Chevron Left
Zurück zu Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2 von University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
Sterne
470 Bewertungen
95 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2" builds off of knowledge and skills obtained in "Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" and is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). In Part 2 of the course, learners will: 1) learn how to work with arrays and import/export arrays from/to Excel using VBA code; 2) learn how to work with text strings and write data to .txt files and import information from .txt files; 3) automate the import, modification, and consolidation of information from multiple worksheets into a central worksheet as well as the import of information from multiple workbooks to a central workbook; and 4) gain experience with creating professional user forms to interface with the user, perform advanced calculations, and manipulate data on the spreadsheet. Learners who have a foundational understanding of VBA code and programming structures can jump right into Part 2 of the course without taking Part 1 and use the screencasts in Part 1 as reference. Each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top-Bewertungen

MC

Feb 26, 2019

Part 1 was great, but in part 2 i feel like i can now actually provide innovative solutions using VBA. It's a very well taught course that keeps you engaged through great quizzes and assignments.

M

May 30, 2018

A great course with a great Instructor which gets more interesting one screencast after the other... I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to enhance his/her knowledge in Excel/Vba.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 95 Bewertungen für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2

von Martin S

Dec 30, 2018

I have just finished the second part of the VBA courses series. The course was as great and interesting as the previous one. The teacher's approach and enthusiasm for students to learn them something new is excellent. I appreciate Charlie's effort for development of these courses. During my studies at my university I had some classes focused on programming (e.g. Labview, Matlab etc.). All the time it was boring for me and I hated these classes. Here is a good example that all the new information you learn depends mostly on your teacher and teacher's approach. These VBA courses are very well-prepared, the stuff is easy explained and gained knowledge is verified in perfect examples. At the end of videos there is a small quiz which can be sometimes very tricky :D. I recommend these courses to everyone. They are worth it! Good work. :)

von Darren R

May 08, 2019

Again, another stellar course. VBA, Part 2 really leaves you with a solid foundation upon which you can continue to develop your Office development skills. And that's the beauty of this course. By learning Excel/VBA from Dr. N, you're really developing the ability to program any Office application. I've already written macros in Outlook, for example, using the knowledge Dr. N has imparted in both parts 1 and 2. Besides for the fulfillment Dr. N might get from reaching so many students with his excellent courses, I hope he's getting ample remuneration for his efforts because he deserves every penny of it, and I hope it encourages him to continue producing content on Coursera. I'd have no hesitation in completing more problem solving courses from him!

von Corey F

Dec 01, 2019

I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning Excel VBA. This course deservedly contains the words "Creative Problem Solving", as I feel it to be an accurate description.

Charlie comes across as a very knowledgeable and nice professor. His videos are short and to the point; and they will set you up for success. I personally found this learning approach to be satisfying because there is no one right answer to the assignments, which allows students to find their own way to solve problems.

To do well in this course I recommend taking notes by hand to avoid using the computer as a crutch. While it seems counter-intuitive, I found writing out the code forced me to "think like the computer".

von Zhen G

Jul 15, 2019

Awesome courses, I love the content (super useful and fun to learn), as well as the way how the courses are organized - I took half to one hour a day after work or during lunch break to watch the videos and I can always know which page I'm on.

The only things that I wish could change a little bit would be: 1. increase the volume (too low if not wear headphones); 2. answers and explanations for quiz (wk3-4); 3. if possible i really want to have a assignments answers so I can compare with mine even though I can pass.

Nothing would change the great experience of this course, I'm happy that I passed and super happy that i can apply what i learnt from here to my job! :)

von Diego A Q

Dec 12, 2018

Amazing course. Very useful tools are given here as a continuation of Part I. Professor Charlie Nuttelman explains everything very concretely, so that if you struggle with the assignments (which are very challenging on week 3 and 4) you can find the answer or the tool needed by just going back to the screen-casts, so there is no need to look for help on the internet. By the end of this Part II, you certainly are capable of creating real-live useful processes.

The assignments are very challenging

von Zhiqing L

May 06, 2018

I hope I can rate 100 stars to Dr. Charlie's VBA courses, but unfortunately there are only 5 stars here.

I used to be afraid of coding, but after taking Part 1 & 2, I became interested in VBA. I started to writing VBA codes to make my work easier. Two weeks ago I wrote a VBA code to calculate inventory after warehouse did inventory count. This shocked my supervisor, who is experienced in VBA, because I only learned VBA for 2 months.

