Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,097 Bewertungen
310 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 305 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Oskar M G A

May 19, 2019

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

von Chris S

May 20, 2019

This course introduces a new style of programming to what most programmers are familiar with, and has been incredibly eye-opening for me personally. The lectures are delivered in a clear and crisp manner, and the instructor definitely shows enthusiasm for the material. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to broaden their programming skill set.

von Oluwatimilehin

Jun 04, 2019

It's a really great course. The first week can be a bit tough to get through especially if you're from a programming background but I implore you to wait it out. You'll learn a lot about functional programming and learn how to apply those concepts to make you a better programmer.

von Vivekanand G N

Jun 10, 2019

This is a fantastic and ground breaking course. A must in every programmer's toolbox

von Wang G

Aug 13, 2019

Very good course

von Jürgen B

Aug 13, 2019

Great course. Quite useful even for knowledgeable programmers to learn about functional programming concepts.

von Jai B

Jul 08, 2019

Very challenging but very rewarding

von Nha H

Jul 11, 2019

This course was excellent, exceeding my expectations.

von 杨昊翰

Aug 30, 2019

Very informative and inspiring course!

von Vinicius S

Sep 02, 2019

A challenging rewarding course, a must-have for aspiring programmers. I learned a lot.

von xinxiao

Sep 18, 2019

This course is really eye-opening! I find many answers to my questions during my exploration about functional programming language. The presentation is very clear, each piece of information over the course is well-connected with other parts. This course presents programming language as an intriguing subject/topic. A slightly more practical benefit is that this course makes one a better programmer, regardless of the choice of programming language. I definitely hope to see more courses like this.

von Raquel K

Sep 17, 2019

Wonderful course! Really expanded the way I think about programming and I'm looking forward to parts B and C.

von 蔡嘉文

Sep 20, 2019

good introduction to functional programming . sml is a fun language with type checking system and beautiful syntax.

von Iris H

Sep 29, 2019

Excellent course. Very interesting and well-presented material with a lot of thought put into building up the conceptual framework for functional programming and language concepts. I look forward to Part B!

von Zhixia L

Sep 28, 2019

Perfect course. The professor is very enthusiastic and welcoming. The material is well-organized. The homework is just at that point, not too easy, not too difficult, but still remaining challenging.

von Iván M P

Sep 28, 2019

This course is a must for every programmer.

von Guo F

Sep 30, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dan! Prior to this course, I've been using Python for some casual projects for a few years, but some concepts like first-class functions and lambda expressions, etc, always seem daunting to me and I never got the hang of that. With the help of this course, my understanding of a lot of concepts in Python really improved a lot. In addition, I find learning Javascript becomes much easier after understanding SML. To sum up, I really learned a lot from this lesson, I like your teaching style (especially Live Coding :)) and I surely would sign up for the rest of the course.

von Igor P S

Oct 07, 2019

This course is fun. I recommend it. I had a great time learning about many topics I was somewhat familiar but never had the chance to study them deeply. I was introduced to a new programming language, which l learned to respect and enjoy. After finishing the course I feel confident about what functional programming is and also about many other aspects programming languages have. I definitely will take part B and C of the course. Thanks a lot for providing this course!

I would like to politely and respectfully suggest as an improvement for the next version of this course the usage of examples more connected to the real world instead of those purely didactical. It is not a big deal, the examples used in the course work fine to grasp the announced idea, but the knowledge would consolidate more firmly this other way.

von Enrico F

Oct 14, 2019

Great course, better than many CS courses I had in university

von CLARISA B H C

Mar 05, 2019

Muy buena información; nivel alto.

von Atsushi

Jan 06, 2019

the course material was good and fun! but the discussion forum was not so active.

von Héctor B A

Sep 01, 2016

Great course overall. It focuses on functional programming concepts like immutability, locally-defined functions, pattern-matching and forces the user to use recursion, taking you out of your for-loop comfort zone. In my humble opinion, maybe the time spent in learning the SML language, which is not the main goal of the course, takes a bit too long, but on the other hand I guess that can't really be helped. Videos are grate and grading procedures are pretty fair. Mind you, the course is fairly time-consuming.

von Scott v K

Jan 08, 2017

The constructs of learning functional programming are very useful and well explained. This course is about theory with practice problems which are somewhat challenging using SML as the programming language. The only downside of the course is the use of SML, which is fine for educational purposes, but lacks any real development / debugging frameworks and has no commercial usability beyond learning the concepts in the course.

von Philip A

Nov 30, 2016

The peer review was too time consuming. Otherwise great course

von 畅 刘

Jul 29, 2018

Quite interesting~