Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
20,835 Bewertungen
4,677 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 4,609 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Yusuf E

Mar 03, 2018

The assignments in this course are extremely challenging and almost unsolvable if not for the forum/stackoverflow help. Among the nine certificates I got on Coursera, this has to be the most difficult to obtain. It even surpasses getting and cleaning data or r programming in the Johns Hopkins Data Science specialization. Also, some more time on lambdas would really be appreciated given how important they seem to be in Pandas.

Having said that it was a real pleasure going through the assignments, repeatedly debugging them and getting to the answer finally. I have no complaints with the structure of the course or the contents. Given how easy the Python for Everybody specialization was this course was really refreshing. I hope for more of the same for the rest of the specialization.

von Haris N

Apr 27, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The material was a bit sparse but the assignments were very well done, even though I've seen lots of people complaining about them. It is true that this course isn't beginner level and someone with zero programming skills will struggle, but since the specialization homepage mentions that the courses are 'Intermediate' I don't think that should come as a surprise.

The assignments were challenging but not challenging enough to be frustrating. One habit the course has inculcated in me is to refer to the documentation and build my own solutions rather than blindly referring to stack overflow.

All in all, a good course for someone already proficient in Python looking to develop expertise in Pandas. Not recommended for a complete novice though.

von Rajendra K

May 09, 2017

An excellent course, which requires more self learning than what is taught. I extended the course and completed the final assignment in a week. The assignments involving data cleaning actually helps a budding data scientist. Documentation, Stack Overflow for assignments is a must which can boost your understanding not just for this course but for a lot more. My personal satisfaction about this course is mainly stackoverflow part which helped me to understand the lectures weeks ahead. But application of the concepts on assignments is a difficult one which can only be mastered after practice. Thanks to all mentors, especially "Sophie Greene" whom I followed a lot. Her debugs, algos and code checks have actually helped me to understand both python and Pandas better.

von 刘宇轩

Dec 13, 2017

The aim of this course is to help us get familiar with pandas. If one has already been quite familiar with functions in pandas, this course could be too simple. However, as someone who is just new to pandas, I have to spend quite some time getting familiar with those functions so that I can finish the assignments.

This course really helps I think. As I moved along the course, I really find myself more familiar with the design logic of pandas and gradually work more fluently in assignments.

Besides, the mentor in the forum is so helpful and has provided lots of hints to help us move forward. I'm really grateful to it but still suggest that new students should really work hard on our own before skimming the forum, because some hints somehow cross the line.

von MEILIN Z

Feb 05, 2017

This course taught ma Pandas and Hypothesis test, which are very useful in my study and future work. For example, I learned how to sort values, merge tables, and reset indexes. And most parts is like SQL.

Lectures will give some basic knowledge of the contents for each week. And this course also provide enough related documents, including codes and slides in classes. And it also has subtitle, which helps me a lot for my understanding.

When I was doing assignment, I still need to search more information from internet and learn by myself. I think this is a great way to help me know how to solve problems by myself. I think it is also a little bit challenging for a beginner, so I suggest beginner to learn some basic knowledge before taking this course.

von Gabrielle S

Sep 18, 2017

I'm very happy with the course overall, especially the challenges that the graded assignments offer. The lecture covers just enough detail to give you a broad understanding of the topic, but allows room for self-discovery, as in having to read the docs to accomplish your assignments. I'm happy with the quality of instruction and level of knowledge that the lectures have as well. The main instructor was very articulate and demonstrated a deep knowledge and a lot of experience with Python pandas, as well as statistics. The discussion forums have been extremely helpful throughout completing assignments, and got me moving from where I was stuck. I've certainly leveled up my python and pandas (especially pandas) skills from taking this course.

von Liam G

Jun 24, 2019

This was a superb introduction to Data Science in Python. Before I started this course I had completed a few introductory Python courses, but never felt confident enough to perform standard analyses in Pandas. This course has changed that and I am now confidently using it in my day job as a Data Analyst, helping me to automate some workflows, analyse data much easier and so on!

What is really great about this course is that it sets you up on Jupyter Notebooks to follow alongside each week's lectures, and then gives you an assignment to complete each week in a notebook. It really helped me get to grips with using notebooks, and debugging code and so on!

As a Data Analyst, and budding Data Scientist, I cannot recommend this course enough!

von Rahul S

Jan 26, 2018

A well rounded course that gives a good introduction into the scope and use of python in data science. Lectures were kept concise and to the point. The assignments were really useful as they used real world data and gave a good understanding of using python from the data cleaning stage to arriving at meaningful results.

