Chevron Left
Zurück zu Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,808 Bewertungen
969 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top-Bewertungen

JH
5. Apr. 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM
17. Okt. 2020

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 971 Bewertungen für Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

von Rachel S

20. Feb. 2019

The instructors did an excellent job of explaining complex topics in an approachable, easily digested manner. It was very fun to learn how much our perceptions of dinosaurs have changed since I was a paleo-obsessed kid, and to take an even more in depth look at the science involved in classifying and discovering them. I may retake this course again in the future to try to solidify some of the more advanced concepts and facts in my mind.

von Thomas E M

3. Jan. 2017

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a fantastic introduction to the world of Dinosaurs and to some of the science which underpins our understanding of them. The course is well designed and gradually builds upon your knowledge. The information is clearly presented and easy to follow, and most importantly - learn.

I have throughly enjoyed learning from this course and would recommend it to anyone, amateur or potential professional alike.

von S. A V

2. Juli 2020

What an amazing course that was! If you are curious about dinosaurs or love them but don't know much about them, this is the course for you. Betsy and Dr. Phil teach with so much passion, that it's contagious. The puzzles, virtual tours of the museum of palaeontology and Dinosaur park in Alberta along with the numerous fossils that you can play around with, make this course as hands-on as a virtual course can possibly get.

von Carol B

1. Juli 2017

This course is well designed to engage people with varied backgrounds. If you want to know more about dinosaurs and how they came to be, evolved, and ultimately became extinct, this is a course that will do just that. The presenters are engaging and the fossil evidence, imagery, and interactive features all make this a course to look forward to sitting down with week after week. I highly recommend this course.

von Guilherme A R

3. Jan. 2019

Curso simplesmente maravilhoso. Direto, dinâmico e bem didático. Conteúdos de visualização pratica, interação com perguntas no meio das vídeo aulas e feedback positivo ao fim dos testes. Simplesmente excedeu totalmente todas as expectativas que já eram altas vindo de um curso da University of Alberta. Parabéns as pessoas que fizeram o curso e ao Coursera por disponibilizarem esse tipo de conteúdo maravilhoso.

von Adriana C V R

12. Juni 2020

Me encantó! Siempre quise ser paleontóloga y ahora me siento un poquito más cerca de lograrlo. El curso muestra, de forma básica pero muy científica, todo lo que necesitas saber sobre la vida, evolución y extinción de los dinosaurios. Las lecturas son sencillas pero con bastante información, por lo que es bueno dedicarse a leerlas con calma. Espero ir a Alberta algún día y visitar el museo y la Universidad.

von Alla S

29. Mai 2017

I just want to say thanks to the Dino 101 team for an incredible job. It's just an amazing course - very interesting, detailed and professional. So much effort and work was put into this course and the fact that it is available to anyone who is willing to learn is a blessing. Professor Philip Currie is just an incredible person who is deeply passionate about what he does. Special thanks to him for Dino 101!

von Pasquale D S

3. Juni 2020

I encourage everybody who was once a child amazed by the dinosaurs to take this course (and the others by the Paleo team at Univ. Alberta). You will gain some great and state-of-the-art knowledge, with wonderfully written pdf notes, but above all you may get a chance to live once again your young age fascination for these creatures. Who needs science fiction, when science is already awesome and accessible?

von Asante T

14. Aug. 2020

Dino 101 brought the already exciting study of dinosaurs to life! The lectures were very clear and well-organized, covered a nice range of topics, and connected beautifully. The addition of the interactive fossil pages and timelines were a great touch. I recommend this course to anyone who once had a childhood fascination, or a blossoming interest in the greatest creatures that ever roamed this Earth.

von Diego M

9. Aug. 2020

The content was very well put together, the classes were pretty clear and the notes handed over where very concise with good sources to keep digging. Overall an amazing course and i would recommend it to any dino lover other there. My only real criticism is that the video teacher seems a bit nerveous and i would recommend her using a bit more her arms for gesture. I loved this course so much, great job!

von Siddharth B

31. Juli 2019

It was a really enthralling journey for me, eventhough I knew a lots of concepts previously. Anyway, I strongly recommend this course as it emphasizes on most of the concepts that paleontologists require the most. Also, the dedicated mentors teach in a way that makes you understand the concept in and out.

