Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator von Yale University

4.9
Sterne
2,982 Bewertungen
902 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top-Bewertungen

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 898 Bewertungen für Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

von Dilyana D T

Dec 04, 2015

Totally not what I expected. Most of it was concerned with mathematical problems.

von Massimiliano B

Feb 19, 2020

I do Not understand Videos to be recorded. I abandondened the course

von Ekaterina V

Aug 22, 2015

Too much mathematic approach

von Maria I A

May 18, 2020

This was a great introduction course to negotiation. I can definitely say I now have better principles and tips for negotiating situations. Of course this is probably not the course for someone whose job is to negotiate as its daily task (and even for those, it might be helpful), but it definitely provides some insights that every person should have as a citizen. This will give you tips to benefit you in future negotiations, but most of all, it will teach you to be fair, honest and win a negotiation in a healthy way. The math of it might be considering advanced for some, but I don't think you have to understand all the formulas and equations behind it, if you can get a general sense of what is being taught. I definitely reccomend this course to have it on your CV, and to give you some tips on how to confront possible future situations of your life like negotiating a house, or a better salary. All the people that contribute to this course are expert in the matters and it's great to hear from them. In addition, this course is super interactive, easy to follow, and it promotes "learning by doing", by connecting you to other people, all over the world, who are also taking this course, for simulations of real negotiations, which allows you to practice what you learned in a chill environment, where there's nothing but tremendous learning opportunities. Thank you Professor Barry!

von Krajc, D

Sep 03, 2015

Beautiful made lecture. (Be so kind to excuse my miserable English. It is still under construction)

After I had to change my proficiency, from being a truck driver to a total different job type by doing sales on telephone, my new boss (new and different company) urged me. She urged me, to invest in my private time learning how to make money on the phone. Instead of irritating potential customers by doing weird offers.

After a good while of understanding, why is the other side willing to invest in products, my wage is remarkably higher. By compare of some weeks before.

I understand also, to invest in ideas which are worth to pay for. And I started with one bought book to learn "Game Theory 101: The Complete Textbook". The other two books are introduced by Prof. Barry Nielbuff.

Yes, my QUIZZ-answers are WRONG. Nevertheless I learn what is going on. And that helps me doing a much better job. With great fun.

Just want to say ...

... Thank you all.

von Even S

May 06, 2020

The course is a good balance of video, quizzes and groupassigments that creates a variated and interactive course!

Videos with controlquestions in the middle or at the end that makes sure you as a learner keeps up with whats going on.

The course altso gives some good insite about different theories within negotioations and deviding assets before going on to solving cases with classmates. The Forums make it easy to find partners in your class and good directions on how to hand in the results in the best way for your peers to grade the quality of your negotioation.

Would recomend this course as the level of effort put in to making it, makes it a great course with lots of learning. A great make by the proffessor and everyone involved!

At the end of the course you have some new tools and views on negotioations and how to devide assets.

An over all good experiance !

von Diego M

Jan 17, 2016

This is one of the most remarkable, useful and well-structured courses I have ever taken, in real life or online. The principles of negotiation are well explained and applied, and the interactions we must develop with our classmates make the experience incredibly friendly and applicable to real life settings. This course has given me a firm ground to approach negotiation problems from a logical perspective, which is never taught at school but which I believe is a fundamental part of a successful career and personal life.

I wish this course had lasted longer and perhaps covered some topics in greater detail--proof that this is an excellent course is that upon finishing I had even more questions on my mind!

Thanks so much Prof. Nalebuff for a truly extraordinary course!

Diego Miranda-Saavedra, PhD

von Dipu J

Jun 19, 2020

Barry has elegantly structured the classes to teach us the basics of negotiation, in a simplest but interesting way, which otherwise would have been quite complex and difficult concept to learn. He helped us to approach negotiations critically rather than emotionally and inculcated the concept of maximizing the pie, being equitable and allocentric. The guest lectures, were stalwarts in the field of negotiations and was quite an experience, understanding their perspective in approaching the negotiations, whether in personal or professional life.

