Chevron Left
Zurück zu Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
251 Bewertungen
62 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top-Bewertungen

VL

Jan 14, 2018

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.

EY

Oct 01, 2018

Good course for a beginner. Generally, help me understand whole genome sequencing of bacteria. Will follow other course that they have provide.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 69 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

von Robert F

Jan 28, 2019

This course is mostly just an advertisement for the particular tools created by the CGE. It would have benefited from deeper explanations of the algorithms at many points. It didn't really build skills, though I am certainly more aware of the breadth of their online tools now.

von Kumar v

Mar 17, 2019

Course contains relevant application based material. It was quite helpful.

von Sören W

Jan 07, 2019

It is basically a commercial for their tools. Not much content to learn.

von Douglas A H

Dec 29, 2017

I quite liked the instructors, but after the first few lessons, the course essentially becomes an advertisement/user manual for their university's (admittedly free) online software tools.

von Marwa M M B

Aug 19, 2017

It is totally beneficial course for those who are working in epidemiology, however; I was expected to learn different tools for species and microbial communities identification.

von Adil M

Jul 01, 2019

It was highly informative and interesting. I enjoyed alot

von Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

von ALEXANDROS D

Jun 26, 2019

Very useful and helpful course to know how to interprete your results in different platforms and tools.

von

Jun 23, 2019

Very well done. Unfortunately some tools are now partially different or not active (such as batch submission), but it is a nice course.

von Syed H A

Jun 12, 2019

The Design, of course, is best as per researcher requirement.

von AKM F H

Jun 10, 2019

This is a really good course for beginners as it explained the use of some fantastic web-based tools to detect bacterial ST, resistance, plasmid, MLST, and phylogeny. I have learned a lot of new techniques to analyze the whole genome of a bacterium. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.

von Mirza M V B

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

von Carol H

Apr 01, 2019

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.

von MUTSHIENE D E

Mar 29, 2019

Great and very insightful course. It really shed light on many aspects on whole genome sequencing

von Matthew Y

Mar 03, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course and the practice problems involving Whole Genome Sequencing on the CGE website

von Adeyemi S

Feb 20, 2019

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

von Lydia M

Jan 24, 2019

Such a good course which gives an overview to some of the bioinformatic tools that can be employed in genome sequencing. I'm glad I enrolled for this course because it has enlightened me of the other part of molecular biology I didn't know so much about.

So thanks to all the instructors that dedicated their time to provide us with new knowledge.

von Bikash K

Jan 15, 2019

Very simple and informative

von A A A E

Jan 08, 2019

applications

von Jana M

Dec 15, 2018

Great course, but very challenging. You need to be advanced in biology to do this course.

von Kira K

Dec 04, 2018

This is a great class presenting a user-friendly web tool CGE pipeline that is ready to help all researches with their bioinformatics data. It can even build phylogenetic trees!

And I loved a small detective game at the end of the course when we needed to process unknown bacteria sequences to see if it was a real outbreak and what antibiotics were able to stop it!

A lot of thanks to the team!

von AGBO A A J B P

Nov 29, 2018

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

von WAI K L

Nov 27, 2018

Great course that help student to understand the application for non computing scientist.

von Audrey V

Nov 21, 2018

I only just begin taking part in it and all I can say is I am enjoying it even though I am a bit behind schedule and my first attempt was 60%, I will try again and aim high with better understanding. Thank you for the opportunity and the financial aid that was approved for me to attend the course. I am determined to do my best. What I also like is the clear teaching or lecturing manner of all the presenters of the course.

von Hamza A D

Nov 09, 2018

I like this course very much! The instructors were really helpful in getting their point across.