Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Internet of Things: How did we get here? von University of California San Diego

4.0
Sterne
774 Bewertungen
230 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top-Bewertungen

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

FH

Mar 29, 2016

I think i can never get the introduction to telecommunication and web integrated together in such an awesome pedagogical manner. Thanks for providing this course.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 219 Bewertungen für Internet of Things: How did we get here?

von Muhammad I A

Jun 15, 2016

It is informative, but there are many basics that were not covered well & there was a lot of information that was not that interesting (like too much history)

von Sam B

Nov 01, 2015

A lot of background information, most of which I was unfamiliar with. Kind of dragged on, but I think it'll ultimately be helpful in the specialization.

von Krishna C

Feb 09, 2016

i feel this course start is somewhat bored because of teaching is not practical based and better follow udacity website tech for teaching interactively

von Omar V

Jan 27, 2017

The course is fine, but I would give the certificate out for free and charge for the ones that follow in the specialization as an incentive to enroll.

von Josué S B C

Feb 23, 2016

Interesting but very introductory. Don't expect to really learn something significant. Easy course. Accent is hard to understand.

von Christos K

Feb 08, 2016

Introductory, not completely relevant to my goals, could be ommitted. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the delivery of the instructor.

von Manish

Oct 07, 2016

Not much useful if you want to learn about IOT but helpful if you want to learn historical development that lead to IOT

von Abhinuv N P

Aug 20, 2016

It's a very basic course with little technical overview. The history and story of emergence of internet is described.

von Karen K

Sep 09, 2016

Gooed clear presenters. Give a good idea of how connectivity works. Last module was a bit obvious (IoT applications)

von Pavlos I

Nov 16, 2015

While this course is well organized and descriptive, it barely touches the Internet of Things technologies.

von Sanjeev S

Nov 30, 2015

This course is a refresher and provides a High Level overview of IoT and its history

as advertised

von Vivek L

May 07, 2020

initial module quizs are not in sync with teaching . learned few core stuff though. thanks you.

von Suraj G

Apr 23, 2019

OK for the beginners as an introduction to IOT.

Course Videos and Quiz are hardly correlated.

von Donat G

May 23, 2016

Not really technical, but a good overview over the past years and even centuries...

von VIGNESHKUMAR R

Aug 22, 2019

Good course but many quiz .May be to reduce quiz to get more star from students.

von Michael T

Feb 24, 2016

The topic was interesting , but most of the questions need to be rewritten.

von Jan S

Jan 14, 2016

Too much focusing on history of telephony and only little focus on IoT.

von Rishabh K

Jan 15, 2016

Too much theory and history in the course, no practical applications.

von utkarsh v

Dec 19, 2017

they will not teach you how to build your own iot board

von Geert H

Nov 11, 2015

Reasonable, but slow to come to the essence.

von Abdallah K

Jun 01, 2017

ok

von Deena J

Feb 11, 2016

Not enough conversation on IoT (Just in the last module). Way too much time spent on history that really doesn't matter and on stuff I can find on the net. One Module to run through all of these - Circuit switching and packet switching, computer telephony (SS7) and then wireless would have been enough. The remaining modules should have gone into the concepts of IoT in greater detail and some high level technical info that someone who is just hearing about it can speak intelligently on it without having to develop my own dragon board (next course)

von Emilio P F L

Feb 03, 2019

Hay mucha información que requiere una cantidad enorme de tiempo para poder responder una pregunta demasiado extendida para que la respuesta sean menos de 4 letras.

La última parte del curso fue mucho mas interesante, debido a que la historia de la telefonía o el internet es algo que ya había visto.

von Gary F

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent title. Pretty much summarizes the entire course. Through out the entire course you will definately wonder why you are here. Your answer must be for IoT every time. If that's the case, then stay tune. If you manage to reach the end, you will also know how you got here.

von Praharsh R D

Apr 10, 2020

This is a great course for people looking to know the history of IoT and as the name suggests how did we get here. the only thing wrong with this course is the assignment part as it is hilt disjoint and there are a lot of problems with the grading system.