Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
4,015 Bewertungen
1,060 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ
8. März 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD
25. Dez. 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 1,055 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Eva F

17. März 2016

Very interesting introduction to the history of photography as a medium to see and interpret reality. A rich bibliography with extracts from MoMA catalogues and photography classic books. Great experience!

von Panagiotis C

9. Dez. 2016

The material of this course is of high quality. Well designed and presented. Highly recommended to anyone wishing to gain some basic knowledge on the historically conscious body of the photographic world.

von Giuseppina T

6. Okt. 2016

It was a very interesting experience! Great authors and professors. I learned a lot and I hope this platform will help people to increase their photographic culture, like it did to me!! Enjoy the course!

von OLAF D G

18. Mai 2020

Seeing Through Photographs is a very well structured course. It gives you a complete understanding of photography history and its application through different times and furthermore in contemporary art.

von Ricardo T M

1. Mai 2020

A great course offered by MoMA. I really liked the general content of the course, full of historical information and full of articles and resources from important people in the world of art photography.

von Nirandhi G

18. Okt. 2016

I really enjoyed the modules in the course, especially the one about documentary photography. I liked how the last module brought in the contemporary world too. Great course, very helpful and educating.

von Elena L

27. Juni 2016

I loved the class. As a photographer sometimes I tend to be very focus in gear and technology. I loved the artist approach of the class. I learn about great photographers and their influence in society.

von JAVIER F F

25. Jan. 2018

It has been an excellent course that allows to learn very interesting concepts about the history of photography, photographic narrative and has allowed me to learn with the works of great photographers

von lisette v e

24. Mai 2020

Inspiring course if you love photography. In 6 weeks time you'll get indepth information about history, techniques, backgrounds on both artist as artworks. Mostly pieces that are acquired by MoMa.

von Aleksander P

1. Juli 2020

I am very grateful to the group of creators from MoMA who prepared this course for the gigantic work done and for putting their heart into it. We, students, are really appreciate it! Thank You :)

von Arely F O

23. Mai 2019

Is a excellent curse for understand better the history of the photography. Every photo represent perfectly the topic in the week. MoMA give the best information for learn and analize the themes.

von Giselle S

22. Aug. 2018

It´s a full course about all aspects of photography which has changed my perspective and placed me in other level. I´m grateful for beeing able to take it. My sincere compliment to all involved.

von Matias M S

20. Juni 2020

If you're a photographer or you're interested in photography's history, this will be great for you. You get the chance to know about many photographers and different themes of the media itself.

von Wong K K H

12. Mai 2020

This course has brought me into a new perspective in seeing photos. A very inspiring course which has in-depth of how others making the photos and how the photos interpret the time and history.

von Silvia M

19. Apr. 2020

wonderful course!very interesting ,I think is the best for improve your skills.i want to say a big thank you to Sarah and all the MoMa team for the lessions,the unique material and the video.

von Washington M M

27. Juni 2018

I have gained a lot of knowledge with this course. The content of each module helped me to deepen the aspects of intellectual creation presented by each image. It has simply been enlightening.

von Claudio V

3. Juni 2020

I loved this course. Built very well and has dealt with all the issues in a complete and exhaustive way, it has allowed me to open my mind to new and interesting interpretations. Really good.

von Diego S

20. Apr. 2020

A highly professional course, which certainly helps the student to expand his photographic knowledge as well as his creativity.

The reflections will not fail.

Thanks for the opportunity MOMA.

von Antonella B

18. Aug. 2017

Wonderful. To get into Moma archives has been incredible. Interviews are so interesting. Really grest course. Couldn't imagine such a gift! Thank YOU. From the heart.

Antonella, Rome. Italy.

von Emanuele P

16. Mai 2020

I appreciated the amount of material we could study. Videos, texts, pictures. Everything was well explained and videos had subtitles in many languages. The topics are really interesting.

von Mattia R

22. Apr. 2020

Really interesting course, it changed my mind about the comprension of the photography's world. Thank you so much for the opportunity for me to learn new things about this wonderful topic.

von Amanda W

22. März 2016

Very comprehensive overview of photography - I learned a lot more than I expected given the time frame. There were a lot of resources and readings, and I enjoyed the fact that the quizzes

von Amapola F

4. Aug. 2020

This course was a great experience. I think anyone can take it and enjoy it, regardless of what their background may be. It is fun, interesting, and inspiring. I definitely recommend it!

von Danielle C

2. Juni 2020

Absolutely wonderful. This historical overview challenges your mind and allows you to think outside of the box. Also, your views on photography will be thoroughly enhanced. Try it today!

von Jake M V G

25. Feb. 2020

i loved this course, i learned a lot and could comparate photographers with different view and type of shape of art. i hope that in a future will have more free courses. thanks you moma!