One negative I may point out is that the time that is shown for assignments doesn't really reflect the time it takes in reality as people need to do quite a bit of self study for a lot of the questions. If you could increase the time showed, it would really help working professionals like me to plan their time for it accordingly.

A really good course with good course materials and helpful teaching staff!

von Purinut K

May 31, 2020

Even though, the title of the course is "Introduction" but to pass the assignment is quite complex and require a lot of understanding. You have to deal with struggling in Data in real life, such as unclean, remove header, unnecessary information in text etc. which is the most difficult part of processing the data.

I think this is a excellent course to learn how to deal with the data but will recommend it for the people who has quite strong background in programming. The first chapter is simple but do not overconfident. The second chapter can be very difficult to process data and get to know how to deal with dataframe. Once you uses to how to use "Jupyter Notebook", it will much easier though the rest of the course.

von Antonin P

May 15, 2018

Course is great. I have learned a lot, but I am affraid that the assignments are not for everyone. It is sometimes hard to find a way how to make an automatic grader to pass your programming assignment. I had to use a forum a lot, not to find a solution, but to find a trick how to convert my result to the correct format and so... In first assignment, it was poorly described how to submit it, for instance that the function can´t use variables from previous functions. However, thank you a lot for the course, I have learned Pandas and general Python even though I didn´t use them before. But I regret a bit of the time searching throughtout a forum when my results was right, but the grader didn´t let me pass through.

von Milan V

Sep 02, 2019

An excellent course. Given the restrictions inherent to this kind of format of teaching (e.g. very short 'lecture' videos), I do not think that the course could have been organised any better. In other words, one gets the feeling that one has extracted the maximum of knowledge possible, within the limitations of the Coursera platform. This is probably in part due to the 'hands-on' approach to the programming assignments, which I though to be very well thought-of. I would also like to praise the course staff for being very active on the Discussion forums, and trying to answer as many student questions as physically possible. In the future I will definitely continue with other courses in this Specialisation.

von Loïc B

Aug 27, 2019

A very good introduction to essential Python tools for manipulating data. I recommend taking this if you either know some Python but are new to data science, or if you have at least a basic grasp of how to manipulate data with other software. Users without prior knowledge in Python or data wrangling will find this course too hard.

Prof. Brooks is very clear, and the Jupyter notebook environment helps tremendously. I liked a lot the format of assignments as well, though meeting the requirements of the autograder can be tough sometimes... Another point on assignment: the version of pandas used for the course and the current updated version now differ a bit, so that some syntaxes may differ on a few functions.

von Benny P

Sep 20, 2017

As others said, this course is fast paced, has only brief information in the videos, and has challenging programming tasks that requires students to get the required information elsewhere that was not given in the intros. Whether you like it or not depends on whether you are able to learn by yourself (with guidance on what to look for) or do you want to be fully nursed. For me, I LOVE IT! The material has enough information that I need, and I don't mind searching for references myself. The programming tasks are also challenging as it requires you to be really careful in reading the specs, and that is good. If you're not able to enjoy this course, maybe you need to take other introductory courses first.

von Paulo E N

Aug 10, 2020

I really appreciated this course. The assignments are excellent, but they took me more time than the announced.

The ability to submit your assignments and have them automatically corrected, even if you are note paying for the certificate, is great.

I just think that maybe it is a "too hard" introduction. You must already know python, and, I'd say, should have already studied a little of pandas. The explanation of pandas is really quick, but full of valuable real world tips.

For the assignments you'll need a lot of pandas knowledge that isn't the videos, so prepare for a lot of searching in StackOverflow and in the docs. I believe it is purposeful, so the assignments mimics a real world problem.

von Karen Y

Dec 01, 2016

This is a popular course series that many have expressed interest in taking. Rigorous and challenging course that offers excellent, high quality teaching of python pandas. The University of Michigan does not disappoint and neither does the delightful instructor Christopher Brooks. I highly recommend this course to anyone serious about python and data manipulation. Time and money worth spent. Interesting assignments and datasets are found each week. You will learn a great deal. Concise videos with sharp insights from an expert on pandas are seen throughout. Once you finish the first course of the series, it leaves you excited for the second course in the series. Rock on "pandorable" pandistas!

von Deleted A

Jan 21, 2017

This was overall an excellent course, I very much appreciate everyone who has made this happen. However, the very last question of the very last assignment I found to be substantially more difficult than everything else, by a very large degree. Because of that one question I ended up moving my session twice and nearly dropped the course. https://www.coursera.org/learn/python-data-analysis/discussions/weeks/4/threads/1Fkg-ryCEeaIRw7T1E5tHA/replies/vK-NSNNOEeaBeg5U4yHl7A is what finally got me over the hump. The instructions were not very clear to me but the price ratio calculation was the key to success. My guess is that missed it somewhere. Anyway, thanks! I will be moving on to the next course.

