Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
852 Bewertungen
221 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 214 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Sage F

Aug 18, 2018

Awesome course! One little notice though. I don't think the indicated time of the reading assignments are accurate. I am not good as skimming but I am confident that I read faster than average people. They definitely take longer than 10 min, so do consider that when making your schedule.

von Jaclyn

Nov 29, 2018

Fantastic course. I know the English translation of the text is hard to follow sometime, but Professor Meyer breaks it down wonderfully. The best part about this philosophy course is that it's strictly about the Plato, Socrates, and the written material. The past philosophy lectures I've heard from professors but their personal opinion and interpretation of the text. I don't care about your personal philosophy I care about Plato and Socrates! Again take this course, Professor Meyer is fantastic!

von Luiz C M D

Apr 15, 2019

Um curso introdutório ao tema e as problemáticas da filosofia antiga. Recomendo para aqueles que nunca tiveram contato com o assunto e também para aqueles que querem revisar o tema. A metodologia do curso é super didática, o uso das citações e indicações de bibliografia são o forte do curso. Enfim, recomendo!

von Antonia T B

Apr 15, 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

von Garry S

May 01, 2019

Fantastic course. Great content. Just what I was looking for!

von Nancy M

Apr 18, 2019

outstanding

von Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

von James D R

Jun 14, 2019

I really liked how this course provided me with plenty of reading and then lectures that supported that reading. It helped to make quite abstract ideas as easy to grasp as possible. It really did what I wanted, which was to provide me with a basic understanding of ancient philosophy.

von Matías I V N

Jun 29, 2019

good choise

von Germán K

May 17, 2019

Una muy buena experiencia para ordenar los conocimientos y profundizar las temáticas con la orientación de la profesora Susan Sauvé Meyer.

von Wim K

May 31, 2019

The course is well organised and presented in a pleasant and sober way. I especially liked the reconstructions of the arguments in the text. I enjoyed the written test at the end with the option of writing a variation of the dialogue.

I think reading the texts yourself (obviously in translation) brings a lot of value added. I tried to do it before listening to the lectures. That got more and more difficult, as actually reading the texts was too much and the texts also got gradually a bit more difficult to read. The indicated time for reading (usually 10 minutes) is not even close to correct.

von Ademilton J D O

Jul 16, 2019

Para mim foi muito bom pois me deu oportunidade de estudar essa ciencia da qual eu amo muito que é a Filosofia muito obrigado e quando eu estiver com tempo quero pode fazer outros.

von Noel G

Jul 16, 2019

I found this course incredibly helpful! My only regret is that I couldn't actually talk to Professor Meyer in person, to ask her more specific question on some of the finer points of the material. I highly recommend to anyone who wants to begin a journey into philosophy, starting from the beginning.

von Valquiria C d s

Jul 26, 2019

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

von Damhan S

Jul 30, 2019

I loved all the reading. We had to read a fair bit for such a short course, and the videos were very on point and helpful. I feel that I better understand, not only Plato and his predecessors, but also Christian theology which was heavily based on Plato. I especially appreciated the study on Republic, which I had considered to be a political treatise when I first read it. I found out later I was wrong about this, but could not understand until I had this instruction. I'm always working to build a bigger understanding of my world, and this course has helped me do this thing.

von Emanuela Z

Aug 03, 2019

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

von David M

Aug 06, 2019

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

von Saikat B

Aug 08, 2019

Clear and comprehensive.

von Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

von Muna A

Apr 23, 2019

Thanks

von Paul A A

Sep 15, 2019

Well done. A little superficial, but a great start.

von Leo B

Aug 29, 2019

A clear and thorough introduction by Susan Meyer. I have enough information as a result to know how little information I have, and look forward to taking Part II!

von Fiona w

Nov 04, 2019

I liked everything but the maths parts!

von Kacper G

Sep 28, 2019

Excellent course