Chevron Left
Zurück zu Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
5,839 Bewertungen
1,178 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Nov 03, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

JH

Jun 14, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course, which helped me build the knowledge foundation of business metrics and other basics. The capstone is very helpful for me to have a taste of business case analytics.

Filtern nach:

776 - 800 von 1,145 Bewertungen für Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

von Jonathan G

Jan 04, 2016

This is a very quick and effective class to teach you the language and concepts within business metrics. You will also hear descriptions of data-related jobs - what are the roles and differences in skills applied - and these jobs are fairly universal across all industries. The portion of this course that could be better is when the professor throws a bunch of math into the content. It is basically irrelevant to this course, and in and of itself it is so rushed and introduced so out of context that it is very confusing.

von Edgar G S

Mar 22, 2019

Very good introductory course to KPIs (metrics), big data, data analysis and its job roles

There should be a proposed solution for the final peer assignment, that is unlocked after the learner completes the final assignment, maybe a little Excel file with numbers could help to make it better

Some little errors on the videos and subtitles, the resource PDFs should be packed in one file of Course Slides / Notes

The Glossary offered in different perspectives is a good idea

von Ha P T

Jun 15, 2018

This course is great on introducing the basic of business metrics that apply for business. But I think this fundamental knowledge is not quite enough to help me identify real-world business problems and provide solutions with detail analysis on my own. It would be much better if the course dives deeper in the business side with a real challenge project. To be honest, I also like Duke University and I'm grateful for the team's hard work.

von Qingdi Z

Mar 07, 2020

I think the course is useful in evaluating the organization's metrics, the instructor also introduced the trend and different roles in modern and big data company. But this course doesn't involve any excel or SQL function, so I marked it as 3 stars mainly because I would like to study some technical skill from the course. But anyway, this is a course worth to learn, especially for the big picture of the business metrics for data.

von Srinivasan K

Jun 14, 2019

The best course for Business Analyst professionals and this course specifically emphasizing on the key elements of core metrics for any organization to succeed in the marketplace.

Great insights on how to derive insights from the data and how to deploy effective models to leverage the best information out of data.

Faculties knowledge is clearly evidenced through their delivery on selected topics.

Enriching learning experience...

von Karen H

Jan 22, 2016

Good introductory material. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because most of the material was not directly relevant to my business world (pharmaceutical development).

Anyone working in a financial environment or in web-based marketing will learn from the business metric examples given.

The investment portfolio metrics are useful for anyone who has personal investments, even if you are not involved in finance professionally.

von Asset O

Jun 03, 2017

Pretty good from a conventional point of view. Am looking forward to the next courses with hands on excel and mysql use. I would contest the value of profit metric as it is too broad and overlaps with the revenue. Have a look at the Theory of constraints for a refreshing non accounting (but reconcilable) view of T, I and OE as well as errors of omission and errors of commission (TDD, IDD) on the risk side

von J A M

Nov 07, 2015

Great course with lots of practical information regarding finding work actually using the material.

More actual case studies and less portfolio theory would have made the course a 5/5. Too much portfolio theory for a class on business analytics: Most people taking this class will never desire to work or have the opportunity to work for an investment bank, so I found it a bit irrelevant.

von Rajkumar A

Jan 05, 2017

The course is good way to start the Data Analytics. Everyone before venturing into Data Analytics with lot off doubts should attend this course and it will clear the doubts.

The teaching team should provide some downloadable slides of the text shown during the presentations. Coursera can recommend for slides similar to slides in Entrepreneurship Course provided by Wharton Online.

von Soni B

May 16, 2017

I provided my review in my final survey. I think the assessment needs to be more detailed, because when reading peer responses it seems that a lot of people didn't grasp the concepts very well. Nor knew how to structure a business proposal. Most answers were "technically" correct because the questions we were grading didn't ask for specifics.

von Justin M

Oct 31, 2015

Lots of great technical information that was accessible for me, a chemist, to understand and integrate. My main complaint is with the presentation. The speaker was so slow that I had to run all videos at 150% speed to keep from falling asleep. Though, since that was possible, it turns out his slow speaking wasn't really an inconvenience.

von Chris W

May 07, 2019

Good course, there have been some changes in the "market" and a few quick updates would be ideal. I do not see where the value is in learning investors and their math, not used in the final projects and not truly relevant to this general course, unless you are a finance, MBA or other such major or looking to take courses with this content.

von Tonita C

Oct 13, 2017

The course was full of key, relevant topics. The videos were well produced and included helpful examples to explain the material/concepts being taught. The only suggestion I have is to include more hands-on examples for students to work through, especially related to the calculation of the financial business metrics. Interesting course!

von Tyler J C

Mar 03, 2016

This is a great course. Very helpful in understanding Business Metrics better and at helping create a foundation in big business and data. Some of the videos around the specific numbers were a little vague on what was an example and what was an actual metric. All things considered, still well worth the time, money and effort! :)

von Thomas W

Apr 20, 2016

This course provides an good introduction to common business metric. It provides real world and fiction example that help solidify the concepts being introduced. The lectures are easy to follow and quizzes help reinforce what student learn. The concept that I've learn will definitely help advance my career in business analysis.

von Autumn R G

Jan 18, 2016

This is a great course, and a wonderful introduction to the world of Business Metrics. I did wish it was more data driven (in that I really thought there would be more Excel work), but I'm glad that I took this course because despite the lack of data in numbers it has set me up to do well in the rest of this specialization.

von Jan C

Mar 22, 2020

I liked the course, especially the explanation of different business roles and the cash flow case study. That was amazing. My only objection would be thattThe topics covered are kind of not very interlinked (of course they relate to each other, but it seemed to me a bit too much of jumping from one topic to another).

von Breanna B

Dec 01, 2015

I enjoyed this course because it opened up a nice array of new concepts in a clear and understandable way. It's always refreshing to find a well-planned course on Coursera.

This is not to say that the course couldn't use a little bit of tweaking though. There are still a few areas where things could be made clearer.

von carl n

Aug 10, 2016

The metrics introduce is broad, but it helps you with the idea of how businesses function in this modern world. We were also introduced to theoretical business for which an attention to business metrics is important. It is good for those who have a technical quantitative background, but no business background.

von Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

This course being an introductory to Specialization, doesn't stand so good alone. What I really liked were the real-world examples of companies. As introductory course it was fine, but id didn't contain practical assignments (as following in Specialization courses do). The structure of the course was ok.

von Thomas S

Sep 27, 2018

I think it would be beneficial to students if there would have been more exercises focused around categorizing metrics. By the end of the course I was not entirely sure how to treat classic accounting metrics that intuitively seem traditional, but are in fact dynamic in certain business contexts.

von Ariana M

Nov 22, 2017

This is definitely an introductory, high-level course. Even so, it covers a number of key foundational concepts used in performing business analyses. I particularly liked the fourth week final assignment which validates how well one understands and can apply the concepts taught during the course.

von Kartik S

Feb 18, 2016

Wonderful course for a starter. However, there were (although very few) points where a more structured approach could have helped making things easier to understand.

But a very helpful course to understand the landscape of the Business Metrics and their application to real-life business problems.

von Liwei Y

Dec 05, 2015

Generally, a very great introduction for business analytic. However, for non-business major or new to business world, this course can be overwhelming because of its frequent usage of business terms. I will recommend you to take basic accounting and basic operation class before taking this one.

von GAELLE K

Jun 14, 2017

This is a great course. Challenging for novice like me but with dedication you get it. The material is accompanied of examples which makes it a lot easier to understand. The professor speaks in a way those who don't have English as their first language can listen and understand.