Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
23,152 Bewertungen
5,192 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK
9. Mai 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
15. März 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 5,115 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Colleen K

21. Sep. 2018

I learned a lot by doing assignments, but the course materials are not helpful. Stackflow and Python documents guide me much more than the course itself.

von Daniel S

18. Jan. 2021

Very limited gaining of knowledge based on course materials, most of the effort is self-learning, internet searching, and lots of readings. Inefficient.

von Ran R

29. Nov. 2020

Lots of useful content, and a promising structure. But, the overall level of polish was distractingly low, especially in assignments (unclear & buggy)

von Mohammed A H

26. Sep. 2020

During the course, the instructor was presenting with a background contains moving people which caused a big distraction to me.

von Sudharshan C

28. Okt. 2020

The assignments can be better structured. I found it tough to navigate and perform operations

von Sai S

23. Dez. 2020

Needs to be packaged in more interesting way..felt course contents and presentation vague

von Khairul A

10. Aug. 2020

Too fast explanation

von Erico L

1. März 2019

I don't think I've learned much along the course. I had to pick a few concepts here and there, but I don't think that the way in which those are explained would stick.

Also, the course seems rushed: I'm not sure what the end game of these courses is, but I think it's an incredible wasted opportunity when it comes to MOOCs, as there could be more lengthy videos and more and better ungraded exercises (something that in this particular course do not exist) and much, much better explained assignments (I guess adding there the info from the forums by the teaching stuff would not hurt).

For being a course of intermediate level, the videos and explanations are too short; there are even places where things are left totally unexplained.

Even if it's supposed (and even encouraged) that the students seek information on their own, the lack of context in some places makes it rather difficult. this is specialy more so with the questions that are interwined in the videos, as normally in order to answer them corretly you have to go out and find the related info (something that totally disrupts watching the videos).

finally, the assignments are a wreckage; some of the questions are incredible difficult to understand, if not out right impossible. The fact that there's a lot of information added to the forums by the etaching stuff, up to the point that the more complicated questions are easily answered with that same infromation, proves this.

I do think there are examples of courses in Coursera: I recently completed "Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra" and even thought I don't think it's not without its issues, I find it a much more challenging, entertaining and fun course, that covers in a good way its subject.

I have to commend the people from the teaching stuff that are in the forums, thought, as it's the only course in which I found people from the teaching area activelly participating, and helping the students.

von Brian L

3. Okt. 2020

TLDR - poor design of class makes for a bad experience and wasted time.

Longer - There is a disjunct between what is covered in the videos and what is tested in the assignments, and there are problems with the assignments (the autograder and the extremely dated pandas version supported) . The videos function as a partial reference guide, which is only very loosely what is tested in the assignments. If I didn't pay for the class, I would see value in the assignments themselves. Since I did pay for the class, I expect more value from the videos. For the 3rd and 4th weeks I proceeded more quickly by relying much more heavily on stack overflow and pandas documentation, to the point of sometimes ignoring the videos entirely. As-is the gaps between videos and assignments, on the one hand, and ongoing difficulty of knowing how to navigate the black box which is the autograder (using an outdated version of pandas) are shunted to the forums and other students, volunteers, and assistants. While the forum is helpful (always start there with the assignments, so you will waste less time on poorly designed / assessed questions!), it is poor pedagogy and a bad experience to offload bad course design onto it.

von Zayd A

28. Mai 2019

I had done "Python for Everybody" from Charles Severance which I had found excellent, with the instructor being passionate and the pace being just about right. I had assumed it would be similar for "Introduction to Data Science in Python", but that wasn't case. The delivery of the course is at a very very fast pace, you don't even have time to stop and absorb the functions and methods that you are supposed to learn. The instructor and the research assistant will list the functions and methods one after the other without pausing. The assignment is then extremely hard with no resemblance to the material in the course (I couldn't do it even after having reviewed the videos). After holding on for the first 2 weeks (it's a very useful topic after all), I gave up and decided to learn from the "learning the Pandas library book", which is a very good summary of the main Pandas functions and methods (and which was recommended by Dr Christopher Brooks), and I was able to follow it very easily.

von Lucas C

1. Sep. 2019

Overall: I felt this course was useful but pretty time-consuming. The course had relatively limited taught material and relied a lot on searching & self-studying. If you have a fair amount of time it is a good choice.

