Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Genetics and Evolution von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
1,179 Bewertungen
307 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top-Bewertungen

AT
28. Mai 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH
3. Juli 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 301 Bewertungen für Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

von Ariel A

6. März 2018

As of thus far (3 weeks into the course) the course is an excellent introduction to basic genetic and evolutionary processes. The videos are taught in a manner that is entertaining almost intuitive enough to be heard without watching the slides, sort of as a long audiobook. The quizzes are free and there is much supplementary material available for deeper diving

von Artūrs B

15. Apr. 2016

Provides information from basic laws of inheritance to understanding the field of Evolutionary biology and genome sequencing. Explained in a 'light and easy to understand' way! Not a course you can pass by knowing a few facts about the subjects. Tricky at times, which help you find out if you understood everything correctly. Would recommend to others!

von aishita m

5. Aug. 2020

Absolutely loved this course !! i learnt soo much and made me fall in love with evolution and genetics all over again. Very interesting , interactive , engaging , very well explained concepts and an amazing teacher! This was such a good learning experience . I thank everyone that made it possible for me to attend this fantastic course !!

von Mohnish S

6. Mai 2020

I think this is one of the best online courses you would find related to genetics and evolution. It was a pleasure learning the basics and applications of genetics and evolution from Noor Sir. I got to explore so much and this study reconsolidated my basics. A big shout out to Dr Noor and the Coursera team for making my dreams come true.

von Tania G A

31. Juli 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

von Martin S

8. Aug. 2016

Probably the best explained course I have ever taken in Coursera. Professor Noor makes the material easy to understand making it seem like it is a straight forward class. It is not until you try to explain to others what you have learned that you realize the material is complitaced. at making a science class simple and fun!!!

von Joydip M

9. Nov. 2020

Awesome Course. It is not only for beginners but university students with genetics background can also take up this course. I really enjoyed this course. Dr. Noor explained everything in an easy to understand language.

Few concepts taught in this course were according to the latest research. Highly recommended course.

von Samuel A

25. Aug. 2019

The teacher is amazing, and videos are short, easy to understand and overall fun to listen to and learn new things if you're really interested in genetics. I just finished my AP Biology class my junior year of high school and got A's both semesters and still felt there was a ton to be learned by taking this class.

von Aaradhya S

15. Aug. 2020

This is the most brilliant introductory and intermediate course on genetics and evolutionary biology it is brilliantly taught by Prof. Noor in a way that has a effect everlasting I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning the concepts and ideas of the field rather than marks or certificate . thank you

von Jingtian Z

26. Dez. 2020

Well, for me it's everything from scratch, I'm having fun in this course and for me, it was very hard at first, but easier towards the end. At first, I am failing, but toward the end, I am handling everything with genetics and evolution. I now kow that mutations are very often, how species evolute, and so on.

von AP

12. Mai 2016

Dr. Noor is a gem. He shows enthusiasm both for his subject, and for teaching. I felt the course was well organized, and provided a good foundational understanding of genetics. Importantly, it was enjoyable. The forum moderators responded promptly, and their answers were well-informed. An excellent course.

von Asante T

14. Aug. 2020

It was Professor Mohammed Noor that really made this one for me. While the content was most certainly fascinating, it was also complex, at least for me. But Professor Noor's elegant explanations blended with down to earth humor made this course not only deeply informative, but fun and engaging also!

von Helena B

14. Jan. 2021

I started with very little knowledge of the field (high school was 20 years ago) but I was able to follow the lectures well. Prof. Noor explained everything clearly and made the lectures entertaining and engaging. This is not a field I work in, I just had an interest in and am very glad I found it.

von Anagi S K

29. Mai 2020

This course provides a great overview touching every aspect of genetics and evolution. Prof. Noor is a skilled and friendly lecturer. His teaching methods made this educational journey enjoyable. As a medical student, I believe this course provided additional skills and qualifications to my career.

von Konstantinos L

9. Feb. 2020

An exceptional course. I loved every minute of it! Definitely everyone who's interested in Genetics and Evolution -and of course their interaction in understanding better life on Earth- should give it a try. A big thanks to Dr. Moor, an excellent professor. I'm going to miss his teaching.

von DOLKIRAS F

8. Juli 2018

The best course i had in coursera!! I have learned so much and in an such enjoyable way. I recommend it to anyone looking for some insight into genetics and evolution ( even if it states that is an introduction in covers many topics which are introduced in a simple comprehesive way).

von Abhishek k

16. Juni 2020

My experience through course era is so good and knowledgeable. I am especially thankful to Mahmood Noor sir. his teaching way is so good and I feel he is a so grateful personality and I wish to will do further online courses on the course era in the future. Thanks a lot, course era.

von Tanya L J

12. Sep. 2019

This course is very interesting. Professor Noor has presented the lessons in a simple manner, which enhanced me to understand the main concepts very easily. The questions in the quiz is also very good which is mostly application level questions. I really enjoyed learning.

von Alma D

24. Feb. 2016

It's one of the hardest more joyful courses I have taken. I suffered so much with the so well designed exams, but that pushds me to study harder and read more. I enjoyed it very much and I think the better way to say THANKS to Dr. Noor is don't give up and keep trying.

von S M J

6. Okt. 2018

I have found the explanation in this course very intuitive and well suited for making me understand basic genetic topics that is very important for further complex studies of genetics. Really well put together and would highly recommend everyone to try the course.

von Karolina M

4. Dez. 2018

Such a good course. My background is ecology and nature conservation and i am trying to get more into phylogenetics. This course was a nice introduction and coherent summary of important topics tying together evolution and genetics as an intro to phylogenetics.

von Darlyn G

13. Juli 2016

Although this class was challenging, Professor Noor's happy personality made going to virtual school fun! His quizzes are somewhat challenging but if you work at it enough you will pass the course. I look forward to any future classes he may have!

von Sanchita S

10. Juli 2020

Dr. Noor taught this course exceptionally well with properly explaining each topics with various examples.This course gave me insight into some new concepts as well and the quizzes were challenging making me understand the topics thoroughly.

von Zorimar V

29. Apr. 2020

A fantastic course for beginners! Prof. Noor explains evolutionary forces beautifully in a way that is easy to understand. You can tell that the course was put together carefully for students to understand complex concepts and enjoy learning.

von Aparna P

13. Juni 2020

Just gone through few lectures..it is interesting..science is amazing always.Being a science background postgraduate student this topic is totally related to my field and is helping me in understanding genetics.Sir,you are a great teacher.