Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
869 Bewertungen
258 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK

Sep 11, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

HM

Sep 18, 2020

Very Nice course, materials well explained though the programming exercises were very difficult for me, as I did not had that much in depth knowledge of python, for which I had to take additional help

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 255 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Abhijeet B

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

von Timothy J N

Apr 16, 2020

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

von Dhruv P

Dec 02, 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

von Jeremy J

Jul 25, 2020

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

von fouchereau r

Jan 15, 2020

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

von Aayush

Jul 01, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

von Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

von Ted S

May 25, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

von Steve B

Jun 19, 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

von Diogo B d L S

Sep 03, 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

von Gonzalo B

Aug 08, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

von Ahammed A

May 09, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

von Eshita S

Mar 26, 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

von SHUBHAM K

Jul 20, 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

von notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

von Daanish P

May 01, 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

von Terence

May 15, 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

von Daniel N H

Sep 19, 2020

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

von Cecilia G

Jul 06, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

von p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

von SOURABH S

Dec 23, 2018

Ultimate Course,A proper mixture of Data Science,Statistics,Machine learning and Astronomy.Loved it

von Abhas P

Jun 26, 2020

Only complaint, there should be an option to save the codes we have written. Even in text format.

von Craig T

Aug 28, 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

von Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

von Adel B

May 27, 2020

Pretty good introductory course for applied data science on astronomy. Overall captivating!