Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,250 Bewertungen
546 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filtern nach:

501 - 525 von 529 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von Reuben P

Apr 08, 2019

learn a lot of news things

von Javier G r

Sep 25, 2019

very interesting course.

von Cheung Y N

Jun 08, 2019

Nice course!

von Mucahit F Y

Oct 31, 2016

fantastic

von Carolina R d C

Oct 03, 2016

So good!

von Robert P

Sep 20, 2016

A

von Matthias C

Feb 24, 2016

Average. Doesn't really like the Professor's style. He spends too many time trying to explain that he feels really concern about the victims etc. I feel that the content of the class could have been interesting but the organization was messy. Finally it gives the impression that academics know barely anything about the subject. I would have prefer a more historical approach. Overall i've watched all the content but in the future i won't spend much time checking for new Mooc from him. Thanks for the try though

von John G

Mar 02, 2017

Interesting and informative, but the material seemed dated. The paper on Jihadi terrorists in Europe is from 2006, and information from the global terrorism database is from 2010, for example. Some of the lecture content also seemed years behind the times -- like the omission of any mention of the increase in terrorist attacks in Western Europe. (Yes, the lecture on foreign fighters was more current.)

Maybe it's there somewhere, but all MOOCs should disclose when the lectures were recorded.

von Walter C L J

Aug 24, 2015

It is a great theme, but at many points the course focuses on "who said what", regarding authors and papers, and emphasizes this type of question throughout all the tests. I think a longer course where these statements and papers could be properly discussed and explained would easily be a 5-star rating. The instructor clearly knows a lot on the subject and the material is top quality.

von Saim S

Apr 13, 2016

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

von Scott A C

Aug 26, 2016

Good review of the theory but course is outdated given the number of events in the last 2 years that relate to the information provided in the course -- particularly as it relates to attacks

von Kerstin K

Mar 29, 2016

Altogether a useful introduction to an interesting topic -- despite the generalizing approach and the sometimes conservative instead of neutral presentation.

von Matthys J U

Sep 14, 2015

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

von RBUlrich

Sep 04, 2016

In general good, but not updated - seems from around 2013, so the new developments are not mentioned.

von Víctor M C P

Apr 10, 2019

Necesito la traducción en Español de todo el Curso. Gracias de antemano por su atención.

von Janet Q

Aug 01, 2019

Unfortunately, articles listed as optional reading end up on the quiz at week's end.

von Paulo D

Jan 13, 2016

Bien explique pour le instructeur. bravo!

Manque quelque tractions en FRANCE

von Bruno M

Sep 29, 2019

Some readings were not up to date anymore

von 4124

May 28, 2018

basic knowledge, nothing special.

von Elena D

Mar 27, 2016

Not updated data

von Thomasybruce

Aug 15, 2015

A very good and thought provoking course.

It is a re-run of an archived course and sadly a number of reference materials that had been on the dashboard are not reposted with it. Also there are references to discussion forums that don't exist. If the missing material and content were up to date it would be a strong and complete course.

von laura

Nov 30, 2015

no se puede realizar el trabajo final en español, solamente en ingles, me parece mal, es un curso interesante y por supuesto enigmatico pero al no poderlo hacer en mi lengua me decepciona mucho

von Kyle F

Oct 07, 2016

Material was interesting, but mentors/teaching assistants and the course director were non-existent. Hard to get any significant discussions going.

von Joel B

Aug 21, 2016

more about the study of terrorism than about terrorism

von Francisco E B A

Sep 26, 2015

Just for get our opinion.