Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
1,334 Bewertungen
404 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

AA
18. Apr. 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL
8. März 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 399 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Stefanos M

17. Jan. 2021

Great lecturer with great background for stuff I should be knowing! I will definitely be back in the next course!

von Sylvia H K

20. Juni 2016

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

von Astra A K

20. Juni 2016

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

von Lisa ( C

12. Feb. 2018

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

von Caroline S d A

22. Mai 2020

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

von Rabeet T

9. Juli 2020

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

von Patrick K

9. Juni 2017

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

von Diane N

6. März 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

von Beatriz m d

14. Juli 2021

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

von Steven B

20. Juli 2020

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

von Chew R

14. Jan. 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

von Hila J

26. Juli 2021

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

von Benson H

2. Aug. 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

von Andrea V

18. Dez. 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

von Ferlin P

19. Feb. 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

von Megan R

13. Apr. 2020

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

von José A G R

15. Sep. 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

von Alejandra T

19. Mai 2020

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias

von Areaba S

17. Mai 2020

It was a wonderful journey of 4 weeks of learning.

Thanks to the Greek legends and Professor Susan.

von Yifei W

18. Aug. 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

von Oscar D

18. Jan. 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

von Mandhir S

22. März 2021

Very nicely done by the Instructor. Just the correct amount of rigor for an introductory course.

von Sajid K

17. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course! Loved the way the instructor explained complex ideas simply.

von Monica B

1. Juni 2020

I have learned a lot about Plato and the philosophers who came before him. Thank you very much!

von Eduardo S P

11. März 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.