Chevron Left
Zurück zu Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Wonders of Ancient Egypt von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
874 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top-Bewertungen

VE

10. Juli 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

SJ

13. Apr. 2022

It is a great second part of the series of courses about Egypt from Prof. David. Silverman. Highly recommend the course to all those who found value in the first course from the same professor.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 289 Bewertungen für Wonders of Ancient Egypt

von Lyndsey B

18. Apr. 2022

Interesting to learn about. The only thing I didn't care for was how the quizzes looked on my computer, it was spaced all weird, and hard to tell where the question ended and where the choices began.

von Isabela A L

4. Mai 2022

S​uper interesting content, but at times Dr.Silverman is a bit monotone and lacks expressions during his explanations. Other than that, it was wonderful and a pleasure to be able to participate!

von Christine B

19. Juni 2018

Excellent course even if the delivery is a bit dry. The content is top notch from an expert with plenty of visual aids. Time well spent if you like history and/or Ancient Egypt.

von Gail M

3. Juni 2021

Excellent Course - found it fascinating

Like the first course, I do suggest that the notes be proofed and corrected although for the most part I could figure out the errors

von Maria C F L

27. Mai 2020

Interesting course although I was expecting more discussions on the actual wonders instead of an introduction to the art, religion, language and history of ancient egypt.

von plann

25. Juli 2019

I chose ancient Egyptian history because I wanted to see the Pyramids, the Nile River. Now, after understanding the culture here, there is a sense of awe in my heart.

von Celeste H

27. Juni 2018

This was a great course to do! Quick and easy! Sometimes I found the lectures weren't quite linear and became a bit confusing, but it was really fun to learn!

von Miguel P

19. Feb. 2021

Highly interesting and well exposed. It really open the appetite for further knowledge of such amazing subject.

Congratulations to everyone involved!!!!

von Myvanwy W

12. Dez. 2019

i enjoyed this more than the last ancient Egypt course, I think the delivery was better. Overall well organised and easy to follow

von Elizabeth L

22. Jan. 2018

Loved the amount of information in this course. I have always been fascinated by Egypt and it ancient dynasties. Thanks :)

von Krzysztof B

6. Okt. 2020

The Professor speaks a bit slowly but the problem can be easily solved by going onto 1.25 or even 1.50 speed.

von Imanuel

3. März 2019

Despite feeling like a bit of a basic entry-level course, I learned a lot of new things. Great quality MOOC.

von Lorenzo G

12. Juli 2020

It was really great to get a close insight into Ancient Egyptian history, culture and rituals

von rishad m

21. Juli 2021

A great course on Egypt and a must for every student of Egyptian history and civilisation.

von Reggie W

9. Juni 2021

Too many videos. Quizzes often had some obscure questions. Need some interactive lessons.

von Simone H

29. März 2020

interesting information, but I had to play the videos in 2x speed bc he talked so slow

von David O C

16. Mai 2020

Excellent course in Egyptian culture, language, artifacts, and archeology research.

von Miss L

3. Apr. 2019

Unenthusiastic and talks a little slow. 2x speed fixes it tho lol

von Varun N

26. Mai 2020

The course was concise and is highly recommended for beginners

von Clotilde D

2. Feb. 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

von Jennifer A

25. Jan. 2021

Great information dispersed in small segments.

von Susan A

14. März 2018

Fascinating! Glad I took this one.

von John T R

18. Juli 2022

I​nteresting and well organized

von bishwaksen b

11. März 2018

Nice course,really enjoyed it

von Tara D

20. Juli 2022

I really like this course.