Also, thank you Coursera for helping me to access such classes and versatile faculty/ies from Yale University, which otherwise impossible for me attend

von Peter F

Apr 19, 2020

An excellent course, led by a highly engaging and passionate professor. The course has now been running for a number of years, however Professor Nalebuff is clearly still heavily involved in providing new material and engaging with students.

I was surprised to find some reviewers were critical of the math. Obviously the difficulty is relative, however I don't feel the small amount of math in the first 2 weeks should dissuade anyone from taking the course, and it seemed more a way of providing objective solutions that couldn't be disputed in illustrating the principles being taught.

This is what true learning should be about, and an outstanding effort by Barry Nalebuff and the Coursera platform.

von Ehab A

Sep 29, 2015

Loved this course.

The lecture videos were very clear, well framed, loved the white background and the instructor was always looking at the camera.

The animated illustrations provided made the lecture extremely fun to watch and a lot easier to understand.

Barry is an excellent presenter, well spoken, fun, pleasant and speaks in a welcoming tone.

What I loved about this course is the nature of the assignments which stressed the point of actually doing negotiations with other classmates, it forced me to interact with complete strangers from different countries and review the work of others, which was an immensely pleasant experience.

von Cristina R

Jun 08, 2020

I can only say THANK YOU Prof. Nalebuff!

The course is challenging, interesting, stimulating and helped me learn not only negotiation skills but to understand their wide and useful implications in the real world. I developed a more strategic frame of mind without compromising on aspects such as fairness and mutual parties satisfaction. Thank you for making the course so interactive and interesting, I never felt we were alone in this. I also enjoyed the group projects which helped to push our limits, challenge the concepts we were learning and use them in concrete negotiation cases. I could not recommend this course more.

von yvonneluyifan

Sep 23, 2015

I found this course very helpful and would recommend this course for anyone who wants to improve their negotiation skills. The course uses animation to elaborate complex concepts and assignments for practices. Not like other negotiation skills teaching the tips for negotiation, the thinking logic and principle of the course is highly useful. Besides, there are many recorded role plays for us to see what others do and what we can learn from others. So far this is the best course I've taken at Coursera Platform! I do think Coursera should make some billboard for course recommendations based on students comments.

von Manuel L

May 18, 2020

This course is extremely valuable. It provides a really interesting approach to negotiations, which is really creative and easy to understand. If you are keen on Maths there is also some optional advanced information.

The videos are really proffesionally animated and easy-going. Having live practices with fellow students is enriching and amusing. On top of everything, the advices of experienced negotiators are really valuable treasures.

Another important thing is that the considered study cases cover some situations that might be faced in your professional career. No doubt, I highly recommend this course!

von Stefano M

May 23, 2020

This is an amazing course, wonderfully prepared and giving you super useful skills, applicable not only in deal making. It shows a principled approach to negotiation, framing it in terms of fairness and not as a hard ball game. Besides being an effective method, it provides a constructive approach to negotiation, allowing you to get the desired outcome without compromising on the long-term relationships. As a scientist myself, I very much enjoyed the touch of math and a very quick intro to game theory! Thank you Prof. Nalebuff and all the people who helped you prepare this wonderful experience!

von Ioanna-Maria D

Oct 21, 2018

It is a very interesting course. It gives you an idea of what to think before entering a negotiation, setting your goals, the importance of cooperating with the other person to find a solution that works for both sides, expanding the benefits of a deal. The videos are simple with great visualisations that help you understand the basic concepts of the negotiation. The exercises that you have to do and the quizzes are brilliant and help you understand the material as well as practice with other persons. The professor Barry Nalebuff is great too. I highly recommend this course.

von Shruti K

Jun 06, 2020

Negotiation game upgrade alert 🚀 Thank you Barry Nalebuff #HerbCohen #lindababcock #johnmccallmacbain for a real life learning experience that changed the way I approach negotiations. I am ready to create further value, prepared to achieve desired outcomes in any business situation and make the deals my clients want.Thanks Julan Deden for being a great negotiation partner, we made negotiation fun even if it lasted 10 hours at a time!Coursera & Yale University thanks for making an important skill to have in business and in life available for learning.

