Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,431 Bewertungen
736 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 741 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von Devi D

11. Juni 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful lessons, sir.

Definitely a great course whoever craves to learn about Egypt

von Alice W

21. Mai 2020

A brilliant, concise and fascinating mix of history, archeology and ideas beautifully presented by Dr Silverman

von Svetlana I

3. Apr. 2020

Great basic course for those who want a brief introduction to the world of Ancient Egypt. enjoyed it very much!

von Bruna F

28. Mai 2020

It was really a fun and interesting time to participate in this course! Absolutely loved it! Thank you to all!

von Aiman N

10. Apr. 2020

It was a very well researched course. Excellent faculty and resources were used during the duration of course.

von Michelle B

4. Juni 2020

I enjoyed the course. I think it was a really good introductory overviiew of this very dynamic civilization.

von Camilo J H

1. Feb. 2017

Great course, the material was very good. I didn't get a chance to check the book recommended for the course.

von Louisa H

14. Apr. 2020

I really enjoyed the course, there was a variety of topics covered and viewpoints on those different topics.

von smisha

21. Mai 2020

Dr Silverman rekindled my love for egyptology. The visual demonstrations and the lectures were captivating.

von Ana P C R

31. Mai 2019

Un curso fascinante,interesante y muy bien presentado para todos los amantes del Antiguo Egipto.Me encantó

von Julia C

14. Juni 2017

I loved this course. It was taught with enthusiasm and there were lots of illustrative examples of objects

von Tiara R

4. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. The course textbook is referred to as a reference for several egyptology publications.

von Lillianne d H G

25. Apr. 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

von Elizabeth C

27. Sep. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this excellent course. I am now very keen to continue learning about Ancient Egypt.

von Martha s

20. Apr. 2020

Me pareció sumamente interesante el curso, es increíble toda la cultura que tenían en el Egipto Antiguo!

von Wallyn D d J S

22. März 2020

Muito completo, dá uma boa noção sobre diversos aspectos do Antigo Egito. Agradeço por todo o conteúdo.

von Abigail C

27. Sep. 2020

Fantastic course, I learned a lot and am very grateful to be able to expand my knowledge in this area.

von Rodolfo A

18. Aug. 2020

Excelente curso online, da una muy buena base para seguir aprendiendo mas sobre esta gran civilización

von Rummenigge S d N

11. Dez. 2016

Dr. David Silverman is just great. I learned much about Ancient Egypt, even in an introductory course.

von Deleted A

28. Jan. 2018

COURS INTERRESSANT , CONSTRUCTIF, AGREABLE A SUIVRE .

MERCI A MONSIEUR LE PROFESSEUR david SILVERMAN

von Francis C

21. Juli 2017

Very lively and documented course.

English slow enough for good understanding by foreigners.

Enjoyable.

von İrem Y

20. Juli 2017

ı really like the course and the professor Silverman. ı learnt a lot from him. thanks for everything.

von Justine B

14. Feb. 2021

An absolutely fascinating exploration into numerous aspects that made up the ancient world of Egypt!

von Jen A

21. Aug. 2020

Great intro - was able to complete quickly due to easily accessible and interesting subject matter!