Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
857 Bewertungen
224 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 216 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Well paced, interesting course

von Aimi I

May 09, 2016

very useful and helpful course. I know more about philosophy since taking this course, which is the objective. therefore it is successful.

von Susan F

Aug 17, 2017

I found this course excellent, the lectures were interesting and inspiring and very helpful to get into the philosophy. The reading was challenging and thought provoking. The quizzes were very good and necessary in helping to absorb the knowledge. Long ago when I was a college student I studied languages, literature and history. I have had some very good professors and professor Mayer lives up to the excellence one hopes for in a course. Thank you. Sincerely, Susan Farranto

von Saúl A

Jan 30, 2017

This is a very interesting and complete course. Totally recomendable.

von Virginia S

Sep 30, 2016

I loved this course and am taking the next one in the series. I learned so much, I took so much more away from the readings than working on it on my own. I want to profoundly thank the people who took the time to put this course together, in particular the professor. Her cogent lectures and intermittent quizzes kept me paying attention and on my toes. Thank you!

von Stephen W

Mar 08, 2017

Wonderful course! Can't wait to start Part 2 of the series...

von John F

Mar 31, 2016

Excellent!! I can't say enough good things about the professor. She does an amazing job explaining the more complex ideas and concepts in a way that is clear and very easy to understand. Great course so far.

von JOHN Q

Feb 18, 2016

Interesting, well taught, and enjoyable course!

von Francisco J J

Apr 10, 2016

Outstanding course!

von Rebecca R

Apr 18, 2016

The videos were great! The professor was engaging and the content was thought-provoking. The quiz questions throughout the videos were also good to make sure you were capturing the main points. I am currently working on the second part of this course. I would love to see some additional philosophy courses by this professor. Maybe even a specialization... :)

von mansurni a

Mar 16, 2016

awesome course

from this course i understand deeper about philosophy of greece

von Arijit D

Apr 02, 2016

Excellent course, a brief survey of pre-Socratic philosophy.

von George C M

Mar 24, 2016

Well structured course that gives an excellent background to the basis of ancient philosophy.

von ANDRES R P D

May 08, 2018

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

von Sohini B

Feb 21, 2016

The lectures are excellent and interesting.

von Ilya K

Mar 10, 2016

One of the best structured intro course on Plato and pre-socratics.

von David F J N

Feb 18, 2016

D.T.

von Levan K

Mar 10, 2016

Great introduction to ancient philosophy. Now we need an advanced course!

von Sylvia H K

Jun 20, 2016

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

von Matija K

Feb 15, 2017

Superb! Simple yet not simplistic. Nicely and clearly presented, with all the most important ideas covered. Perfect introduction.

von 王若寒

Sep 14, 2016

A systematic and informative course to start with ancient Greek philosophy.

von Nicolas L C

Apr 11, 2017

This is a great introduction to Ancient philosophy for all of those who want to obtain more knowledge about the invaluable legacy of the Greek miracle !

I deeply recommend this course, which brought be excellent additional material in Ancient philosophy useful to every philosophy student but also to anyone who wants to acquire in depth general knowledge of the roots of our civilisation, the whole brilliantly taught in a rigorous and entertaining fashion !

Thank you Professor Meyer !

von Daniel S

Sep 28, 2016

Curse was clear, and well presented via Coursera. Certain lecturers do great over the net, some not so ... this proessor was very well prepared for the course content, givne in shorter lectures with intermittant questions to keep you enageged. SImple, effective.

von Jibran T

Feb 25, 2016

Profound and thoroughly insightful.

von Shikhar

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent platform for attaining "wisdom" in its rawest form...Love it!