Chevron Left
Zurück zu How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics von University of Virginia

4.8
Sterne
2,593 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

An introduction to physics in the context of everyday objects....

Top-Bewertungen

IP

29. März 2022

Loved this course I thought it was a great course for the Introduction to Physics. It was easy enough to understand and Lu had a strong passion for what he was teaching. All in all great course. 10/10

MS

6. Mai 2020

Mind blowing.. excellent study by Prof. Bloomfield. Hatsoff to you sir. Very excellent representation of physics concepts by taking interesting examples. Good Pesonalited Professor i have ever seen .

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 795 Bewertungen für How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

von Tomi J A

2. Aug. 2020

A good certificate-level introduction to classical mechanics.

von SREERAM K V S U

31. Mai 2020

GOOD

von Jennifer S

22. Nov. 2019

I sometimes felt a bit diminished by the professor. He was talking to us as if we were young kids that did not know anything. The information was good but provided in a way that was rather annoying. Also very onesided course that only provided information through videos. No reading, writing or discussions with other students. I am not sure I learned a lot therefore.

von 吴秀森

14. Nov. 2016

I am from China.I think the courses is easy for a senior high school students. The vidio is too long.it is better to make it short.At all,thank you for your wonderful teaching!

von Eraraya M M

20. Nov. 2020

The course is fun, but the explanation and quiz become not very clear. This introduction doesn't use any notation or math, and it should be at the beginner level.

von Maymoonah B O

22. Nov. 2018

the problem is that you have to pay to submit quizzes otherwise it is very good.

von Alex

7. Mai 2020

good if you just got out of a coma

von Elias J A

17. Juli 2020

It's a good "intro" but really nothing more than that. Very elementary; grade-school. There's an attempt at passion made but it comes off cheesily and a bit forced, and things are kept veryyyy simple -- I feel like this could be a great course, but for teenyboppers and their moms, not those seeking an online university experience.

von Josue R

20. Okt. 2017

se ve interesante, pero cuesta mucho con los cuestionarios en ingles y las traducciones al español; deberían mejor la traducción general al español latino :)

von Yensu A

21. Apr. 2022

I saw some logic flaws in the very first assessment. This, on top of the fact that the professor is trying to sell his own books for profit, I cannot endorse this course.

von ron r

14. Feb. 2016

it so boring

von Ann L

18. März 2022

​Lou teaches this physics class by using real life examples that make it relatively easy to understand. There is little math involved, which was a huge plus for me because it's been forever since I had any math. He does a great job with the videos and the quizes are based on things that he taught in the videos. I bought the book too and waited until I got the book before starting the class but the entire course is only the first 75 pages of the book (so you could probably do without the book unless you're serious about taking more physics). If you are interested in taking more physics and want to buy the book: know that it is well written and also easy to understand. I am very glad that I took this class...I learned a whole new vocabulary; I learned that many words that I thought I knew, I didn't really understand (ie Torque, angular acceleration, the difference between acceleration and velocity etc). I also learned a lot about how things work. I'd highly recommend this class... Enjoy...

von Ching N Y

10. Aug. 2020

The course is amazing. I am not very sure about the reason for the different direction of the static frictional force regarding the front and rear wheel, and I have find other online resource to fill that part. Therefore, some emphasis could be added to different that two will be great. Beside, the question regarding the tide and the kinetic energy of the Earth rotational motion is not very easy to understand, I still cannot understand that till now, therefore it will also be great if some explanation or adjustment is added to the Week 6: Wheels chapter. After all, it is a great course, as I am totally new to physic, and I understand almost all the part from the video. Also I love the quizzes in between the video and at the end of each week, they make me know that what I have learnt, and what I have not.

von Larry J

16. Sep. 2015

It has been many years since I've had a physics course. I've got a doctorate in another field. I've been looking into bio-mechanical interfaces and felt that I needed to review some basic physics without all the hassle of a formal course and with the option of skipping around if I felt the material was too basic. The lecture series allowed me to quickly and easily review some basic concepts without a formal structure.