Thank you Dr. Charlie for the great course and see you in part 3:)

von Rob B

Feb 20, 2019

This course teaches you the "magic" part of VBA that allows you to create custom userforms that clearly differentiate your excel project from other typical spreadsheets. The course also helps you work across multiple worksheets and workbooks. All of this is useful for consolidating and standardizing data entry. And the custom userforms will help you stand out among your peers. (I can't wait to see the looks on my co-workers faces when I debut some of these elements in our standard reports!)

von Markus K

Sep 03, 2019

Same statement as for Part 1; A really good course, taught by a very nice and competent instructor. I have learned many things that I can actually apply at work. VBA is very helpful in many situations - Excel is almost everywhere, The instructor introduces new concepts by demonstrating their application in small real world projects, in the weekly assignment you then have to apply those conepts in a different context. I found this a very motivating and effective approach

von Deleted A

Jan 30, 2019

A fantastic course. I have significantly improved my VBA fluency after completing this course. I am now able to write simple to intermediate VBA applications without having to seek help online. The learning materials were clearly presented by Charlie, and the in-video questions were relevant and challenging. I would recommend this course to any VBA novice looking to gain a step-up in their use of Excel/VBA.

von Marija S

Feb 06, 2018

I found the course great for my level of VBA pre-knowledge. Learning by doing in coding is very important, and that is the reason why I appreciate that assignments were sometimes more challenging (at least for me). This course helped me to develop some business-related solutions in very short span of time. Support on assignments/quizzes/material was on very high level at all times.

von Nikola J

Apr 03, 2018

This course is great for leaning some very practical data cleaning, organizing and consolidating methods for a wide variety of applications. Not difficult if you've followed part 1 of the course (which I strongly recommend) and the instructor is very nice and responsive if you do happen to run into trouble or don't understand a concept. Fun and useful!

von Jason J

Jun 18, 2018

The instruction is fantastic because it is practical. It's 90% utility with 10% theory and courses 1 and 2 have been a great refresher on VBA/Excel while adding to my skill set. Again, thank you to Charlie for putting in the time with video editing - his attention to detail really helps to drive home learning comprehension. On to class 3!

von Danielle C

Nov 19, 2018

I learned a LOT from this course. There are some kinks here and there, but overall the course is very, very well done. Also, Professor Nuttelman is also working on improving the course as well, which is very impressive. He does a great job of responding to questions that go beyond the scope of what can be answered in the forum., too.

von TAOUMI H

Sep 21, 2019

I just finished with the second part of the course Excel/VBA for creative problem solving. it was a nice and challenging course. I feel that I took the basics of programming in VBA thanks to this course.

Thank you so much Pr. Charlie for your explanation and for making this course as challenging and beneficial.

von Moreno C

Apr 27, 2019

Another excellent course. As expected, part 2 was more demanding than part 1.

The assignments were challenging but feasible.

To gain the most from the course, I would recommend to work along with the instructor during the lectures in order to develop your own macros for future reference.

von Albert L

Jan 26, 2020

Completed this course in parallel with the 1st part. The content and the structure of both courses are amazing, and I can already feel the benefit at my workplace: the knowledge has allowed me to optimize some menial tasks which I previously used to avoid. Looking forward to Part 3!

von Breno F R L

Jan 11, 2019

An excelente course applied for VBA!

It's very usefull and easy to understand even the quizzes and assignments are very challenger. It's simple to apply in real life, just a little more practice to be good enough in practical and useful VBA code.

von Nicola S

Jan 30, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, thanks to clear screencasts and assignments which are both challenging and fun! Starting to work with user forms is exciting and opens up a whole lot of opportunities for using Excel/VBA. Looking forward to Part 3!

von Flore D

Apr 29, 2018

Great, great course after a very challenging star for me, working out the solution made my mind more analytical and focused on VBA coding. many, many thanks Charlie for this great course, your time and dedication. I will take specialization

von Anas

Aug 12, 2019

It's really an interesting and informative course to learn how to create User Form. I highly recommend this course if you are looking to be a professional in Excel. The way how the instructor illustrates the ideas is very clear and easy.

von Yingli W

Sep 01, 2018

The course is organized in a straightforward, user-friendly way. The assignment can reinforce the knowledge. Charlie, the professor, is also very willing to give a hand. Highly recommend this course if you are going to learn the VBA.

von Vinayak

Aug 07, 2018

Quality Screencasts, good delivery, improvements in terms of addition of starter files, no complains. Charles is a great instructor and his teaching is effective and comprehensive. Thanks for the course Coursera and Charles.

von Демина А А

Jul 25, 2019

This is a great course! Don’t hesitate to start it! You will benefit from a lot of useful methods and techniques. This course is sufficient to understand VBA. You will be able to introduce automation in your daily routine.

von Juan M F M

Jul 21, 2019

Nuevamente el curso me sigue sorprendiendo. Con cada lección he aprendido un monto que ha ayudado en mi vida académica. Muchas gracias profesor Charlie, usted es increíble. Nos vemos en la parte 3 del curso :)

von RUI C

Dec 29, 2018

Part 2 is far more difficult than part 1 and you need to integrate what you learn before. I reviewed from time to time and use a lot of time to practice so I would not forget the code within short time.