Chevron Left
Zurück zu Behavioral Finance

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Behavioral Finance von Duke University

4.4
Sterne
1,888 Bewertungen
546 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top-Bewertungen

AR

May 08, 2017

"Rationality is an assumption in economics, not a demonstrated fact" I loved this course and all the content. It was kind of hard to understand since i don't have the basic knowledge about economics.

AM

Aug 16, 2017

Great course! It allows to understand the twisted logic that run in our heads. Helps to establish the balance between probabilistic truth and illusions that infect our decision-making. Thanks a lot!

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 533 Bewertungen für Behavioral Finance

von Rajesh S M

Feb 19, 2017

Best course,very good study material.

von Sarthak V

May 12, 2020

The course material was excellent.

von Shubham K S

Feb 15, 2018

Tests the understanding in depth.

von Dano Y

Jun 11, 2020

Not very difficult to learn

von Bhargav P

Apr 17, 2020

Difficult but very valuable

von Andreas K

Jul 10, 2018

An interesting subject area

von Pin H

Oct 10, 2019

worth the time to learn

von Yilin L

Dec 27, 2016

我觉得把多一些阅读材料的知识点放进视频会更好!

von Ahmed S A

Aug 22, 2019

great course and inte

von Derek S

Jul 15, 2018

needs quiz answers

von Ashwin K T

Apr 20, 2018

Great content

von Sharad K

May 25, 2017

Great Class!

von Anuj N

Apr 19, 2020

Very Useful

von Deleted A

Oct 07, 2017

Very good

von 명재영

Jul 10, 2018

good!

von Aidan C

Oct 05, 2016

The course information was fairly useful, but the execution not so much. The material spent more time on somewhat repetitive examples than it did on explaining the actual concepts those examples were illustrating, and the videos were primarily just lecturers reading parts of the slides that you had already read, but in their own words.

The tests, sadly, were poorly-designed for the subject matter of the course. Behavioral biases - like many psychological phenomena - overlap to some degree, and the frequently-used format of 'choose all that apply' - or worse 'choose all that might apply' - resulted in trying to guess what the test-setter was looking for rather than trying to apply the information that had been learned. When you find yourself trying to decide between the best answer based on what you have learned and a conceptually worse answer that happens to meet the wording of the question - and trying to guess whether the test-setter is looking to prove your understanding or catch you in a mistake - then you start to suspect that the course has been designed more as a way to earn grades than to actually learn.

von Silvia R

Jul 16, 2018

The program of the course is very interesting. To me a better link within the biases and the cases shown in the test would help a lot the students to memorize concepts faster. The reading material is quite a lot and sometimes it seems like more pencilled notes for a lecture that a real "manual", that is worth to have for study but also as a valuable take away after the course. To me it was so not easy to fully understand at the at a glance the connection between biases and real cases. If I may I suggest to split the course in 4/5 weeks (so to dilute a bit the assimilation), to structure a bit more the reading material (as a quick manual more than supporting slides) and to set more exercises to learn fast connecting biases with real examples or cases. This course has a lot of potential to me and in any case gave me a lot of food for thought! Thanks to Duke University and to its Professors for this opportunity!

von Elizabeth T

Dec 23, 2016

I very much enjoyed the information contained in the course - however I did find that it was difficult to apply some of the very nuanced biases to the financial problems posed in the quiz when many of the biases were used in examples outside of the stock market in the course readings leading up to the quiz. I really wish there were more examples for each bias (and more from the world of finance) because some biases were really hard to distinguish from one another. On one hand I did like that I wasn't spoon fed the information for the quizes but on the other I don't feel as though I was fully equipped to answer some of the quiz questions due to the way the information had been presented.

The information built on itself so I found myself going back to week 1 information and week 2 information in week three.

von Puneet G

Apr 16, 2020

The course gives you a nice introduction into the world of behavioural finance but fails to take it any further. There isn't a lot of in-depth theory about the various biases that have been mentioned which sometimes makes it difficult to completely grasp them. Also, the first-week quiz had answer explanations with it, which is IMO very useful; the second and third-week quizzes fail to provide any such help. Because of this and lack of participation in the discussion forums, it becomes very difficult to understand some questions. Overall, I had some fun while doing this course, behavioural finance is a field in which I wanted to dive in for a long time, and this course actually gave me a good start. So for everyone who's looking to learn something about it, I would suggest you give it a chance.

von Kaushal V

Feb 01, 2020

The concepts presented in the course were all exciting, interesting and helpful. The faculty seemed knowledgable on the subject. And this inspired confidence in me as I began. However, I found that the video material was underwhelming in that it did not do justice to the depth of the reading material provided. The reading material left me with questions, which I hoped would be clarified in the videos, but that did not happen. I often saw myself referring to YouTube to seek explanations. I often struggled to find reliable definitions of the terminology used in the course. And that did not help when I was doing the quiz. Many concepts from the quiz were simply left out from the course (e.g. Stages in a bubble). I had to do exhaustive googling in order to answer the questions in the quiz.

von Marcel M d A P

Apr 28, 2020

A comprehensive list of biases in the content was selected. The professors are very good at explaining the content in the video lessons. However, there were just too few of them and too much to read on our own. Also the written material explain biases and effects in a bit of a complicated manner. At the end of the reading, usually I didn't know what was theory, what was a bias and what was an"effect" or a fallacy. When a bias relates to another bias, sometimes a famous one not originated in the behavioral finance theory, then it get even more confusing. Even with those issues, I liked the course and would love to have personal classes with the professors some day. Duke university seems to be really top notch.

von Juan C

Jul 01, 2018

This course gives you a basic understanding of the main financial biases. Everything is shown mostly through examples which, in general, are very interesting. However, in my opinion, the course is very disorganized. Instead of devoting a single section to one topic, topics are spread through several several pdf's. This makes it very difficult to review one topic, as you have no other choice but to glance through all the pdf's to view the material on a single topic. Also, the videos are kind of irrelevant as they simply and very briefly summarize parts of the pdf's that you have already seen without providing any additional content or value.

von Yap S M

Jul 06, 2020

I think that the material was fairly straightforward, but the process of teaching it felt like it can be improved. There are many nuances in the definitions, and i don't think there was enough time spent discussing these nuances. Subsequent quizzes throw questions at you in hopes that you remember these nuances, but don't do much to help you understand what you've gotten wrong. The same can be said across some of the material where the notes themselves have random questions, but if you don't understand or know the answer, there's no easy way to find out what you misunderstood.

von Ashot B

Apr 19, 2020

On the one hand, such a course is highly demanded and needed, for obvious reasons. However, this particular course is a subject of further and considerable development, in my opinion, of course. 1. I was confused by all this new terminology. While I well informed about many things discussed and clearly understood the explanations, the terms themselves caused a lot of problems. 2. the manner of speech of the second teacher is not student-friendly. So, as a first step ok, but I rather avoid DUKE courses in future,,,

von Samuel E N

Jan 12, 2020

I liked the material given throughout the course. Interesting examples were chosen to help us understand the cognitive biases that include decision making, and the lecture slides were very helpful.

My one gripe is that the quizzes did not give enough feedback. The last quiz seemed to have some material that was not covered in the course, and there was little to no feedback for the answers.

Overall, I would recommend this course to a friend on the condition that more feedback be given for the quizzes.