I also have to say Dr. B. did a terrific job of translating some potentially daunting concepts into enjoyable yet serious teaching metaphors. A seriously fantastic job. Obviously, as noted the gradient lecture series has some personal interest and I think that you might consider some introduction to matter.

von Carlos O

30. Nov. 2020

This course is awesome to really understand 'how things work'. This is not a regular physics course, it has not a bunch of formulas, but it is much more focused on connecting important (and basic) physics concepts, so that a solid base can be built to understand from where those bunch of formulas and stuff came from as well as how they are related to each other. It is noticeable that Prof. Lou and his team put a great effort on putting all these together and the result, in my opinion, was great. I look forward to attend the second piece, hopefully covering Relativity and the third one, covering Quantum Mechanics! Thank you for making this available. :)

von Giannina Z

24. Sep. 2020

Excellent course. If you did not go down the path of science in college and the last time you took a Physics class was in high school (and perhaps you did not learn much back then because of a really bad teacher like I did) do yourself a favor and take this course. I always wonder about a lot of things I observe around me, but I never had the time or motivation to take a formal class. The passion Prof. Lou has when explaining concepts each week in layman's terms is truly inspirational. Too bad that the University of Virginia has not provided him with adequate support as to launch a second series for this course. I would enroll in a heartbeat.

von Tami M

19. Nov. 2017

This course is glorious. I never thought my mind could understand physics because throughout school, it was just esoteric. I had MANY questions about theories and their application, but felt like my questions were stupid and clearly I just wasn't cut out for the subject. But now to have those misunderstandings cleared up, to have my eyes opened to physics in my daily world, to get to grips with physics sans formulae - it's almost magical. A very, very masterful crafted course as well - thought-provoking questions, structuring the modules themselves around key, practical questions, the physical illustrations - it's great. Thank you!

von Nafi C

29. Dez. 2020

Lou is amazing. Genuinely, he is a great professor. I've never taken physics and wanted to get a basic understanding of some of it before I ended up taking it in college since I'm Pre-Medicine. Lou makes physics both fun and understandable through his fun teaching videos. Wish I could have him in person as my teacher, haha! Although the content can be very confusing and difficult, that's just the actual physics portion, but there's no real calculation or math in this course, it's more of just understanding concepts and "how" things happen or "why" things act in certain ways. Great course, was lengthy though!

von Maryann X

24. Juli 2020

I did poorly in my AP Physics class in high school and thought that I would never be able to understand physics. After taking Professor Bloomfield's class, however, I was properly introduced to the wonderful world of physics and began to truly appreciate the subject. Instead of reciting formulas and learning theories, this class teaches you concepts applicable to everything around you. Professor Bloomfield is an exceptional professor who constantly keeps you engaged and entertained in class while imparting you with knowledge that you'll carry with you wherever you go.

von Shaurya R

6. Juli 2020

Professor Louis . A Bloomfield is a very enthusiastic and funny teacher. I love and appreciate his hard work and find his teachings very useful and understandable. He is a very fabulous and fantastic physics professor I enjoyed watching his videos and learned a lot. I could connect very easily with him. Really you are a wonderful teacher/professor. Don't have enough words to describe how much I enjoyed your videos. I am looking forward to continuing with season 2 of How Things Work.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THIS FANTASTIC COURSE, SIR!

von Dr. S S R

8. Apr. 2020

I would like to recommend the course to anyone who want to understand the world around us. It will definitely change the way you see world around you. The magic is you do not need any math proficiency. One more thing which is commendable is amount of effort the Prof. has made to design the questions. Kudos to Prof. Bloomfield for all the effort he has made to make physics accessible to everyone. One thing I want to suggest is to use more universal terminologies and not limited to people of American origin. Waiting for season 2 :)

von Christian B

12. Apr. 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. As a hands-on, technical trades type learner, this class was like spending some time wandering around the hardware store of science. I don't know how to use all of the tools yet, but I feel that this class was a perfect, accessible way of learning about what tools are out there! It has definitely inspired me to continue pursuing knowledge in physics, and I would love to see How Things Work: Part 2. Thank you Lou Bloomfield, for the work you put into this class. It was a pleasure!

von Jeannette J

21. Mai 2020

This course was really amazing. I've always wanted to learn physics, but it is an intimidating subject. I only got 30% on the pre-exam. Some concepts were easier than others to grasp. For some reason, friction and momentum were much easier than the other parts for me. The visual examples really helped solidify my understanding of the concepts, and I liked the real-world applications. I managed to get a 97% on the final exam. That is a testament that the training was successful.

von Kianti S

10. Aug. 2020

One of the best courses I've ever taken! Professor Louis A. Bloomfield really did a great job in simplifying all of the concepts without sacrificing all of its important aspects. His effort relly shows through out the whole course. His enthusiasm and the way he showcased each concept through actual objects really made it easier for me to understand and retain the informations. I will recommend this course for anyone who wants gain a solid foundation of basic knowledge on Physics.

von Lovina N

30. Juli 2020

I am kind of a run from numbers person. And in school most of the physics we learnt included a considerable amount of calculations. But this course brought back my curiosity for the subject... And all the credit goes to Prof. Bloomfield. He made these seemingly scary concepts unbelievably easier through his evident love for teaching. I have stopped so many times to share some parts with my friends. It was an amazing experience to learn here. Will definitely take a part 2 class!