Chevron Left
Zurück zu Applied Data Science Capstone

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Applied Data Science Capstone von IBM Skills Network

4.7
Sterne
6,133 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with real datasets. You will assume the role of a Data Scientist working for a startup intending to compete with SpaceX, and in the process follow the Data Science methodology involving data collection, data wrangling, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, model development, model evaluation, and reporting your results to stakeholders. You are tasked with predicting if the first stage of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will land successfully. SpaceX advertises Falcon 9 rocket launches on its website, with a cost of 62 million dollars; other providers cost upward of 165 million dollars each, much of the savings is because SpaceX can reuse the first stage. Therefore if you can accurately predict the likelihood of the first stage rocket landing successfully, you can determine the cost of a launch. With the help of your Data Science findings and models, the competing startup you have been hired by can make more informed bids against SpaceX for a rocket launch. This course is the final course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate as well as the Applied Data Science with Python Specialization. It is expected that you have completed all of the prior courses in the specialization/certificate before starting this one, as it requires the application of the knowledge and skills taught in those courses. In this course, there will not be too much new learning, and instead, the focus will be on hands-on work to demonstrate what you have learned in the previous courses. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top-Bewertungen

LD

23. Okt. 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

SG

3. März 2020

Very good capstone project. Learnt lot of insights on how to represent data through out this course.

Very good starting point for ""Data Science" field. I would definitely recommend this course.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 829 Bewertungen für Applied Data Science Capstone

von Jamiil T A

30. März 2019

A must take capstone project. Enroll for it and you will be moved by the project... Very interesting !

von Nam N

16. Sep. 2021

Good, but the last peer assignment, the report slides, that's so weary to do. It took me a week to do that boring task, I think they could make it more interesting with another way.

von Daniel D

22. Sep. 2021

A good level of challenge, didn't need the 50 slide PP.

von Pradyumna V M

30. Okt. 2021

The topic is so far away from what we normally face in the business world that I found it irrelevant. Also, the whole course material (entire Data Science Professional Cert program) needs to be ''audited" for correctness, for example some quiz answers are wrong (therefore when you click the right answer, you get marked wrong), then there are instances of lack of guidance or misguidance in certain lab assignments, leading to hours of wasted time until you figure it out. Anyway it facilitates learning, albeit in a time-intensive way. Lastly, in case you need to quickly contact some instructor to point out anything, it's totally hopeless. Just give up. They make sure you cannot get in touch with a human being live. On the other hand, the course is organized well in terms of topic by topic development; a lot of effort has gone into creating the videos etc. I learned a lot and am happy with what I learned.

von Stefan A

19. Juli 2020

To much focus on the use of the Foursquare API, which is outdated is bit. Other techniques learned in the program are not used, only clustering with K-means. On the other hand, you are forced to experience hands-on reality, when things are just working different then expected (which is meant to be possitive feebback). Week 4 and 5 take a lot of time (far over expected 30 hours, more like 60-80).

von Sobhan A

6. Mai 2020

I can say overall it's a good program. However by reviewing the first few courses, you will get a headache, but the rest courses are very useful. Some parts are really useless for a data scientist and are more useful for programmers, which I recommend you do not put a lot of time on them and skip them as much as you can.

Apart from the material, I think this certificate is really useful for you to get a job. But, if you just want to learn new concepts in data science and do not need a certificate, I recommend you to take other courses other than IBM. There are very good courses on @linkedin Learning.

In this program, IBM pushes you to work only on its platforms which is really annoying and I think this a considerable drawback of this program.

If you spend at least 4-5 hours a day, you'll be able to complete it in 2 months. The subscription is monthly and it's around $50 CAD and you can unsubscribe whenever you want.

von Zach S

15. Mai 2021

This course appears to be all but abandoned by IBM. Many components of the Applied Data Science Capstone are outdated, Pythons scripts won't load, with errors plaguing almost every assignment. The only assistance you'll find is two to three year old forum posts, unanswered, from students who had to overcome the same errors with strange workarounds. Not to mention, the instructions are abysmal. It's almost as if the creators of this course have never actually had a homework assignment, and simply don't know how to compose a homework assignment, or they didn't take the time to actually do it themselves. Again, lackluster data science course from IBM, that they themselves don't care about.

von PRZEMYSLAW G

7. Dez. 2021

While I rate highly the first 4 classes of the course, the 5th which is the final project is a joke.

There, you have to gather the info and make the predicition. Yet, you have a sample of, warning, 90 records and using ML models for that is a WASTE!

Also, the 5th does not treat crucial parts of DS jobs like feature engineering, picking right models or smply fitting the data correctly. In some cases it is not even there.

I do am sorry to grade it as 1/5 but the gem course class should be done better, way better.

von Daniel B

4. Nov. 2021

Utterly frustrating. Materials / deliverables change regularly so you I've ended up needing to restart twice. Course is poorly curated, basically just leaving you to debug code rather than really teaching you about data science.

