Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data von Duke University

4.7
1,528 Bewertungen
263 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top-Bewertungen

CT

Jul 20, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

GB

Mar 30, 2017

Good and practical training approach to solve real worlds problems. Assignments and quizzes are quite challenging and interesting. Greatly motivates us towards programming and problem solving skills.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 258 Bewertungen für Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

von Shridhar S

Aug 09, 2017

It would be helpful if explanations of the problems in the quiz were made available after passing them.

von Masaru N

Nov 11, 2017

One of the most **practical** Java programming courses that I've ever taken.

Thank you so much.

von Denis G

Mar 22, 2018

6th question in final quiz is really hard for non native english speakers. Please avoid questions with multiple selection and with lots of text.

von Boğaçhan A

May 24, 2017

This course is an excellent opportunity to gain some skills that are essential to coding. Other than teaching the methods to code, the course is also highly focused on how to approach a complicated problem. It gives you valuable insight on breaking down these problems and develop an algorithm. The only bad side of the course is that if you are stuck, i.e. getting a wrong answer on a practice quiz or an example, you are going to have to find the error by yourself since the forum is not that active.

von Rachid A N

Mar 06, 2017

g

von Chiazo A

Jul 27, 2018

As someone who had slight knowledge of Java and who is looking to study computer science, this course filled in the gap that IB Computer Science 1st Year couldn't do - I actually got to code and apply concepts like writing private vs public methods or using getters or for loops. I also had the luxury of having a free summer to complete this and with days of work ranging from 3-6 hours, I managed to finish the course in 26 days. I believe it relies a bit too much on its previous courses at times and the time needed to complete assignments is very off but this is a great way to actually see a project through and push yourself. Thank you Duke!

von Hanqi Z

Apr 25, 2019

Useful course. Helped me gain a solid understanding of OO programming in Java, though I feel that the part where HashSet came up was too rushed (might want to reassure students that they will learn about why HashSet is faster when they learn about data structure in the future)

von Nikolay A

Sep 05, 2019

Level of support and quality of content went down from Course 1 and 2

von Trần C L

Oct 26, 2019

This is a Dark Souls among courses, I git gud and failed lots of time which enhances my learning so I can debug, look up to stackoverflow and dissussion forums(but yeah I still mostly fail) . This time I passed, feel like a boss! 8/10 would recommend this to my fellow casual programmers what the hardcore one is.

(Edited) Did you guys set this course difficulty as beginner? Wait, that 's illegal!

von Rinoj R N

Nov 01, 2019

They teach very nicely and make your doubts clear.

von Mikhail K

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't understand why BlueJ is used, while there are lots of other free Java IDEs (Eclipse, IDEAJ, etc.)

Also i don't agree with some OOP things you say. I don't see any point in creating a separate class for each test case, one class for every single functional class is more than enough (e.g. we need to test a class called MyClass with 4 functions, thus we make no more than one test class with 4 or less (or more) test cases. Especially when you can use JUnit tests)

von Vu M L

Feb 26, 2019

Still needs some reconfiguration to the quizes. I am not satisfied with those. Needs to be fixed!

von P J

Jul 14, 2018

the reading part has many errors and unneccessary methods

von Hangyul M

Aug 03, 2018

It definitely makes you practice! But I hope it more dedicated to make us think how to use data structure more!! But If you are newbie to this field, it might be some challenging but help you to improve your coding!!

von Chadrick A E

Apr 26, 2018

More accessible than course two in the track. If you are a true newcomer to programming this course is also not a good choice for you unless you can spend much, much more than the projected time on the material each week.

von Neng P

Nov 07, 2016

Discussion forums for this course was not quite helpful.

von Nathan S

Aug 02, 2017

Very good content, however many of the assignments are not worded very clearly and can get confusing. They take much longer than the 10 minutes the course providers allocate and as such it can be easy to get behind on the course.

However, a very good course nonetheless.

von Md. Z M

Jun 14, 2016

The concepts taught were very useful and interesting, but the only drawback I found with this course was the confusing nature of the Mini-Project.

von wen c

Jul 30, 2017

videos are good and course is helpful. However, no staff working for forum, so if anyone has any problem, no staff is helping you.

von Kerstin K

Apr 29, 2017

Course and Assignments were good, but don't hope for an answer in the discussion forums.

von Konrad D

Feb 26, 2016

OK, big improvement from first 2 in this series

von Ahmed N A

Aug 20, 2019

More frustrating than it is helpful. They skim over important topics like object-oriented programming and arrays and barely provide any helpful videos. Their assignments aren't difficult; they're just mind-numbingly annoying. The assignments give you a half-finished program and tell you to add specific methods in very specific ways. You're practically reading an instruction set and doing all the busywork without feeling like a programmer at all. This course won't teach you to think like a programmer, it'll just tell you to spend hours doing boring step-by-step tasks. None of the programs you're making feel like they're yours. Poor course all around, would skip.

von doha T

Aug 23, 2019

nice course , programming assignments are simplified real world problems. that helps in getting familiar with other areas of applying CS in.

Quizzes and review questions are time consuming and boring, just collecting outputs from running your programming assignment.

von Frank T

Jul 12, 2019

Poor Quizzes and little help on the forum

von Krishna K

Jun 15, 2019

I recommend skipping this course if you have done SOME programming before. This is a LONG course just to cover concepts of Array and hashes which really should be a one or two hour lecture. It is nice that you learn some beginner cryptography though. That said, some of the assignments were unnecessarily frustrating at times and a bit too long. While I think it is a good course. It wasn't right for me. A bit too basic and assignment too long for a subject matter I had a very low level of interest in.