Once again, thanks to Dr. Philip Currie and Betsy and last but not the least the Coursera community.

von Mary P

6. Juli 2018

Very interesting course on Dinosaurs and the Earth's environment during the Age of Dinosaurs. Particularly enjoyed learning about the different Eras of time and the evolution of creatures through these periods. The presenters are engaging and the course itself was well-presented and thorough! Loved every minute- even though it dispelled any illusions I might of had of Jurassic Park becoming reality ;)

von Jessie P

15. Juli 2017

The material in this course was fascinating and well presented. Students needed a certain amount of basic biology and geology to understand the course material, and there were units covering this information. I enjoyed those lectures presented from dig sites and in museums alongside fossils the most, as, for me, the largest attraction is simply seeing what dinosaurs and their predecessors looked like.

von Julian A

19. März 2017

The amount of information I learned as well as retained was astounding. I had no idea I was going to be taking in this amount of information from an online course no less. The course it's self is well structured and allows for you to work towards the goals at your own pace. Highly recommended. I will be looking into the other paleontology courses offered here on this site by The University of Alberta.

von Evan L

10. Nov. 2018

This was a very fun and interesting course. Learning about the dinosaurs themselves, but also where they came from and the evolution from their beginning through to the birds that we know them as today was fascinating. One of the best parts though is learning about the different pieces of a 4.6 billion year puzzle and how they all fit together. It has made the world we live seem more beautiful to me.

von Alejo N

10. März 2019

Excellent curse! It was not a problem for me not to have knowledge about dinosaurs and geology, because everything is explain clearly and concisely by the excellent teachers and researches. Very good videos, examples, supplementary material, images, photographs, landscapes and analogies. I really enjoyed learning about dinosaurs as well as knowing the University of Alberta. You did a very good job!

von Marco L G

18. Aug. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. While it was relatively basic, it laid great foundations for further learning about dinosaurs as a whole. Having learned so much about dinosaurs growing up, this course helped me get the saga of the dinosaurs and their world in a straightforward manner. The lesson notes, combined with the videos, really fleshed out a proper understanding of the material taught.

von Ana C C F

12. Aug. 2020

A really good course!! They dominate the ability of distance teaching. Also just like to highligh that the links for fossil views were not working at all, so I just skipped that part, only in one occasion it did work and I was able to see some 3D models of fossils and that was a problem noted by a great number os collegues that into engaged t the course. In short, it was a perfect course.

von Freddy R

17. Mai 2020

I thought this course was brilliant, it's slow paced and easy to understand, using a wide range of vocabulary and context from reliable resources

It's the perfect course for anyone who is interested in dinosaurs and the history of earth

It's truly been 12 of the best lessons I have ever had in my life, as it's a combination of everything I have seen or watched before and it was beautiful

von Tyler B

4. Feb. 2019

Excellent and informative course, taken by a true dinosaur fan! Learned plenty of new facts about dinosaurs and sharpened my extant knowledge. Great presenters and well-developed MOOC. I may re-audit all of the paleontology courses offered by U. of Alberta for personal pleasure, as they were sincerely enjoyable, entertaining, and communicative! Thanks to Dr. Currie and the whole team!

von Rachel H

1. Juli 2020

This was a very informative, entertaining, and engaging course. I especially appreciated the interactive nature of it, going well beyond simple "end-of-module" quizzes. The questions posed in the middle of the modules allowed me as a learner to think about (and process) what had been said in a way that made the information applicable and relevant. Would highly recommend to others!

von Kieran S

11. Dez. 2017

Absolutely fantastic!! As an already qualified scientist in biology this course was useful even for someone like myself with a degree. This course has the right balance between basic dinosaur science for the dinosaur "hobbiest" and more scientific information for someone like myself looking for more of a challenge. It was fun, engaging and interesting!! I only wish there was more!

von Mina N

17. Aug. 2021

I​t was very educational and so much fun! I read some of the books on dinosaur fossils in Japanese, and found the name of Dr Currie several times, so it made me more familiar to the course. The narrator was really good in talking, very clear and nice. I didn't know much about dinosaurs but this course was just the right difficulty and ease. Overall, I strongly reccomend it !!

von Vaishnavi P

7. Juli 2020

i'm an undergraduate student majoring in zoology. the beautiful and little known world of dinosaurs had always fascinated and hence i want to become a paleontologist in the coming future. this course was really helpful in making me understand what, why, how and when of paleontology and this basic knowledge has set up a strong and concrete base for my future studies. thank you

von Walter K

13. Sep. 2021

A​n excellent course, the text is well written, with interesting links at the end (although some of them are not active), and the lectures are engaging, both in content and presentation. They are interspersed with little quizes to keep up one's interest and sometimes focus one's attention on important points. I really feel that I have learned a lot, and used my time wisely.