Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
9,844 Bewertungen
2,824 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filtern nach:

2651 - 2675 von 2,792 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Diana H F P

Jan 12, 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

von Jotsna I

Mar 05, 2016

Not much depth

von Boya D

Jan 04, 2018

The course is very introductory but well laid out. If you are already doing some readings on nutrition before this course, you will find more 50% of the course to be familiar. I really wish that the course is longer and have some more in-depth information, and possibly some more insights related to the various diet trends we see now.

von William E

Feb 15, 2016

a tad simplistic - grades should be locked too

von Sandra M

Apr 06, 2017

I actually enjoyed this class very much, but it doesn't go very deep in the topic. The questions to the quiz are very easy to answer to. In my opinion, this class is great for a general public, but it is not an university level course.

von Stephanie H

Jul 09, 2017

I appreciate this course, the quality of the videos, and the subject manner, however I felt that a lot of the material was drawn from an interview with Michael Pollan (why not just recommend reading his books, or seeing his wealth of documentaries on Netflix, such as "Cooked" and "In Defense of Food." I felt that this course did not offer as much scientific information about nutrition as I was hoping. Having said that, I feel like this course would be great for those struggling with their weight. There should be a link to this on diabetes and heart disease websites.

von Sol A

Jan 23, 2016

an easy course, i would reccomend it to novices to nutritional science. If you're a more seasoned nutritionist, move on and find a more challenging course.

von Laura S

May 03, 2016

good overall conversation about food

von Ramune S

Jan 19, 2017

Very basic course for American non-healthy food consumers. Would never call it a university course. Not useful for professionals.

von Maria A M

Oct 19, 2016

Very basic

von Amber R

Jul 26, 2017

I enjoyed this course and thought it provided helpful, but very basic, information. I would recommend it for anyone who has little to no knowledge about the subject matter.

von Alexandra L

Feb 19, 2016

Beautifully executed and fun to hear Michael Pollen speak, but sooooo easy. Too easy, really.

von KellI

Mar 20, 2016

Good "basics" course. Great for beginners and reminders!

I was hoping for something more advanced & was a bit disappointed. I am probably more knowledgeable than most however. The statement made regarding "eating fruits & veggies regardless of whether they have pesticides or not" was a bit tough for me as I became ill in part due to pesticides and still am. I might always be. I understand eating veggies in place of other foods (i. e. - processed foods) as I eat very little meat anymore. But coming from Stanford and someone as educated as he is, that was shocking. It makes me wonder who funded this course.

von Lim Z L

Jun 21, 2017

This course teaches very basic knowledge about nutrition. It is good for people who have are just starting out on learning about food and nutrition. Personally I feel that the topics discussed were rather repetitive and general. Perhaps the course could have dived deeper into the topic of nutrition such as discussion of how cooking methods may affect nutritional values of food, different storage conditions for different food types and whether they have any impact on the nutritional contents etc.

von Anastasia

Aug 10, 2017

I would say, the course is far too introductory. The recipes are really good! Thank you!

von jorge c

Jun 20, 2016

Good for general knowledge about healthy di

von Debbie C

Feb 20, 2016

It was well presented but a little light on, I was hoping for a bit more "meat" to it. But interesting none the less, & a fascinating insight into how few people apparently cook their own food.

von p u

May 12, 2017

very useful as an overview for beginners who have very less idea on nutrition. but i wouldn't recommend it for someone who wants to gain expertise in diet planning ( for themselves or other). its very basic and helps bursting some common myths and misconceptions.

von Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

A very enjoyable course, but a little on the 'light side'. Good fun to watch, but not as rigorous as many other MOOCs. Though to be fair, the course only claims to be an introduction to the topic. The lecturer is certainly not boring.

von Janet L

Jun 21, 2016

good stuff, but a bit preachy

von Kuo K T

Feb 10, 2016

Way too easy.. I was expecting more information in nutritional science.

Still there's some useful tips for us to choose good food and improve our health

von sarah d

Jul 21, 2016

basic but interesting

von Olivia C

Sep 19, 2017

I

t

w

o

u

l

d

b

e

b

e

t

t

e

r

I

f

t

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

h

a

s

m

o

r

e

c

a

s

e

s

.

von Thomas C

Nov 23, 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

von Samantha O

Jun 30, 2017

The first two weeks contained very basic information about nutrition which was educational and presented in an organized and helpful way. The second two weeks focused on building a "healthy" meal. The final week is a cooking course with recipes and cooking demos. The information in the last three weeks was organized well but did not seem to be based on varied resources and scientific studies but rather on the information Michael Pollan presents in his books. The class would have greatly benefited from a nutrition or medical professional who could give scientific insight.

Overall this course would be helpful for people with little to no knowledge of food or nutrition but does not explore the vast amount of research the covers how our bodies process and react to foods and how those foods can impact our health and major chronic diseases.