Chevron Left
Zurück zu Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Principles of Software Design by Duke University

4.6
750 Bewertungen
123 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Top-Bewertungen

NS

Jun 16, 2016

Like all the modules of this Java specialization, the teachers are very good and the course reaches the objective of teaching the fundamentals of software design with an excellent didactic.

MN

Feb 26, 2017

This nicely packaged course is learner centered. It engages the learner by enforcing practice through interesting exercises and quizzes. Kudos and Thumbs up to the team of great instructors

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 124 Reviews for Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

von Thi T L

Jul 13, 2019

easy to understand, lots of programming practice

von Frank T

Jul 12, 2019

Principles are usually explained with code where analogies or schematics would have been more appropriate.

Quizzes are sometimes poor.

Help is hard to get on the forum.

von saurabh

Jun 29, 2019

while the course is structured well, there is almot zero support when one gets stuck. Coursera has not maintained an active forum, unlike other platforms. It ends up wasting a lot of time for us.

von Alana G

Jun 11, 2019

Overall, this course is pretty good and it helps to learn the basics of Java Interfaces. However, Week 3 was very confusing and discussion posts were not at all helpful in the forums. I am having a lot of trouble with the random text generator (assignment one) and I can not move on until I get that one method correctly. I was not able to understand the getRandomText() method, therefore it was very difficult to do MarkovFour. Especially, when MarkovOne was not even working. The readings had VERY confusing wording and I believe the grammar caused confusion. However, it could have been a typo. That is why I gave this specific course a 3 star rating.

von BingliangLan

Jun 05, 2019

instructive !

von Aditya

May 30, 2019

SuperB!

von Igor B

Apr 25, 2019

Excellent course, well designed excercises, good motivating lectures.

von Bogdan U

Apr 12, 2019

As the previous 3 Courses, very well-thought off and practical - this is exactly what I wanted from a course.

von Amaliya A

Apr 06, 2019

Super course!

Well designed, structured, with a sense of humor :)

To be specific, with this course you are able to write complicated programs step by step with linearly growing difficulty.

Thanks!

von Jeff M

Mar 20, 2019

Good class and good education. My only objection is that some of the practice tests seemed unusually difficult.

von Aminath K G

Feb 25, 2019

Enjoyed this course and the examples used to learn algorithms (earthquakes data and predictive text). I did find that week 3 had a lot of work packed into one week. Otherwise, interesting and fun course.

von LAKKOJU N S S R T

Feb 22, 2019

very helpful in understanding how to write a logic to a complex program easily.

von Shaun R

Feb 19, 2019

The third week was a great challenge and, while frustrating at times, gave me more to think about as I'm developing as a programmer.

von Nazeeh A

Feb 18, 2019

Amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing.

von Aleksandr V

Jan 31, 2019

great!

von Четверухин А А

Jan 10, 2019

Nice course which logically ends the series of four. Finally explains why different duke.edu libraries were used as well as BlueJ, which seemed to be strange choise at the beginning. I've finally understood why interfaces and abstract classes are important and how to use it. I decrease the mark to 4 only due to week 3 tests unclarity around hashmap - I've never worked it out how to get to the test results on hashmap size - it was working fine on small samples, but not matching the answers which were in the quiz for the big files which took a lot of time from me and didn't bring satisfaction.

von Saleh T S S

Dec 31, 2018

You need to explain Exceptions and interfaces more deeply

von Peter G W

Dec 24, 2018

Near the end of the course it was very difficult to get programs working exactly as intended. I felt the instructions could have been clearer, especially in Week 3's assignments.

von Michael D

Nov 29, 2018

Fantastic course. Thanks to the instructors and students who helped put this coursework together. I've learned a tremendous amount about OOP and software design. Will continue on with the capstone couse to complete the specialization. Thank you.

von Alex S

Nov 25, 2018

Awesome course. These professors are great. They are from Duke University

von Karim M E

Nov 18, 2018

great course recommend it so much

von Sheldon T

Nov 16, 2018

The practice examples and content are top notch. Learning about markov models was particularly interesting.

von Алексей

Oct 24, 2018

Pros:

There are a lot of interesting subjects - the basics of the cryptography (the Caesar cipher, the vigenere cipher), the practical use of the markovs model to generate funny texts, some basics with image filtering and if you dont use course IDE blueJ and duke libraries and found how to do this thing with java core - it will be more profitable.

Cons:

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also is a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process.

Several tasks and questions are hardly to understand since they are badly formulated.

Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

von Mary S

Sep 24, 2018

Decent. Moved kinda slowly, but it's for beginners, so what did I expect? This is a nice progression of classes for someone with no previous programming experience; if you have previous experience, in another language, you may wish to start with an intermediate course.

von Chris T

Aug 21, 2018

Difficult and challenging, but worth the struggle.