Chevron Left
Zurück zu World Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für World Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.4
533 Bewertungen
134 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Top-Bewertungen

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 126 Bewertungen für World Design for Video Games

von Nadya S

Dec 18, 2016

Before enrolling this course, I expected to obtain some technical skills for creating game environments by different software products, etc. I was surprised: this course teaches the future professionals to THINK ! One can't produce anything without know what he would make. This course will give you clear direction of your ideas about YOUR GAME environement. Like in the drawing: you should know what you would draw. Having the "color palette" is nothing without structuring in your mind your ideas, planning what you would do. Similarly is in my profession - architecture - there are some already graduated students who can only to draft what somebody else tells them to draft. This course will teach you how to create.

von David T

Nov 01, 2016

Muy buen curso :)

von Dolapo A

Oct 16, 2017

This was a fun class. It was really helpful and covered all aspects of game worlds from the appearance to the inhabitants. Theo raised points I'd never thought about which was really helpful. I recommend you give it a shot.

von Tata D

Feb 08, 2016

Good course, but there are not much useful information. It's more analytic

von Khendy R M A

Apr 05, 2016

I like the course

von Jaime A

Aug 26, 2016

Gives you a lot to think about and ideas to Build! Build! Build!

von Brit T

Nov 17, 2016

This is an excellent way to learn the steps of approaching BG design. I entered this course not having the slightest clue of how to start research, and now I feel I have a much better grasp on it thanks to this course. I think my favorite assignment was looking up all the reference photos (project 2?) and explaining what they meant to our game and how they fit in not just with the game mission but related to our characters too. I would like to take another class, focusing on drawing/creating the backgrounds now.

von Deidre G

Feb 07, 2016

Really great course which got me thinking about the game environment a whole lot more than I have ever considered the large impact it has on the successful ability to engage the player and successfully submerge them in the game world. I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to obtain an insight into games.

von Angelo B

Feb 02, 2016

A very good experience, but if it could've helped me to find a job it would have been even better.

von Barnabás N

Feb 25, 2016

Pretty great course for a total beginner!

von Antonio B M

Dec 24, 2015

Great course

von Alejandro M G M

Oct 31, 2017

Beautiful. : 3 Really enjoyed it

von Crystal F

Feb 01, 2016

best course...ever!

von Amanda W

Mar 22, 2016

Enjoyable course with engaging presentation. I really enjoyed the assignments which encouraged me to actually try out the concepts, without getting too hung up on it being perfect. I also appreciated the assignment examples that were provided - it helped give me a guide as to how detailed or not I should be each week, and gave me

von Rodrigo G d C

Mar 10, 2016

Great Course, highly recommended, great explanations and nice ideas to help you think diffently about level and world design, concise and clear and has creative exercises. Loved it.

von Andy R

Jan 27, 2017

awsome!!

von Jeremy K

Jun 29, 2016

Fantastic! The coursework and lessons were designed to get you started building the framework for your game world. The course got me started on my new game!

von 万锦阳

May 04, 2017

I really like it! It helped me to established the abilities to create a game-world.

von Michael J

Mar 25, 2016

explanation of fundamenals

von Alisson P G d S

Jun 16, 2017

Too Much!!

Very, very good.

von Wallace N O

Jan 20, 2016

an awesome course.... each one is being better than the last... fantastic!

von Emil E

Sep 25, 2017

Very good.

von Fernando S M

Dec 17, 2015

Realy good one!

von Ana A

Dec 17, 2015

Excellent course! I studied animation but I didn't know much of the world aspect for game design. This course it's also helpful for animation field.

von Luis E

Mar 31, 2018

loved it, great resource material, and great teacher.