Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
553 Bewertungen
140 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

Sep 21, 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 132 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Denisse M L M

Oct 25, 2017

Great course with good material. The word load is small, and can be completed quicker than I thought. I wish it was a bit more dense, but I enjoyed the content nonetheless. Unlike the other courses in the specialization, the speaker in this one is not a native English speaker and he mispronounces words a lot. Without the subtitles, some parts are very hard to understand.

von Alex Z

Jan 19, 2016

Amazing course. I learned so much about the game world.

von Liliya G

Mar 28, 2016

Great course, excited :)

von Omar J C R

Mar 01, 2016

I am so glad I found this five course specialization! The teachers are on point. The curriculum compliments the other courses. Thanks to this course, with a little help from the other courses in the specialization, I pushed myself to flesh out a lot of the narrative and design components of my game. Within a month, I have a full fledged story arch, set in a well thought out world that compliments and interacts with the game's narrative, well designed characters, and a balanced and, hopefully, engaging gameplay. Best of all, I've been able to get feedback from other students who have helped point out things I'd missed and suggested ideas. I highly recommend this course, its complimentary courses, and the specialization as a whole!

von Mikiodelg

Dec 15, 2015

Very nice course ^^

von Daniel A A G

Jun 28, 2018

Having to identify what makes other worlds interesting is really helping me focus on what makes my game interesting. I Really do think this course helped me out a lot as I was struggling to land ideas into a concrete explanation. Thanks a lot for the course.

von Christopher M

Dec 13, 2016

This course was amazing and great. I loved it. It helped me so much with my own project :D

von Glaucio J M d C

Sep 07, 2016

Very good. Excellent teacher - I strongly recommend.

von Wallace N O

Jan 20, 2016

an awesome course.... each one is being better than the last... fantastic!

von Emil E

Sep 25, 2017

Very good.

von Andres M

Dec 01, 2015

Great teacher, great videos, great staff, this course, and CalArts course in general, know how to create great learning content that engages and promotes learning, there is never a second when I'm thinking "man, when is this going to end?".

von Umair R

Aug 08, 2016

I m loving it

von José D A

Jan 27, 2016

I learned a lot in this course, it was very helpful. World design is key to defining your game.

von Jessica W

Dec 15, 2016

Definitely a challenging course but I enjoyed it very much and learned a lot!

von Rodrigo E

May 26, 2016

it's Fun and worth the time

von Tata D

Feb 08, 2016

Good course, but there are not much useful information. It's more analytic

von Khendy R M A

Apr 05, 2016

I like the course

von Brit T

Nov 17, 2016

This is an excellent way to learn the steps of approaching BG design. I entered this course not having the slightest clue of how to start research, and now I feel I have a much better grasp on it thanks to this course. I think my favorite assignment was looking up all the reference photos (project 2?) and explaining what they meant to our game and how they fit in not just with the game mission but related to our characters too. I would like to take another class, focusing on drawing/creating the backgrounds now.

von Sergey K

Jan 18, 2016

Interesting and easily understandable! Thank you!

von Dolapo A

Oct 16, 2017

This was a fun class. It was really helpful and covered all aspects of game worlds from the appearance to the inhabitants. Theo raised points I'd never thought about which was really helpful. I recommend you give it a shot.

von Jaime A

Aug 26, 2016

Gives you a lot to think about and ideas to Build! Build! Build!

von Álvaro B F

Aug 30, 2016

A totally great course that makes clear the concepts we should be careful with when developing video games.

von Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

von David T

Nov 01, 2016

Muy buen curso :)

von Nadya S

Dec 18, 2016

Before enrolling this course, I expected to obtain some technical skills for creating game environments by different software products, etc. I was surprised: this course teaches the future professionals to THINK ! One can't produce anything without know what he would make. This course will give you clear direction of your ideas about YOUR GAME environement. Like in the drawing: you should know what you would draw. Having the "color palette" is nothing without structuring in your mind your ideas, planning what you would do. Similarly is in my profession - architecture - there are some already graduated students who can only to draft what somebody else tells them to draft. This course will teach you how to create.