von Sabyasachi M

May 03, 2020

This is a very good course about the basics of data science and how python can be used to facilitate data cleaning and handling. I am a beginner with very limited knowledge of python (I had read some basics). The course takes you step by step through the use of python libraries and commands mostly used in data science. I would like to point out here that the assignments post course completion were a bit challenging for me as I am a beginner, which is good. This is because I had to research and learn a lot of stuff to complete the assignments apart from the course material. Looking forward to more such courses and assignments. Kudos to the teaching staff and Coursera team :)

von Zhengyi S

Feb 23, 2020

The contents of the course are concise and it fulfilled basic requirements for fundamental data manipulation. Specifically, the exercises are excellent as they are real problems, which has many untidy problems to overcome during the process, and it's such a pragmatic train on me. Two suggestions: 1 is to add the answers of the assignments, because even though students pass the assignments, there might be better codes to refer and learn; 2 is to strengthen the problem description, as there're several negligence in those assignments. Overall speaking, the course helped me sort out the basic manipulation about numpy and pandas systematically.

von Tanmaya S

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course that throws you to deep-end

Good explanation of basic concepts and learning through challenging problems. This course really pushes you to utilise open resources and refer to forums and standard text which, in my opinion, helps learner utilize full potential of MOOC's. Excellent course for understanding applications of python, but be ready to scavenge forums and refer to the documentation for hours to solve assignment problems.

It would have been really awesome if some more exhaustive guide regarding fundamentals was also provided which could improve understanding of functions applied in assignments even more

von Vijay P R

Nov 27, 2016

The programming assignments are challenging ( atleast for beginners),with each question taking about 3 hours to complete .Many topics in Pandas are covered , making us reading the docs and finding solutions,that further helps in learning . Excellent course , good support from other learners taking the course and very very informative . No other platform can give us a course ( and knowledge ) of this standard . Planning to take more courses from courseera . However a small feedback : The description for some questions are slightly confusing . Please make such questions more descriptive with examples .

von Aditya S

Jun 27, 2018

This is one of the best courses on coursera by offering, the instructor Christopher Brooks has a great ability to deliver a lot of information/knowledge in a concise manner! He is a great teacher. I really learned a lot from this course, and reading the course blogs like : science isn't broken, following the data skeptic podcast, joining in on discussions. The discussion forum has great methods by Sophie Green , the teaching assistant, with great stackoverflow links added. This course has a steep learning curve, but as much as it was tough, by and large it was worth every minute investing in it!

von Max P

Nov 16, 2017

This is an excellent start to Python, showing the basics of lists, dictionaries, tuples, Pandas Series and DataFrames, and numpy. The lectures are concise and hit the right elements to get a quick grasp of Python. The assignments are sometimes with real-life data, which makes the course particularly engaging. During the assignments, the hands-on approach really helps a student grasp the details and delicacies of the different Python and Pandas objects. As an improvement, I would say that some of the text within the assignments could be expanded to nip any possible confusion in the bud.

von Feng H

Mar 10, 2017

As a python newbie, I found this course challenging yet so much fun to learn. Dr. Brooks presented the lectures in a very organized way and made them easy to follow. If you have experience in R, you probably would pick up Pandas real quick. Students are expected to devote a lot of time into the assignments and try to find the answer on your own. But with all the great tips and clarifications from our diligent mentor Sophie Greene, it's definitely achievable.

Will take the other courses in this specialization and definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested in data analysis.

von Praveen R

Sep 16, 2019

"Introduction to Data Science in Python" is very good introductory course for Python DataFrames/Series and related data interpretation methods. I got to learn to read in excel/cvs/text files and clean them and extract meaningful data. The final assignment was very informative into how applied DataScience work. Overall its an intermediate level course with ample coding to do and experiment. It is a very hands on course which is most essential to understand fundamental concepts clearly. I am happy I took the course. Looking forward for the next course on visualization.

von Ricardo A L

Dec 02, 2018

Es un muy buen curso.

Lo que lamento que es que el Autograder es Todo o Nada y es imposible tener menos de 100 puntos. El codigo puede tener cosas buenas o no tan buenas, pero no todo esta mal.

No logre aprobarlo en la ultima Q6 pero en general es muy buen curso.

Quizas por el tiempo que uno dispone , puede ser poco para profundizar mejor el estudio. Yo trabajo en area TI de Retail y en estos dias de fin de año es dificil..

Muchas gracias a todos. Quienes preparan el material y a los instructores.

Un abrazo para todos...menos para el implacable AutoGrader..

Atte

Ricardo