Chevron Left
Zurück zu Model Thinking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Model Thinking von University of Michigan

4.8
1,362 Bewertungen
290 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top-Bewertungen

GK

Feb 25, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

YK

Apr 07, 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 282 Bewertungen für Model Thinking

von miguel b

Jul 12, 2017

I really love how this course covers this interesting and useful subject.

von Mohamed Y

Feb 16, 2016

This is one of the best courses I have ever take in thinking.

von José M P F

Aug 09, 2016

Muy bueno.

von sukran c

Feb 16, 2018

I certainly advise everyone this course. Thank you for such a good and informative lessons.

von okoli l

Aug 09, 2016

Awesome Neh!!!!!

von Bigfoot

Jun 18, 2016

cool

von Santiago M

Aug 26, 2016

great people

von Karthikeyan S

Mar 28, 2016

Excellent course. Great professor. Really enjoying the course

von Wael E

May 08, 2016

Fantastic, I love this course

von 任喆

Oct 03, 2016

I would love to watch the videos again! They are helpful and you will find that they can be used in your daily life.

von Xue, L

Jun 17, 2018

great course, inspires me a lot

von Fahad A

Jun 22, 2016

It's very interesting course. I'm learning new things that were not noticed before

von Yi D

Jan 28, 2017

Great course for quantitative social science, focusing on modeling. I recommend anyone who are interested in social science to take it to know something beyond the traditional reasoning method. I really think quantitative is the future of social science though it is not mature enough. Anyway, this course gives a great introduction, and the content is plenty.

von Pedro P

Jun 06, 2017

Complete and very usefull.

von Alexey M

Mar 19, 2016

It is really great course!

Thanks for making it available.

I think it is course that everybody should take before going into machine learning/data science. It may help you to make better sense of what you will learn.

von Abel

Jul 21, 2017

A impressive course that changed my perspective a lot!

von Mian A H

Apr 16, 2017

Hats off to Scott E. Page et al. for putting together this amazing set of lectures and course material. The whole organization of videos, notes, readings fits together really well. I am very happy to have invested my time in this course, it has been very rewarding.

von Alex L

Oct 28, 2015

Scott E is wonderful to learn from! Very exciting and interesting material, worth taking the deep dive!

von Elias

Oct 14, 2015

Excellent teaching and material

Thanks Scott

von Fabian C

Nov 17, 2015

Simply excellent!

von Massimo Z

May 24, 2017

Useful and well done.

Thank you

von Sara D R

Mar 11, 2016

This overview of a variety of modeling concepts and applications was both challenging and interesting. The course requires study and effort which pays off with a broader perspective on simple and complex processes.

von Philip W

Nov 19, 2016

Clear. Well paced. Methodical. Ideal balance of mathematics and practical application. Mathematics not too overwhelming although it did push my thinking hard.

von Percy B

Oct 21, 2015

A

von Dennis A

Jul 10, 2016

Presenter is excellent, subject matter is fascinating