Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 von University of Virginia

4.8
789 Bewertungen
215 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top-Bewertungen

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 215 Bewertungen für The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

von Anubhav R

Apr 23, 2018

Loved the way the course is structured. Enjoyed and understood all of it very well.

von Santiago M

Nov 17, 2015

El profesor es muy bueno, aprendí demasiadas cosas acerca de historia moderna, además incita a seguir estudiando y profundizando en temas muy interesantes.

Gracias.

von Celia F

Jan 12, 2017

This is one of the best history courses I've ever taken. Great material and structure that allow you to identify the global and local; social, political and economic situations.

von Charles G

Mar 17, 2017

Just like Part One, this course was simply awesome! I really appreciated the professor's approach and I enjoyed the videos, always looking for the next one to know more about the "story". I've learned a lot and I regret that it's over! I wish the professor would offer other courses, going into more detailson some specific aspects or moments in history.

von Elijah D S

Jun 20, 2017

Taking this course was interesting. ALot i didn't know.

von Andrew O

Apr 18, 2018

Like the first part this was outstanding. Even if you know a lot about history this will help you put more of it together and understand how international and local forces work to influence events. Rather than the usual focus on the what, there is an intense focus on the why.

von n.atalie

Oct 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course so much as it provides great videos and the quizzes are great instruments in order to revise my learning progress.

von mary h

Feb 27, 2018

Prof. Zelikow is fantastic. Easily one of the best instructors I've experienced in my 4 years in college and 2 years of additional school work and countless work-related seminars. My awareness has increased e.g.; I was drawn to watch the PBS Frontline programs on the Suadi Arabia / Iran "squabble"; my choice in reading material has altered, as has my perception of current world news reports. He actually makes students THINK!

von Maria C É Á

May 22, 2017

Excellent course ! Very interesting theme and approach to the different subjects in analysis. Professor Zelikow has very good communication skills and has a way of presenting difficult subjects in a "easy" way.

The course has (in my opinion) a solid, well defined structure, presents different approaches to debatable subjects, invites us to develop critical reflection, provides the student with a wide range of data and gives us tools to understand so much of what happens in the world on this very moment.

This is history and teaching: serious work, hard work studying and analyzing the video texts (it took me almost twice the time of study indicated as a reference) and an enormous pleasure in doing it. Thank you Professor Zelikow.

von Elena T

Oct 07, 2017

Thank you for the course. It was very interesting to brush up my knowledge.

von Poorit L

Sep 02, 2017

good course and good professor

von Andrew F

Dec 08, 2017

Well presented and extremely interesting course.

von Steven C

Dec 21, 2017

A great, encompassing course on the global history of the past century. Professor Zelikow is a fantastic lecturer and has plenty of experience from his time as a diplomatic and government official. Highly recommended if you're interested in history.

von John S S I

Mar 20, 2016

I am changing my review because to do otherwise would be untrue to the Professor who has done a damn good job. Because of him, this course is superb. Coursera is untrue to its representations about the course, which is unfortunate and I will rate them one star, but I can't allow that to diminish the quality of the Professor or the Course. Coursera has taken the position that Part Two is completely different from Part One and different rules apply. I always thought that if you offer something in parts, any disclaimer regarding the parts had to be disclosed prior to someone taking Part 1 and the disclaimer had to apply to all parts.

Just be warned that Coursera apparently has taken the position that it can create a totally separate entity and name it as Part 2 and that gives them the right to govern Part 2 differently from the way it governed Part 1. I know that Coursera has many fine Universities that participate in its online studies programs and that a number of those institutions have exceptional law schools. UVA's law school is one of the very best in the country and I would strongly recommend to Coursera that they contact the law professor who teaches consumer law and run this matter by them to find out the potential consequences of what they are doing. 5 Stars to the course, to Professor Zelikow, and to the University of Virginia. Negative Stars to Coursera and the folks who made the decision to change the rules for Part 2 of the 2 Part Course!!

von Abiven J C

Sep 12, 2016

W

von JOSEPH E

May 26, 2017

Some very tough subject matter but delivered brilliantly! Would love to see more courses like this!

von Michal F

Oct 29, 2017

Very interesting take on the last 2 centuries - put in a holistic form, very well thought trough. Excellent course and a great instructor.

von Nicola F

May 27, 2017

I have really enjoyed this course. It has made me think, understand more of the issues that have happened in my lifetime & before & made me keen to learn more.

von Beka K

Jul 07, 2017

As I have said about previous part of this course, I will revise and say, that it is very informative and hard-working course. But I will add, that professor Philip Zelikow is deeply interactive throughout the entire course and I will miss his pretty high quality and amazing lectures. And for now, it is a great pleasure and honor for me to be the part of University of Virginia. I highly recommend this course to you, guys, from the whole world.

von jorge e j d

Apr 18, 2018

Excelente

von Admario L R

Feb 06, 2016

Really outstanding course: clear, engaging and thoughtful. Prof. Zelikov knows how put complex subjects and historical situations in a most clear perspective without being superficial.

von Gerold M

Oct 31, 2015

Absolutely top course in every respect. Highly recommendable.

von Mark C

Sep 18, 2017

This is an excellent course. Thomas Jefferson would be proud of this University of Virginia course.

von Heather Z

Sep 26, 2017

Wonderfully taught! Not just what happened but why it happened. This course, part one and part two, have really turned the light on for me, to see the significance of people's choices and how deeply every choice influences another

von Charles D L

Mar 07, 2017

b