Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
727 Bewertungen
165 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 165 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Maryhelen R

May 06, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of fashion -- its history, designers, their design motivations and philosophies. This is done through readings, interviews and videos highlighting a wide range of selected garments and accessories. Many important themes such as heroes, expression, modesty, silhouettes and couture are covered in conjunction with the items. More information on the items items discussed can be found in the exhibition catalog, Items: Is Fashion Modern? which is written by two of the instructors, Paola Antonelli and Michelle Millar Fisher (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 2018). If you are a serious student of fashion or one who is just beginning to explore its complexities, this catalog is an terrific addition to your library

von Maxwell A

Jun 11, 2018

Really enjoyable and informative course. It was the first course I ever took "for fun", and I'm glad I took it. I learned a lot and enjoyed myself the entire time.

von Lena L

Jul 02, 2018

So many fascinating bits of information. A great course for people interested in both design and fashion.

von Belén M

Jun 18, 2018

Genial y lleno de personas apasionadas por la moda, el contenido es bastante rico en información sin estar sobrecargado. Me siento muy satisfecha

von Fab B

Jan 30, 2018

I

r

e

a

l

l

y

l

o

v

e

d

i

t

,

i

l

e

a

r

n

a

l

o

t

a

n

d

von Francis C

Jul 01, 2018

terrific

von Lillian S

Feb 10, 2018

Thank for the opportunity to participate in this course, it was well developed and organized. I learned so much about the history of specific clothing items and have become more conscious about the apparel process. I hope to see more classes with this team in the future!

Sincerely,

Lillian Sharpley

von Carol-Anne R

Dec 04, 2017

This was a wonderful overview of fashion and clothing. I was not aware of so much information behind what I wear and choose not to wear. Fashion as Design is the course everyone should start with regardless of their career course or interests. Clothing we all wear, and what it is, why we wear, who designs, creates, recreates, where it comes from before it reaches us, and how we fit into the tapestry of what clothing is, should be learned by everyone.

I would love to continue with courses like this course and learn more about other types of design like textile design, furniture or houses.

Thank you to Paola Antonelli, Michelle Millar Fisher, Stephanie Kramer, and all the other students of the course. I learned so much from you all. I hope to one day return the gift. Be well, and be creative.

von Andrea S G

May 03, 2018

Me encantó el curso, el material informativo es de primer nivel. Estoy muy contenta con todo lo realizado estas semanas!!! Felicito a Coursera y al MoMA el haber incluido este curso que no sólo habla de Fashion sino de historia y conciencia a la hora de elegir una prenda de vestir. Maravilloso.

von Jennifer T

Nov 07, 2017

This course is fantastic - well thought out and thought provoking.

von Nadina F

Nov 20, 2017

I learned a LOT. Thank You.

von Narda M

Feb 16, 2018

I loved this course! It really help me to see fashion in a different way & understand why clothes are made for. If you work in fashion industry, this course will help you alot.

von Ana D

Jan 08, 2018

Very nice experience, learned a lot, especially about suitability and fashion industry!!!

von Nicholas T

Mar 12, 2018

Very interesting topics and materials covered.

von Christy

Feb 11, 2018

MoMA is so generous to offer this course to us for FREE! A million thank yous for this opportunity which I could not otherwise afford.

von chrishuanta d

Mar 08, 2018

love the obtain to do a online class

von Constanza A

Dec 19, 2017

Excellent course! The themes are very interesting an very well developed. The readings and videos are easy to understand.

von Gabriel T R

Jan 16, 2018

This course is one of the best I've taken in a while. If you have an interest for art hisory and cultural background of things this curse will show you how to understand the context of garments in fashion.

von Gabrielle S R

May 29, 2018

This course is very informative and I highly recommend it to anyone who is considering a career anywhere in the fashion industry. The course is structured and the readings and videos complement each other wonderfully. You will not be disappointed in this course!

von Jamie H

Jan 14, 2018

I like this course very much. It opened my vision of the development of garments as well as accessories and reminded me to review the manufacturing of clothes.

von Kirsten H N

Dec 13, 2017

Very informative course. I learned so much about fashion items, the history behind them and their impact.

von Georgina M O

Jun 30, 2018

Amazing in depth course

von Maria R

Dec 12, 2017

Me encanta la vision de este curso.

von Chantal M

May 06, 2018

This was an incredible course! I learned so much about the evolution of fashion and how the industry has grown and developed over the past century. It is incredibly well taught, and the videos give you a visual sense of what it is that you're learning. I would highly recommend!

von Jasmine S

Jul 03, 2018

This is an unbelievably awesome course! I have learned so much about fashion in ways I had never thought about it before. Thank you MOMA for this excellent course!