Moderators ignore you (or simply don't exist?)

I regret being on this course for such a long time and wasting so much money. There are much better courses out there. This doesn't deserve the IBM brand.

von Javier J

20. Aug. 2020

There are a lot of things wrong with this course: The labs need to be updated, we are asking to do something that didn't work in the labs. We are also ask to submit links, and the submission box does not allow clickable links. The Quizzes that doesn't show the question, the all or nothing peer reviewers, all of this is in the discussion forums, but there is not enough support staff.

von Varun C

6. Aug. 2020

One star for the fact that the Lab notebooks were flooded with errors, you would need more time fixing the errors rather than going through them,

Also, in peer graded assignments, some of the links submitted aren't processed as hyperlinks and cannot be copy pasted either, so there's no way to view them.

Very bad experience on this one.

von Dennis M K

11. Okt. 2020

This obscene deadlines are impossible to say the least. If you wanted us to pay you the two months immediately you could have just stated it on the terms... I would rather pay all the three months worth of tuition immediately than wait almost to months to finish this course.

von Kendall L

23. Mai 2020

This was the most frustrating course I have taken on Coursera. The foursqure api is not up to date and I had to waste hours of my life fixing the bugs.

von Sohini S

30. Dez. 2021

Unnecessairily complicated. Here to learn Python..not how to connect files from here and there

von Rashad B

2. Dez. 2021

pushing ibm watson studio too hard, i lost all interested in this course.

von Gurvinder S

4. Mai 2021

peer reviewing is worst

von Muhammad F S

9. Mai 2020

It has been a fantastic journey of completing the 9 course specialization over the past two months!

I practically started with no prior exposure to data science but learned a lot of useful Python skills, tips-and-tricks, and knowledge about data science. The course material and instructors were excellent, and the Jupyter Notebooks were very challenging at times - at least for someone who had left programming around 15-years ago.

The specialization, as it says, is of beginner level but would definitely equip the students to move forward on their own in their quest for data science.

I would suggest adding courses on probability and statistics, linear algebra, and calculus in the specialization.

von Olin H K

16. Mai 2020

What a wild ride! The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate was my first exposure to coding and Data Science. The courses prior to the Capstone really do give you enough rope where you can do some cool stuff for the Capstone Project. Throughout the program, I learned where to go when I needed to teach myself something, while I was exposed to the basics.

I'm probably not normal, but I spent 40 or so hours on the capstone project itself. Lots of Frustration at times, but lots of fun as well and I was proud of what I was able to accomplish.

von Hayford T

13. Mai 2020

When I started this course I didn't know how fast I could grab these concepts in Data Science, it has been a challenging journey, especially learning a new programming language Python with all the libraries and packages, but Don't underestimate the little efforts, It leads to greatness. Now through Coursera and IBM I can boast courses that has prepared and given me head start into my new career. Coursera has made it possible for me to study at my own pace. This is amazing!, it worth recommending!.

von Dario N

17. Mai 2021

The whole certificate is fantastic. It teaches you a great overview in many data science skills.

However, if you live in Germany, it will not help you get a job in the field at all - I mean AT ALL. It's completely worthless. You either need work experience in the filed or a Bachelors or Masters degree in statistics or computer science, but then again, you wouldn't need this certificate. So it's a great course to learn things, but it's a poor course to enhance your job opportunities.

von Henry W

28. Jan. 2021

This capstone course is what you make of it. I reviewed several final submissions (we are required to review one and optionally can review several). Some people made the extra investment to do more than just apply the labs to other cities, they really learned by applying all the past learning and doing a project to apply and showcase their learning. There is lots to learn and apply here. My advice is for you to invest all you can so you can showcase your abilities!

von Atfy I Z

27. Apr. 2020

A great course that tests your skills to apply your cumulative knowledge on Data Science since you embarked on the Programme.

As for me, even though I don't intend to become a full-fledged Data Science, this course along with the Specialisation Programme provide sufficient understanding and practical hands-on learning to better appreciate benefits and constraints of Data Science, particularly on the importance of data and machine learning ability.

von Dayli S

30. Apr. 2020

I really like using everything I learned into my own example built from the beginning to end. I felt a little bit unsecured with the assignment at the beginning, because I was really a beginner in Python before I started this course. But it encouraged me a lot to finish it and to learn more. Now I have a basis and a lot of information, that I need to sort out. I am planning to do more Python courses and continue practicing.

von Julien P

23. Feb. 2020

Great to put into action the theoretical knowledge acquired in the previous 8 classes. What could be improved? The peer-rating system can be very slow. A common practice is to go on the forum to beg for a rating by another learner. This can be tiring.

von Manik K

27. Apr. 2020

Excellent chance to push in every concept learnt so far. Best thing about the course is the chance to self identify a problem and find the solutions all by ourselves. Great Content. Thanks !