Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
1,130 Bewertungen
317 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 313 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Hugsy

Oct 23, 2017

good

von anton k

Jan 06, 2017

Most interesting and complex course I've ever attended.

von Li L

Nov 19, 2016

Awesome courses, help you get close to functional programming.

von liuyaqiu

Jan 24, 2018

This is a challenging course to dive deep into programming languages.

von zshowing

Apr 27, 2017

对函数式编程非常好的入门介绍,互相批改作业的氛围非常好

von yezhisui

Feb 03, 2017

课程真的很不错!!!

von Jayadev H

May 11, 2018

pedagoically great course!

Dan really gets to the point right away and it's nice to take his classes.

Still i dont see much use of the course except to do challanging programming assigments...

Thank you Professor!

von joan g

Oct 07, 2016

excellent!

von Shiyang L

Nov 13, 2016

This course is literally amazing! I haven't finished so far, but I can't wait to give it a 5-star review. The course is well organized and it really opens my mind to think of programming language in a different way. Thanks Prof. Dan!

von GONG L

Feb 11, 2017

It is an exhilarating experience to learn Programming Languages A. Although this course seems a little vapid and unexceptional at first, it becomes more and more fascinating from Week 2 to Week 4. It is true that the assignment is challenging. On the other hand, it is quite absorbing, and my understanding of programming reached a new level after finishing each homework.

von Yang G

Oct 24, 2017

good course

von Eduardo M

Jul 31, 2017

Lots of fun involved. The professor is great and the homework was challenging.

von Li L

Sep 05, 2017

Perfect course! I learnt a lot!

von likai

Feb 19, 2017

It is so much fun . And I learn a lot from it.

von Henrik B

Nov 22, 2017

The course requires quite a lot of effort, but this I like, If you have to spend time understanding things, doing homework the greater the reward. I think Dan is really good at explaining things, going through the different concepts in a good pace.

I would recommend this to others if they have the time to spend.

von Greg G

Dec 03, 2017

A challenging but awesome course that teaches a lot about functional programming. Really needs 6-8 hours per week though. Has great PDF lecture notes, homework structure and you can easily use the learned concepts in other programming languages.

von lander

Sep 04, 2017

very helpful! Thank you for the teacher Dan and the college.

von 蔡小邦

Jun 21, 2017

very good

von Rafael L

Jun 15, 2017

Maybe the best course I've ever taken in my whole life. If you want to learn more about functional programming this is the course you're looking for. The videos and exercises are very explanatory and will give you a deep understanding about all the topics.

von Vijayanand N

Nov 20, 2016

This is a great course for any programmer. It delves more on how things work in programming languages why they are like that, rather than how to do things using programming languages. It does require dedication and the exercises and assignments are not easy.

von Jesse T

Nov 26, 2017

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

von Ashish S

Jul 21, 2017

Really great...

von Fry

Jul 10, 2017

very nice

von zhemuwoa

Apr 09, 2018

Amazing