Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Logic

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Logic von Stanford University

4.5
Sterne
556 Bewertungen
121 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to Logic from a computational perspective. It shows how to encode information in the form of logical sentences; it shows how to reason with information in this form; and it provides an overview of logic technology and its applications - in mathematics, science, engineering, business, law, and so forth....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Aug 21, 2018

This course was so helpful. I think I now understand the fundamentals of mathematical logic. I truly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in studying logic!

SC

May 01, 2018

Pros:\n\n1.good contents\n\n2.good exercises and interesting puzzles\n\n3.good examples\n\nCons:\n\n1.No video\n\n2. need more examples

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 115 Bewertungen für Introduction to Logic

von Andrey K

Oct 04, 2018

since the Section 2.5 - Satisfaction and on it doesn`t score any passed lessons or assignements, there is always an error "Unfortunately due to an error, your score was not recorded."

von James R E

Mar 20, 2018

After I signed up and started the class, I was disappointed to see that there are only 2 video lectures for the entire program. After starting and going through the first week, I realized that I could just as well have checked a book out from the local library and gotten the same information. I was hoping for an instructor led course. I will look elsewhere - You Tube or EdX may have a more engaging course.

von Diego A A

Apr 24, 2019

The name don't lie: this is a introduction. There're some funny examples and I recomend for those who that are beginners in Logic.

von joao d

Feb 23, 2019

While I did learn a great deal with this course, I feel like it's not well made. No videos is clearly a minus, but that's just a nitpick. The biggest problem are the graded exercises. Some of the fitch exercises are ridiculously complicated until you reach the last sessions, where you can literally just write the goal you want without even reading the exercise.

von Ovidio M

Aug 18, 2017

This is an awesome course about logic that I totally recommend because it explains very fundamental concepts.

I suggest to integrate the contents into the Coursera platform, although the external tool is easy to use also.

I would be great if you published a continuation course which may include, for instance, the covered topics in more detail, FOL in depth, second and higher order logic, logic programming.

Thank you very much for offering us this course!

von Joseph A D

Dec 30, 2016

The course surprised me. Initially, it seemed to be a review of very basic concepts from boolean algebra and propositional logic. But even with a strong background in math and CS I was challenged, and I learned new (and for me, applied) ideas about the underlying aspects of automated theorem provers and satisfiability provers.

von Sergiu N

May 09, 2020

It was one of the hardest coursed I've ever done on courser, after my great ambition and the great work, I managed to finish this course,there were some moments where I thinked to I'll never finish this course,I learned a lot of new things and important! Thank you to all teachers for the work!

von Jaewoo S

Aug 21, 2018

This course was so helpful. I think I now understand the fundamentals of mathematical logic. I truly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in studying logic!

von patrick b

Oct 20, 2016

probably a very interesting course, but the way of teaching looks very indigestible... no video and no real explanation or examples.

von Luis H C P

Jan 14, 2018

O curso de Introduction to Logic oferecido pela Stanford University é excelente! De fato ele não é um curso introdutório, vai muito além com uma abordagem completa sobre o assunto. Os exercícios são muito bons e ajudam a desenvolver habilidades analíticas. Com certeza é um curso que irei recomendar.

von sachin m

Jan 19, 2018

excellent teaching, detailed analysis, interesting theories, mind blowing facts, all in all it was my best experience online

von Sixiang C

May 01, 2018

Pros:

1.good contents

2.good exercises and interesting puzzles

3.good examples

Cons:

1.No video

2. need more examples

von Nick R

Mar 15, 2018

Section 12 wasn't very clear, but everything else was great.

von Marcin B

May 06, 2020

First of all, I would like to sincerely thank the people who prepared and placed this course on coursera. Not too many logic courses out there.

As for the course itself, it is basically a read only course. There are numerous graded assignments that exploit web-based tools and it all works fine. The lack of video lectures may be a little intimidating, but the reading material's quality makes up for this. What bothered me slightly though, is not enough formality in definitions and stated claims. I had tendency to get lost in the meaning of numerous abstract objects such as constants, literals, constant functions, terms, relations, sentences, free and non-free variables, contingency, validity, satisfiability, soundness, completeness, compactness....

What I learned from the course:

- Lookin at logic systems as systems of manipulating strings of literals according to pre-defined semantics. We started with proposition logic, went on to relational logic and Herbrand logic.

- Formal proof system such as the Fitch system and resolution.

Some things I have hoped to learn but did not:

- How did logic evolve throughout history and how did we arrive at the picture that is seen today?

- What are the main branches of modern logic and what are - in general - logic researchers preoccupied with?

- Since logic, as it was presented, boils down to performing semantical operations on a predefined scheme of literals, isn't there a general way to formalize this? It seems there should be a general notion of language consisting of an alphabet, syntax, semantics and a set of inference rules.

- Does mathematics boil down to manipulating strings of literals according to some rules? If so, can we have many valid mathematics based on different axioms and different semantical rules? For instance, what would be the consequence of dropping the axiom of choice?

- What are the implications of Gödel incompleteness theorems for math and for science in general? Do the imply that the Riemann hypothesis could be undecidable?

To summarize, this course was an entertaining adventure, but I completed it with seemingly more questions regarding logic the prior to starting the course. But maybe that is not so bad?

von SANDEEP N

Jun 14, 2018

you will learn how to think like a mathematician

von emre a

Apr 10, 2020

It is basically a series of slides. I would instead buy the book and read it. The exercises were good tough.

von Dillon C

Nov 01, 2016

Week 4 does not give enough explanation or extra resources and makes it unable to complete the exercises.

von Scott M

May 15, 2017

Very good course. I had no previous knowledge of the topic before this course and after the first couple of weeks it gets difficult quickly, but perseverance helps. Some of the week's assignments I had to go back to at a later date. The in-course forums are invaluable and have a couple of you-tube links to some useful videos. It is surprising how much you learn and can apply to numerous other topics after completing this course. Overall it might infuriate you at some points but it is worth the occasional headache.

von Hana S

Jul 13, 2017

An extremely engaging and complex course. While the starting weeks and the supplementary materials are excellent, I found the course somewhat lacking in appropriate introductions to the Fitch system, which can be quite daunting for less experienced students.

The main workbook makes for helpful reading material for college students, regardless of their course's individual approach to Logic.

von Robert S

Jul 10, 2018

Good review for those who have studied quantified logic at any level. The Fitch system is fun and easy to use - especially where it automatically cites the inference rules for you. Having done many informal inductive proofs, I found the extension of first-order logic to include induction particularly interesting - if intensely tedious in application.

von Remco P

Apr 10, 2020

Every step of the course was challenging, but never truly hard. I was familiar with the forms of logic taught in this course, but doing full proofs with them was something I hadn't done yet. It was very rewarding to work through them.

von Siddharth S

May 27, 2017

Wonderful course, very clear explanations, and the exercises (especially the proof editors) are just golden. Would definitely recommend this course to any one interested in Logic or related subjects, or just as a passing interest.

von Wilhian L

Feb 13, 2020

Este curso contém exercícios desafiadores e melhoram o raciocínio lógico consideravelmente. Muito Bom!

This course contains challenging exercises and improves logical thinking considerably. Very good!

von Mario A P O

Sep 10, 2017

I think the course makes a great job introducing you to a different mindset, the one that can help you through any kind of inference and mathematical thinking. It makes your brain work.

von 李宁

Jun 09, 2018

Good structure. Helped a lot with my university unit. It would be great if we can get sample solutions for our exercises.