Pros: You learn through doing assignments which are well supported by mentors/community. Also, you get used to studying through googling problems and learning from websites such as Stackoverflow.

Cons: Whilst this learning method definitely had its merits, it could be quite time-consuming for someone seeking to gain introductory-level skills quickly. You could find yourself in situations where you spend hours searching for something quite elementary and could easily have been taught to you, which could be frustrating. I personally think this course could be improved by adding a bit more small quizzes for beginners to play around with the basics, before requiring them to self-learn through searches.

von William B

25. Nov. 2020

Was not a fan of this course at all. The first assignment is completely on regex which I understand that it is an important topic, but that's a fairly advanced topic in data science so to have as the first assignment of the first course in this specialization seems a little ridiculous. Not a single question on the assignment was on numpy which we spent the vast majority of the week learning. I did not get much out of the other assignments either. Dr. Brooks is really not the best teacher. Very knowledgeable, but not good at relaying that knowledge to others in a clear manner. If I could go back a month I wouldn't have taken this course.

von Markus Z

7. Aug. 2020

Compared to the previous course I have taken at University of Michigan the content was ok but how it was taught I didn't like. Just reading rapidly the text of the Jupyter Notebook is not enough from my point of view. Ok you can find out the stuff yourself but why take then this course and don't go directly to stack overflow.

You just get weird replies from the auto grader and search through the forum to get any idea why you didn't pass. And if you pass, you will never know if your solution was the proper way to solve this task....

von Ruibo S

4. Okt. 2020

The assignments are much more difficult than what is covered in the class. The teaching speed is too fast without enough PPT slides. The class coding demonstration is also too fast. The lecturer should either teach more in class or make the assignments easier. Assignment 3 and assignment 4 need a lot of independent studies of the functions in pandas library. If the assignments need a lot of independent studies, what is the meaning of the teaching in class?

von Daniel D

29. Jan. 2020

I agree with some reviews saying that course was mostly limited to self-learning. Videos were rushed and learning mostly limited to self-studying. Assignments descriptions were confusing and not well explained, not to mention that it takes hours to figure out why correct solution is not accepted. I'd say writing code (correctly) takes 4 hours but then you need 8 hours to figure out why your answer is not accepted.

von Carl M

14. Nov. 2019

Poorly worded questions (that are mentioned throughout the discussion board), older version of pandas and the course resources don't help you with course. Get ready to 'learn' by looking in StackOverflow or reading the volumes upon volumes of python/pandas documentation. In other words, expect to spend 15 hours a week per week (obviously it will vary)

von Brent D

12. Aug. 2020

Lectures do not reflect what is required to complete the assignments. Much of the learning is left to independent study by the student. Assignment questions are too vague and frequently require parsing through class discussions to determine the answer the auto-grader is looking for.

von Olena K

28. März 2019

The lectures are not good. They go too quickly. They're about 5 minutes long, but you have to stop every minute or 30 seconds and rewind to understand what the instructor is saying. He just goes way too fast, and it's very frustrating. Really ruins the experience.

von Yizi Z

9. Nov. 2018

There is only few minutes taught video courses each week, although the reading materials and topics are quite interesting. The learning of python coding rely heavily on your own trial and error, which you could do even without this course.

von Saurabh C

2. Sep. 2020

The level of course content and assignments is not at all similar. The course contents need to be revised, seems like the professor assumes we know everything about the topic. Also the teaching speed is extremely fast. Very Disappointed!

von Tsvetov P A

3. Okt. 2020

With great tasks, lectures, there're terrible assignments, w/o explanation, multiple interpretations. Ttest task in Module 4, is really a hard task, w/o any explanation, could have moved it in a different course.

von BOORLA V N

15. Sep. 2020

The instructor seems like he's reading out points of a book. No proper explanation of tools used followed by assignments so hard compared to what being taught in classes

von Lucas T

22. Okt. 2020

not bad... theres a big mistake in the regex video.

assignments don't really match the lectures.

Without Corey Schafer and Sentdex on youtube I would've quit.

von Chris L

17. Dez. 2019

It never felt like the material was covered in enough depth to give me confidence in the ability to do the assignments.

von Lee S

19. Dez. 2018

Starts off well, then escalates way too quickly. Assignment 4 is incredibly complex and has poor guidance notes.