Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
730 Bewertungen
166 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 167 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Lorena P

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent Course!! Congratulations and Thank you for this opportunity!!

von Lucía

Nov 19, 2017

amazing!!

von Andrea D

Nov 03, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

von Серёжкина Д С

Dec 03, 2017

Great course! Thank you for this amazing work!

von Sophie T

Jan 14, 2018

This course is really interesting and fascinating! I've learned a lot about famous items of garments and its history. If I happened to be in NYC, I would definitely go to the MoMA exhibition. I candidly recommend this course to people who interested in fashion.

von Niharika G

Dec 07, 2017

I strongly recommend this course to anybody who is associated with the Apparel industry. I got to learn a lot from this course.

von Margareta P

Nov 19, 2017

This course taught me lots of basic information about Fashion. Pieces of clothes and accessories are presented via Silhouettes, Modesty, Expression, etc.

von Stesha T

Oct 02, 2017

Very fun and opens my eyes

von Jassim A

Nov 22, 2017

Loved it!

von Angiluz S

Mar 27, 2018

FANTASTIC! L'HO TROVATO VERAMENTE BELLO E INTERESSANTE!

BRAVISSIMI :)

von JOHN Q

Sep 30, 2017

Fascinating course and something I've never given a thought to. Interesting endeavors......thanks.

von Sharon L

Apr 04, 2018

This was a fantastic cours interesting especially if you are thinking of becoming a manager in a retail store. Designers interested in fashion and design.Lot's of information on well known designers,fashion identity and culture history. Fun information on 3D printing and so much more.

von Tobee H K y

Nov 11, 2017

This course really widened my views of fashion and design, I learn too much ! Thanks a lot !

von aybige t

Jan 13, 2018

great start so far

von Esinu I A

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent

von Egle V

Dec 21, 2017

Excellent, enjoyed it a lot!

von Natalia M

Jun 04, 2018

The course was very enriching. I’ve learned a lot and now I can see fashion with another perspective.

von Jingyi Z

Jul 06, 2018

This class is a lot of fun and brings a new perspective of fashion interpretation to me.

von Claudia C

Jan 15, 2018

A really interesting and easy to follow course, perfect for professionals but also for general culture. Opened up my mind and made me think about certain things from different perspective. Really really enjoyed it!!!

von Gabriella P

May 30, 2018

Excellent!

von Maryhelen R

May 06, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of fashion -- its history, designers, their design motivations and philosophies. This is done through readings, interviews and videos highlighting a wide range of selected garments and accessories. Many important themes such as heroes, expression, modesty, silhouettes and couture are covered in conjunction with the items. More information on the items items discussed can be found in the exhibition catalog, Items: Is Fashion Modern? which is written by two of the instructors, Paola Antonelli and Michelle Millar Fisher (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 2018). If you are a serious student of fashion or one who is just beginning to explore its complexities, this catalog is an terrific addition to your library

von Lena L

Jul 02, 2018

So many fascinating bits of information. A great course for people interested in both design and fashion.

von Belén M

Jun 18, 2018

Genial y lleno de personas apasionadas por la moda, el contenido es bastante rico en información sin estar sobrecargado. Me siento muy satisfecha

von Fab B

Jan 30, 2018

I

r

e

a

l

l

y

l

o

v

e

d

i

t

,

i

l

e

a

r

n

a

l

o

t

a

n

d

von Francis C

Jul 01, 2018

terrific