Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
10,103 Bewertungen
2,880 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

2676 - 2700 von 2,840 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Sarah M J

Feb 03, 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

von Maria L C

May 23, 2016

Super interesting, but it is a very basic introduction to nutrition. Only the first or second lessons have information about nutrients and how they are different from each other. The other sections you could've gotten from a Michael Pollan book, or one of his documentaries. Nevertheless, very engaging, visually and verbally, and ideal for someone who is getting started on nutrition.

von Diana H F P

Jan 12, 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

von Alexandra L

Feb 19, 2016

Beautifully executed and fun to hear Michael Pollen speak, but sooooo easy. Too easy, really.

von Stephanie H

Jul 09, 2017

I appreciate this course, the quality of the videos, and the subject manner, however I felt that a lot of the material was drawn from an interview with Michael Pollan (why not just recommend reading his books, or seeing his wealth of documentaries on Netflix, such as "Cooked" and "In Defense of Food." I felt that this course did not offer as much scientific information about nutrition as I was hoping. Having said that, I feel like this course would be great for those struggling with their weight. There should be a link to this on diabetes and heart disease websites.

von Janet L

Jun 21, 2016

good stuff, but a bit preachy

von Kuo K T

Feb 10, 2016

Way too easy.. I was expecting more information in nutritional science.

Still there's some useful tips for us to choose good food and improve our health

von Ramune S

Jan 19, 2017

Very basic course for American non-healthy food consumers. Would never call it a university course. Not useful for professionals.

von Maria A M

Oct 19, 2016

Very basic

von Amber R

Jul 26, 2017

I enjoyed this course and thought it provided helpful, but very basic, information. I would recommend it for anyone who has little to no knowledge about the subject matter.

von Lim Z L

Jun 21, 2017

This course teaches very basic knowledge about nutrition. It is good for people who have are just starting out on learning about food and nutrition. Personally I feel that the topics discussed were rather repetitive and general. Perhaps the course could have dived deeper into the topic of nutrition such as discussion of how cooking methods may affect nutritional values of food, different storage conditions for different food types and whether they have any impact on the nutritional contents etc.

von Anastasia

Aug 10, 2017

I would say, the course is far too introductory. The recipes are really good! Thank you!

von Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

A very enjoyable course, but a little on the 'light side'. Good fun to watch, but not as rigorous as many other MOOCs. Though to be fair, the course only claims to be an introduction to the topic. The lecturer is certainly not boring.

von Elise D

Apr 05, 2017

This course had a lot of valuable information but in the quizzes it was only the most basic questions asked. And I would have liked more practice quizzes. Over all a good course though!

von Noor B

Sep 25, 2016

Good for healthy living

von Hans W

Sep 06, 2017

it was alright

von Tyler Y

Oct 15, 2016

Not a very high volume of material.

von Vita V

Jul 12, 2017

Для тех кто хоть иногда готовит и немного интересуется тем что он ест, курс полезен не будет.

von Carolina G d S C

Dec 23, 2016

The course should focus more in health professionals

von Kartika H

Mar 24, 2018

It has been helpful to learn more about cooking & the importance of cooking - but would be cool if the class can go more in depth!

von Sarah S

Jan 26, 2016

more scientific evidence would have been useful

von Evan C

Aug 02, 2017

Well produced and informative, but very very basic. I thought that it would be a little more in depth and require a little more study. I think I could have passed the quizzes without watching the videos.

von Andy N

Feb 03, 2016

If you have some basic knowledge about food and nutrition, then this course is not the right for you. It's very basic and sometimes trivial. But the lecturer and course itself was really nice.

von Jessie Z

Mar 16, 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

von muffinator

Jan 20, 2016

Helpful ideas, but could use some more practical suggestions.