Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
2,894 Bewertungen
764 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 756 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Ricardo C L

Apr 07, 2016

Fabuloso, se aprende mucho de la visión de los artistas y de que es lo que quieren transmitir con esas imágenes. Un curso muy interesante y con una información muy detallada de cada artista o serie fotográfica.

Muy recomendable!

von Mary M T C

Apr 14, 2020

Definitely an eye-opener! An eye-opener not only to the intentions and personal meanings brought by photographers on the images they created but to the ability of one's self to understand the history of images presented to us.

von Adnan H

Apr 08, 2020

Its a wonderful journey of understanding images and there impact on our lives. Equally recommended for general family curator to a professional photographer. and yes art lovers it a gift! Thank you MoMA, thank you coursera!

von Doris A V N

Aug 23, 2017

Grandioso curso! Muy completo, fácil de entender y nos brinda lecturas, vídeos, ejercicios para comprensión de cada tema. Es una excelente herramienta para adentrarnos al conocimiento básico de la historia de la fotografía!

von Simone M

Apr 26, 2017

I Really loved this course,

It introduced me new keywords,language,different way to analysed a

piece of art and specially New Photographers that

actually i've been at the exhibit while i was Studying it.

Highly recommended

von MONTALAND

Oct 31, 2016

Excellente pédagogie, avec une rigueur historique et des intervenants de qualité.

Une façon artistique et historique de découvrir les enjeux liés à la pratique de la photo.

Merci

Gilles MONTALAND

gilles.montaland@gmail.com

von Olga G

Jun 28, 2016

This is the first online course I have ever done, and I guess I couldn't have chosen better. It's gripping, thoroughly prepared, there is a grand variety of materials that accompany every lesson. I highly recommend it!

von Nuno B

Feb 08, 2017

I really enjoyed the Course. It's very well organized and it has a very interesting syllabus. The videos and talks in each module are really interesting and informative. And all the recommended readings wvery helpful.

von Nidibou P | N B

Apr 12, 2020

The course will probably help you learn something new about photography. In my case, it was even more interesting, since I was looking for new ways of getting inspired, during the covid-19 isolation and I found many.

von Jennifer D

Dec 12, 2016

I loved this course! So inspiring and wonderful. Makes you want to pick up your camera and apply what you have learned. I know the photography class I teach will love looking at the work of the artists featured here.

von Yi H

May 27, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. The new perspectives and focus on different aspect of image that I never thought about and that helps me to look photography in more sensitive way. Thank you MoMA and Coursera!

von Arkadiusz K

Apr 10, 2020

The course is very good. I read a lot of information about different photographers and their work , photos shape our lives and views so we should be careful while looking at some photos and what message is included.

von Jorge A L

May 08, 2020

Excelente medio de formación a través de una institución como el MOMA y sus encargados de fotografía. Material tremendamente ameno y didáctico. Ambiente agradable entre compañeros de estudios.

Muy recomendable.

von Csiki A

Oct 30, 2018

I would lie if I declare, that completing this “ophthalmologic photo-language course” gives me the superpower to "really see through" photographs printed on hard barite paper. But I had a lot of fun :) Thanks

von Karlis P

Mar 02, 2018

Thank you for putting this course up on coursera. I really appreciate the amount of work that has been put into it. The results is both educational and entertaining. I have already recommended this to friends.

von Carla

May 08, 2020

Fantastic course! Loved every minute and enjoyed it so much. Thank you MoMa and Sarah Meister for creating this wonderful course which has taught me and incredible amount about photography and how to view it.

von Luis B

Apr 03, 2017

I really enjoyed the course, the way it is structured, the clarity of concepts and the agility to go from one topic to another.

I learned a lot and I want to enroll in more courses with you.

Thank you very much

von Elian J A

Feb 06, 2018

Wonderful and comprehensive course content, great selection of issues, supported by wonderful material. Lots of interesting food for thought, fascinating history, and brilliant artists and works to discover!

von Sebastian P

Oct 20, 2016

It is a great study program for photography. I want to congratulate the whole staff of MOMA for this complete and marvelous description of the history of this medium along with the current exploration of it.

von Eva F

Mar 17, 2016

Very interesting introduction to the history of photography as a medium to see and interpret reality. A rich bibliography with extracts from MoMA catalogues and photography classic books. Great experience!

von Panagiotis C

Dec 09, 2016

The material of this course is of high quality. Well designed and presented. Highly recommended to anyone wishing to gain some basic knowledge on the historically conscious body of the photographic world.

von Giuseppina T

Oct 06, 2016

It was a very interesting experience! Great authors and professors. I learned a lot and I hope this platform will help people to increase their photographic culture, like it did to me!! Enjoy the course!

von OLAF D G

May 18, 2020

Seeing Through Photographs is a very well structured course. It gives you a complete understanding of photography history and its application through different times and furthermore in contemporary art.

von Ricardo T M

May 01, 2020

A great course offered by MoMA. I really liked the general content of the course, full of historical information and full of articles and resources from important people in the world of art photography.

von Nirandhi G

Oct 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the modules in the course, especially the one about documentary photography. I liked how the last module brought in the contemporary world too. Great course, very helpful and educating.