Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
649 Bewertungen
144 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Apr 09, 2018

This course is excellently taught and very engaging, I have enjoyed it immensely and cant wait to do further courses produced by MOMA! Great course, I would highly recommend it :)

MI

Apr 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I love the facts and new things I have learned about garments and items that I use in my every day life but also other objects from other cultures.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 144 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Sandra M

Aug 23, 2018

This course was truly amazing experience, so much more than what I expected. The sea of information is gathered in such smart, consistent, organized way that it is impossible to even think anything is omitted. I applaud to its creators!

von Natalia K

Aug 20, 2018

A fresh look at the acute problems. Clearly described garments, given interesting facts and details from the history of clothing. I recommend for the expansion of personal knowledge

von Claudia C d T

Sep 16, 2018

A great content! You will learn and have so much fun!

von Mariana T V

Sep 24, 2018

Tiene información muy completa sobre la historia detrás de las prendas que han construido a nuestra sociedad y su repercusión a nivel cultural, social, medioambiental y económico.

von Karolina S

Sep 26, 2018

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in fashion and/or design. I learned a lot about its history and theory. The course changed my perspective on fashion and its issues. It also let me think of new ideas for projects and designs in my university and individual work.

von Gidgette U

Sep 28, 2018

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT ART HISTORY COURSE

von Грудко М

Sep 11, 2018

This course has helped me to plunge into the history of fashion, to find out what actually is a casual wear and the importance of being eco-friendly in the modern world. Grateful to The Museum of Modern Art of useful and interesting training program.

von Dr. R

Oct 01, 2018

This course is an eye opener. It help to think on various ankles while appreciating a costume.

von Elif B

Oct 31, 2018

So much creative lesson, open mind.

von Osleydi

Nov 02, 2018

This is an incredible course and really beautiful for all the fashion lovers

von Clara T A

Aug 29, 2018

This is a fantastic super recomended course for anyone who likes fashion and design aswell as to know the background of many iconic fashion pieces!

Thank you MoMa! It was a pleasure! I would take it again!

von Aadhya D

Aug 29, 2018

Its really a wonderful course with amazing instructors.

von Dario A

Aug 29, 2018

I enjoyed every minute spent on this course, incredibly interesting it explores fashion from many points of view, it definitely gave me a lot to think about when it comes to or relationship with clothes

von Züleyha K

Nov 05, 2018

A great course to start as a beginner and understand the concept from the start. Lot of great information and great sources, if you are interested I suggest you to take this course!

von penelope

Nov 10, 2017

fantástico y creativo.

von Mariela R

Feb 25, 2018

I really loved this course. I've learned so much about some items that I didn't have any idea. It's great to see the other side of fashion, that one that it is not the one we are used to. The course reveals the social side of fashion, fashion as an expression, as a weapon to survive, as a cultural tool.

von Edima

Apr 11, 2018

Very insightful course about Fashion and style.

von Roqaya A F

Jan 21, 2018

It is an excellent source of information, it will widen your thoughts and the way you are looking at your wardrobe, I assure you.

von Alba R M G

Dec 22, 2017

I loved the course, it is an incredible experience, I learned to observe the rpa and the accessories from other perspectives, analyzing their history and the reason for their creation.

I also learned a lot in relation to sustainable productions, to think more about the future and the environment.

Thank you.

von Christos G

Nov 21, 2017

A new way to look at fashion. Another excellent course by MoMA.

von Audrey J

Nov 19, 2017

Thank you so much for this course. It is really interesting with really cool examples.

von Edith

Feb 08, 2018

Great course. Thought I knew it all but this course taught me some new things.

von Denise A

Feb 22, 2018

I thought the course was really informative. It gives fashion a human face and is important for the future. Thank you!!

von Gabriel G

Dec 08, 2017

Great course, super interesting, I recommended it to a bunch of my friends

von E P

Jul 02, 2018

I learned a lot from this course, and it had one of the more active discussion groups I've seen in a Coursera course. I love that it went into the details of the exhibition and into how the exhibition was conceived and curated.