of Jefferson

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Age of Jefferson von University of Virginia

4.7
Sterne
417 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

24. Juli 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

29. Juli 2020

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 140 Bewertungen für Age of Jefferson

von Karolina D

13. Sep. 2020

Very interesting and vivid course. The wide range of information was presented at different location when they provided additional insight which constituted a creative twist and engaged the student much more. The lectures were energetic and engaging which encouraged students to participate and listen attentively throughout the entire course.

von Dana C

21. Juni 2017

One of the most thought provoking classes I have ever taken. Professor is very interesting and promotes looking at Jefferson with new eyes. I was challenged and I really enthralled by the class and it helped me to contrast Jefferson and Hamilton better to understand the conflict between them. Bravo!! I would take the class again anytime.

von Pedro D M

22. Juli 2020

Muy interesante la forma en la que pensaba y actuaba uno de los padres fundadores más importantes de la cultura norteamericana.

No solo con lo que tiene en cuenta con la Declaración de Independencia sino con la vida americana del siglo XVIII y XIX, y cómo con su ayuda intentó salvaguardar las libertades de los ciudadanos y los jóvenes.

von Kathleen S

12. Jan. 2018

The professor is an excellent and entertaining lecturer...very compelling look at Jefferson, his life, and his accomplishments. I'm very happy the educators did not shy away from the more distasteful aspects of Jefferson's life (i.e. his being a slaveholder). There was also a good mix of lecture, q & a, and campus tours of UVA. I re

von Sandy W

23. Okt. 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed getting a more in-depth look at the ideas that Thomas Jefferson was trying to put forth for us to know and understand. I can go just about anywhere on the web to find out the concrete information about the man, it's more difficult to find information that is less concrete. I really got a lot out of this course.

von Marcos V M d S

19. Juli 2017

I really enjoy and learn about the ideas of Thomas Jefferson about the American revolution, the Constitution, the malaise of slavery of those days, the importance of education to keep alive the principles of that Revolution and what means The Earth belongs to the living".

Thanks professor Onuf. The course was simple Outstanding!!!

von Cheryl L D

11. Okt. 2015

As a former student of UVA, it was wonderful to see the place again, listen to some of the stories we heard around "grounds" -- no campus here -- back when I was a teenager. I have followed Jefferson's life story, but Professor Onuf still manages to tell me some things I didn't know. Well researched lectures.

von Diane D

6. Aug. 2021

Professor Onuf presented this overview of Thomas Jefferson in such a way that I was drawn back to this period of time and could feel the excitement and urgency of this time in our national history. This course definitely held my interest and kept me engaged in the topic. Thank you, Professor Onuf.

von Dennis F S

8. Dez. 2016

Exciting presentation. Excellent portrial of the periodic changes in thinking of TJ with his rise, fall and revival. While a conroversial thinker he truly was a renaissance men that will inspire future generations. America would not be exceptional, nor even a free country, empowed by the people.

von joann w

17. Apr. 2020

Excellent and balanced presentations on Thomas Jefferson and his legacy. Jefferson would be proud that we were engaged in civic education in Prof Onuf’s class. Course was well organized. Tours of the University of Virginia and it’s relationship to Jeffersonian ideas was a plus.

von lcpmsrd@aol.com

9. Apr. 2020

A long time Jefferson enthusiast, I am grateful for this presentation of Jefferson's holistic ideas about natural rights and human nature and their application to politics and government. Mr. Onuf's perspective about Jefferson and education was especially compelling.

von Corinne S

27. März 2016

Really interesting to get such a deep perspective on Jefferson. I had very little interest in him, even growing up in his home state of Virginia, but now I can't wait to learn more. This is a great course worth a fantastic instructor. Highly recommended!

von Amanda

27. Aug. 2017

Absolutely LOVED this class. Professor Onuf is passionate, realistic and on the money in terms of explaining to the masses who Jefferson was and what shaped his thought process through and post-revolution. HIGHLY enjoyed this class

von Kelly

27. Nov. 2015

Exceptional course! I would have enjoyed several more weeks. Dr. Onuf's style and methods in presenting the material made it possible to understand Jefferson in a way I have not understood him before. Wonderful teacher. Thank you.

von Philip S

26. Mai 2021

I​ really enjoyed the course,a part of American History, I knew very little of prior to signing up, enjoyed all the reading material and the lectures were great. I cant wait to sign up for anorther course.Philip From England

von Dr. R T J

9. Nov. 2020

Very comprehensive review of his life and career. I also enjoyed the insights into the University of Virginia itself. This will also be helpful when I am teaching the Founding Documents in my Honors American Lit course.

von Laura H

10. Juli 2020

I thought this was a very good overview of Jefferson. Supplemented by any of the numerous scholarly volumes on Jefferson's life, one might get a real sense of the character of the man within the context of his times.

von j. s

2. Nov. 2019

I knew little of Jefferson and his role in the founding of this country and the principles he set forth.

This was an excellent course that I would recommend to anyone.

The tours of the campus were a nice interjection.

von racheal h

4. März 2019

This course helped me understand a man much admired for his vision and how he put it to work for America , with Democracy and Love . It goes along well with "The Written Constitution" Course that I took as well.

von Billie J

3. Sep. 2017

Great Course! Not being from here, this course helped me understand some fundamental differences between Canadian and American history; and the obvious differences in our cultures today.

von Destiny S

4. Jan. 2021

For anyone wanting to understand the fundamental principles upon which the United States was founded, it is essential to study the writings and philosophy of Thomas Jefferson.

von Reggie W

11. Dez. 2020

A fabulous in-depth analysis of what Mr. Jefferson thought with regards to government, slavery, education and religion. I learned a lot and appreciate Mr. Jefferson even more!

von Doug F

10. Feb. 2018

I enjoyed the course. Jefferson was a true revolutionary; this course details his leadership in bringing about many of the liberties we take for granted today.

von Hans G

25. März 2016

I take my hat off for the passionate professor Onuf. It was a big pleasure to attend his lectures. They deepened my understanding of the American Revolution.