Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
713 Bewertungen
112 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top-Bewertungen

KR

Jul 17, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD

Oct 07, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 of 107 Reviews for Python for Genomic Data Science

von MINQING I Y

Nov 30, 2018

In general the course is good. I can do some programing at the end of the course. Something I think can improve is the question in the quiz and final exam, particularly quiz 3 and the final exam. I spent quite some time to understand the definition of ORF in the exam question, e.g can I have multiple start codon before reaching a stop codon.

von Hamza I

Apr 14, 2019

It helped me connecting between biology and python but i had to learn the basics of python programming from other beginner tutorials.

von Lucrezia F

Dec 13, 2017

You should give more instruments to take the final exam, I had to study mostly on my own because the material was not sufficient (at least for me, who has just started programming). Anyway, I really enjoyed the course and the topic!

von Carlos M G V

Apr 09, 2017

Good start on Python and some sequence analysis, looking forward to start programming more

von Meghana

Mar 14, 2016

The lectures were really good. I am a microbiologist and have very little background of computer programming. A more detailed course would have he

von Ali R K

Feb 28, 2016

good course for python but you definitely need to have some background in programming to be able to pass. recommend python course by UMichigan here at Coursera.

von Chen J

Jan 16, 2017

I learned a great many Python knowledge from this course. It would be better if the quiz and course material can be connected more closely.

von Giulia P

Mar 07, 2016

Clear but some topic are not well explained and to pass the final quiz is necessary further detailed study.

Very useful the help of the Mentor

von Maximilian K

Dec 14, 2016

Started very easy, but became quite hard at the end. Nicely structured and conveyes everything that is needed. However, sometimes I missed why specific tools have been used and not others.

von Alejandro L

Jun 07, 2016

For a person with absolutely not knowledge of programing its a very nice course to take. Its could be more widely explote the Biopython part, but reading the Biopython cookbook and the baisis presented here its just perfect

von Gonzalo C S

Jan 05, 2017

It was good and practical.

von Murat S

Dec 30, 2017

it is a nice course overall, but needs more practical examples.

von Nicholas B

May 12, 2016

Good for what it is, but I was hoping for something more advanced (on the algorithm/programming side).

von Diego M

Nov 15, 2017

4 and a half stars. Some more coverage of biopython and random length variables would be helpful.

von David h

Apr 11, 2016

Very good--perhaps a little slow for those who have already learned a half-dozen languages.

von Jason M

Nov 06, 2017

I enjoyed this one quite a bit. In particular, the quizzes were enjoyable. Also, the content was decently complete, all things considered.

von Danielle K

Jan 21, 2018

part "sys" of week 4 is really unclear

von Roy L

May 17, 2018

The content of the course is quite good, but it would have been nice if they addressed more how to make code run efficiently in Python (e.g. which structures are fast and which should be avoided). Especially during the final exam the way you approach the questions can result in a running time from seconds to hours. As in practice the datasets you will work with tend to be quite large, I think this would be a valuable addition to the course.

von Danielle d C F B

Aug 05, 2017

Uma pena não poder submeter aos quizes sem efetuar a compra do curso.

von Onur S

Feb 17, 2018

This is a quick introduction into Python for biological data. I would say there is much more to Python than what's included in this course, however the material was presented quite clearly. I had to increase the playing speed of the videos a bit, all the slow-talking was quite distracting after some time. The quiz questions were sometimes a bit tricky and I liked that. Final exam is much more difficult than the quiz questions and requires significant effort. To be honest it was a bit easy for me to pass, but that's because I've previously solved similar problems at rosalind.info.

von Bill G

Feb 03, 2018

You better know a lot about Python if you plan to pass this course!! Items covered in lecture are elementary. Items covered in exams/quiz's are Graduate Level!!!

von Guilherme M P

Oct 03, 2017

VERY GULD!!!

von Kasper T K

Nov 21, 2017

Fairly good course for introducing basic programming skills for biological sequence analysis. However instructions for the assignments (weekly quizzes) should include some basic testing, where expected answers are given, so you can begin debugging before you answer the quiz, contrary to debug between doing quizzes. When you are getting the wrong answers it can be quite difficult to determine what went wrong, if you can't test your progress against a given example.

von Pasquale L

Jul 02, 2016

This course was in line with my expectations. Sometimes exercises were a bit out of context. I would have probably dedicated more time to Biopython.

von Yuqi Z

May 11, 2019

A great introduction course about essential python programming skills for bioinformatics works. As someone who has experience with other programming language but is experiencing python for the first time, I found that the difficulty of the course is at just the right level. I hope that there can be more stuff about biopython.