Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Internet of Things: How did we get here? von University of California San Diego

4.1
693 Bewertungen
199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top-Bewertungen

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 188 Bewertungen für Internet of Things: How did we get here?

von Manish

Oct 07, 2016

Not much useful if you want to learn about IOT but helpful if you want to learn historical development that lead to IOT

von Josué S B C

Feb 23, 2016

Interesting but very introductory. Don't expect to really learn something significant. Easy course. Accent is hard to understand.

von Suraj G

Apr 23, 2019

OK for the beginners as an introduction to IOT.

Course Videos and Quiz are hardly correlated.

von VIGNESHKUMAR R

Aug 22, 2019

Good course but many quiz .May be to reduce quiz to get more star from students.

von Gary F

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

von Emilio P F L

Feb 03, 2019

Hay mucha información que requiere una cantidad enorme de tiempo para poder responder una pregunta demasiado extendida para que la respuesta sean menos de 4 letras.

La última parte del curso fue mucho mas interesante, debido a que la historia de la telefonía o el internet es algo que ya había visto.

von Deena J

Feb 11, 2016

Not enough conversation on IoT (Just in the last module). Way too much time spent on history that really doesn't matter and on stuff I can find on the net. One Module to run through all of these - Circuit switching and packet switching, computer telephony (SS7) and then wireless would have been enough. The remaining modules should have gone into the concepts of IoT in greater detail and some high level technical info that someone who is just hearing about it can speak intelligently on it without having to develop my own dragon board (next course)

von Oussama B S

Mar 11, 2018

the exams have no relation with the course

von David B

Mar 28, 2016

Good content

von Ramy R K

Jul 11, 2017

Most of the course is about history with fair technical information. there are topics which are discussed in less than 1 min , how can i be an expert in 1 min ?

von Deleted A

Feb 09, 2016

It is good but for an introduction its too long.

von MD M U R

Apr 22, 2016

Too short.

von Ying X

Oct 18, 2018

Mainly disappointment in the quiz. Too many not mentioned in the lecture and takes too long to find the answer and in the end not finding the research rewarding

von KAWSHIKARAJ P

Sep 08, 2019

They need to improve the teaching video length and have to cover a lot for understanding

von Bashar S E

Mar 27, 2019

A lot of history knowledge has been included rather than materials that will be really helpful to proceed to further courses .

von Ashraf A

Mar 27, 2019

First Part of the course is not relevant I guess. we struggled to complete the assignments. The last module of week 2 is good.

von Støre N

Oct 27, 2015

The presenter are very annoying and i did not learn anything from this...

von Jeff R

Apr 27, 2018

This course seemed under prepared. Most quiz and test content was not included in the course material. From being involved with the student forums, this was a universal problem. I have taken over one dozen Coursera software MOOCs. This one is by far the lowest quality. Courses should be based on an outline of learning objectives and the course material should be prepared to cover these key points. Quizzes and tests should reinforce the content and follow the same objectives. What benefit can there be to build testing material that does not follow the content or relevant to the subject matter.

Another problem is the video quality. it is sometimes difficult to understand. This would not normally be a problem. However, no one QA'd the text transcript. It most be from a direct audio text translation and there are whole sections that make no sense.

If you take this course, can expect to spend a lot more time searching the internet to find answers to required tests. Alas, some answers you will never find...

von Arman

Oct 19, 2015

Big part of the course videos devoted to history of how the technology was developed, not much technical information about the technology itself.

von Fernando I

Apr 03, 2016

a 10 page reading could have make it. not enough material to be consider a course

von Gautam V

May 06, 2018

This course had lots of interesting facts about various organisations and their history which I liked so much, but mostly everything were non technical which is fine but testing our knowledge in those areas didn't seem like a good idea. The questions from quizzes was totally random, that is, it was not even said about in the video lectures. At-least, a study material or an information about where to study about those things would have sufficed. The fill in the blanks type questions were too random, where we were supposed to enter the exact answer (even the spaces mattered). That didn't seem like testing our knowledge. Even though we knew most of the correct answers, we weren't able to score marks because of that. Some of the multiple correct questions had answers wrong.

von Liu X

Apr 06, 2018

not recommend

haven't learned a lot...plus,questions in quizzes are weird.

von ANDREW ( G

Mar 09, 2018

Question not match with Lecture. This course lucks of support

von Fredrik F

Mar 15, 2018

So far it is very poor. Alot of info lacking to finish the quizzes

von Brian N

Jul 29, 2016

Boring, most of them are history. Don't worth it ! 1 week into the course, very boring. Not technical enough. The test basically asked people to remember things that are not useful !