von Ganesh Y

Aug 17, 2017

An excellent course, organised by a superb instructor. I would highly recommend this course to anyone with a general interest in negotiation. The course is fun, interesting and constantly challenging. Great care has been taken in the preparation of materials, including the visual appeal of the animations used in videos and the direct dialogue by Prof. Barry Nalebuff. There are tools and exercises that you will find applicable in everyday life, not just in negotiations. This course is worth the Coursera subscription alone. Thanks to all involved.

von Cyril R

May 06, 2020

This is the best course I've done on Coursera so far. All the lectures are amazingly well-designed and Professor Nalebuff is a superb teacher. I started learning this course with the intention of developing my people skills and making me better at negotiations, and I must say that it has paid off.

Once I get my stipend, I am certainly going to buy the certificate for this course. I think that would be the best way to show my admiration for this course, the lecturers and the sheer amount of knowledge that I learned over the past 8 weeks.

von Pedro H P A

Aug 12, 2019

Like the course very much. Among other things, it gives a complementary framework for negotiators, especially for the smaller players under the perspective that even though they might be smaller, a potentially positive agreement for all involved can only be reached if the smaller player also agrees.

This concept allows smaller players to pursue equal parts of the total benefit instead of pre-agreement weight proportionality, under the argument that if the smaller does not agree, the projected benefit will actually not take place.

von Anuroop G

May 03, 2020

I started this course because I believe that negotiation is a very important skill in today's world and after finishing this course I think I have a better outlook on how to approach a negotiation. This course clears all the basic, one needs to know in order to prepare for a negotiation. The exercises were practical which helped a lot. And we even got some different insights from other professional negotiators. Overall I believe this course is really beneficial for someone who really wants to learn about negotiation.

von Yuriy K

Apr 17, 2017

Absolutely an amazing course. This course is educational , entertaining with clever videos and an incredible lecturer and so so practical with skype negotiations and so much amazing material. I can not recommend this course enough it is priceless. I am already applying what I learned and it is fantastic. I think even if you did half of the course you would learn so much applicable life changing material.Thank you to Barry Nalebuff and Yale University and every one who helped put this course together! Thank you.

von Oscar E S

Aug 30, 2017

This was the best negotiation course I ever took in my 32 years of business career. Professor Barry Nalebuff really did a great job in compiling experiences in business, and in didactically presenting this in a Distance Training Internet Course. A note to all young people starting a career: I am convinced, that if I had taken this course earlier in my career and in life, many things would have been much better--I suggest you take this opportunity right now and be surprised on how simple it is!

von Tanya

May 30, 2020

It is a very interesintg, useful and effective course, which after finishing it will help both at work and in life. It might be felt that it is quite complicated for those, who are not native speakers, but with time when you go dipper and dipper, you become more and more engaged into it and you can't stop doing it. The Professor is remarkable! The tasks are creative and aspirational. Highly recommend to those, who wants to get more practical and professional knowledge in the negotitations art.

von Dwarkanath P

Feb 25, 2016

Absolutely loved the course! Watched every lecture. Professor Barry Nalebuff is a great teacher. His enthusiasm towards the subject matter is noteworthy. Didn't feel like a 11 hours course at all. Maybe because I played it on 1.5x ;).

The course helped me understand a great deal of theory on negotiation. I compared the course content to my experience in negotiations and found the mistakes I was making. I'll try to correct those in future negotiations.

I'd recommend the course to everyone!

von Sandeep V

Jul 04, 2020

One of the best course on Negotiation strategies. Though this being my very 1st course, the course content was well covered & all the concepts were explained in detail with animations and diagrams where ever necessary.That helped in easy explanation & understanding of even some difficult content. The case studies were excellent in the way they were carried out with anonymous peers. We had exchanged ideas & helped provide inputs which made the course even more interacting & interesting.