Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Internet of Things: How did we get here? von University of California San Diego

4.0
Sterne
774 Bewertungen
230 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top-Bewertungen

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

FH

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 219 Bewertungen für Internet of Things: How did we get here?

von Zied N

Nov 08, 2015

the questions were too easy in my opinion. everything else is fine

von YANG G

Dec 04, 2015

内容详实而且深入浅出,基本涉及了网络基础、TCPIP、CS和PS和应用。

课件整体显得短小但精致实用,价格实惠,因此给予四星的评价。

von Jose M V A

Nov 02, 2016

Good background for non-experts but just an introductory course.

von SHIJU

Aug 19, 2019

Good course to learn.Upgraded lot of information related to iot

von Muhammad i R

Jan 18, 2020

Indeed it was a good course, but very less related to IoT.

von SFUA

Aug 08, 2016

NB-IoT is not discussed while getting upto here.

von Han Y

May 08, 2019

wonderful course, but weird quiz...

von Abhishek B

Oct 08, 2015

Good Course for Evolution of IoT

von Susan C

May 09, 2020

week 2 module 5 is interesting

von Deryck C

Apr 04, 2016

Good review of the history.

von NALLA V V S D S R

Sep 21, 2017

this course is good

von GADDE R

Nov 10, 2016

it's very usefull

von Chetan

Jun 23, 2017

Interesting!!

von Shailaja S

May 30, 2016

very good

von Alex M

Mar 22, 2017

Focused a little too much on telephone history, though some was interesting. Perhaps spread out to other modules as short background material.

Would have preferred history/overview from Internet age with focus on various protocols/technologies that were introduced (IP, TCP, UDP, MQTT, Thread, Bluetooth, Zigbee

Module 6 made up for its more dynamic and more germane presentation. May be make it the 1st module, with other modules going back for a brief historical overview

von Nisha R

Mar 09, 2018

Questions posted at the end of the module are way out of what's being taught in the course. The starting lecture are like going back in time and reading/learning about people who made difference in the world of networking. I am still not sure, how that helps you gain the strong foundation for IoT. I lost interest in the course the moment the questions went way out of sync with the lectures.

von Lokesh G

Sep 10, 2016

While the last module of this course is very interesting and kept with the specialization, the first 5 modules are a waste of time for the most part. Why would I want to learn about AT&T for two weeks? The amount of useful concepts introduced in the first 5 modules won't take more than 15 minutes if unnecessary things were removed.

von David P

Jan 22, 2016

This could probably be better broken into two one week courses "History of Phone Technology" and "Intro to IoT". Many reviewers say they bail out in first few lectures because content seems too far removed from IoT. I enjoyed the last few lectures with examples of IoT, but could have skipped the rest.

von Zhao T

Aug 10, 2016

pace is slow. so many video in pieces, and lecturers keep saying like" we will look into more details later" or introduction again and again. I am studying module 2 now, all small lectures like 1 min or 2 mins, which is very shattered, repetitive and annoying.

von Erwin V

Mar 18, 2017

In itself interesting content, structure was difficult to follow and the history - in my humble view - was going back too far into the past whereas more recent developments where only touched at the surface, quality of slides was poor.

von sateesh P K

Jan 29, 2017

This course helped me in getting introduced to the IOT space, it is very basic/preliminary in nature but helps in setting up stage/ context for acquiring more knowledge and hands on next sessions of the certification.

von Abhishek P

Dec 04, 2016

The teaching has been concise and to the point which is good but not so good for a few difficult topics. Also I've been experiencing video lag and audio stuttering while streaming the videos so there's that.

von aman k

Apr 02, 2018

You must provide some materials because it some time get very irritating to answer your quizzes.I just wanted to know that why you guys wanted us to know about the history of AT&T and Bell labs.

von Dimitrios M

May 20, 2016

Great instructors.

Lots of historical references and terminology. I would prefer more details about how stuff actually work - in simple layman's terms.

Looking forward to the second course.

von Varun A

Jun 13, 2017

This course is more of a history type of course which bores the learners. Course should be more of technological knowledge rather than the history of the technology.