Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
686 Bewertungen
152 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Apr 09, 2018

This course is excellently taught and very engaging, I have enjoyed it immensely and cant wait to do further courses produced by MOMA! Great course, I would highly recommend it :)

MI

Apr 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I love the facts and new things I have learned about garments and items that I use in my every day life but also other objects from other cultures.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 152 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von E P

Jul 02, 2018

I learned a lot from this course, and it had one of the more active discussion groups I've seen in a Coursera course. I love that it went into the details of the exhibition and into how the exhibition was conceived and curated.

von Clara Z

May 08, 2018

some historical information and most important is that I learned how to look at a item from various perspective.

von Citlalli T G T

May 23, 2018

I love it, it make me change the way I look at my clothes and my body.

Thank you so much.

von Melody L

Jun 28, 2018

Highly recommend this course to anyone! It provided me with a new way to view my own wardrobe, pick my outfits, and evaluate how my subconscious notions towards articles of clothing are shaped. Although there is a huge emphasis on sustainability in fashion schools, tracing the history of fashion provides insight in how to spread awareness of sustainability surrounding fashion to the general public.

von Ahsaan R

Dec 18, 2017

great balance and content

von Lorena P

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent Course!! Congratulations and Thank you for this opportunity!!

von Lucía

Nov 19, 2017

amazing!!

von Andrea D

Nov 03, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

von Серёжкина Д С

Dec 03, 2017

Great course! Thank you for this amazing work!

von Sophie T

Jan 14, 2018

This course is really interesting and fascinating! I've learned a lot about famous items of garments and its history. If I happened to be in NYC, I would definitely go to the MoMA exhibition. I candidly recommend this course to people who interested in fashion.

von Niharika G

Dec 07, 2017

I strongly recommend this course to anybody who is associated with the Apparel industry. I got to learn a lot from this course.

von Marcia L

Apr 25, 2018

The history of the fashions touched on was phenomenal. I loved the chapters on Sustainability, and they’ve made me a much more conscious buyer.

von James B

Nov 04, 2017

Gr8!

von Margareta P

Nov 19, 2017

This course taught me lots of basic information about Fashion. Pieces of clothes and accessories are presented via Silhouettes, Modesty, Expression, etc.

von Stesha T

Oct 02, 2017

Very fun and opens my eyes

von Jassim A

Nov 22, 2017

Loved it!

von Angiluz S

Mar 27, 2018

FANTASTIC! L'HO TROVATO VERAMENTE BELLO E INTERESSANTE!

BRAVISSIMI :)

von JOHN Q

Sep 30, 2017

Fascinating course and something I've never given a thought to. Interesting endeavors......thanks.

von Sharon L

Apr 04, 2018

This was a fantastic cours interesting especially if you are thinking of becoming a manager in a retail store. Designers interested in fashion and design.Lot's of information on well known designers,fashion identity and culture history. Fun information on 3D printing and so much more.

von Tobee H K y

Nov 11, 2017

This course really widened my views of fashion and design, I learn too much ! Thanks a lot !

von Danielle S

Jan 07, 2018

This was fantastic! I didn't want it to end and I'm hoping there are more courses like this one to come.

von aybige t

Jan 13, 2018

great start so far

von Meryl G

Feb 19, 2018

I absolutely recommend it to anyone!

von Kimberley H

Feb 13, 2018

Fantastic, inspirational and engaging course. I learned more about fashion than I ever knew. I enjoyed learning about couture and silhouettes, and particularly liked the Mars boot prototype and the sneaker mask.

von Esinu I A

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent