Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
10,149 Bewertungen
2,894 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtern nach:

2551 - 2575 von 2,860 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Tatyana B

Jan 01, 2018

I like the concise context with clear explanation

von Joycelyn F

Jul 19, 2017

this course cover some basics and things that we don't always know when it comes to health

von Malti Q S

Jan 29, 2018

This course is a great way to get the year started in the right way. It's simple enough for anybody to understand without leaving any of the important information out. It's a lot of fun and it's easy to follow.

von Aditya s

Mar 07, 2018

gained a lot about making right food choices and much more

von Maria d P B

Jan 26, 2016

Nice for a first approach, easy to follow. Good content.

von payel p

Jan 22, 2016

This s a very good course for the new so called busy generation.

von Sharoon S

Oct 14, 2017

This was an interesting course. It was visually appealing, timed just right and mostly informative. I would have liked for this to be a bit more scientifically informative. There was a lot of feel good episodes which I personally felt didn't add to my take away. I do appreciate the course instructors positive demeanor and presentation.

von daniel h

May 02, 2018

A good way to start your research into what food is, what you can do with it and how food works in your everyday life. The videos are informative however lacking charisma to keep the student entertained.... This may not be a negative. This is about facts and Standford provides a good base to start from.

Thanks.

von Dario C

Mar 02, 2016

Someone really put some work into this! Great if you (like me) do not have any clue on how to eat healthy.

Somehow superficial treatment though, if someone asked me what i took out of this course i would say to best eat half vegetables and half meat/carbohydrates. I hoped for more answers on "why" questions, like "why are vegetables necessary?", or "what vegetables are needed for what body function?".

Still, nice, flashy videos and great commitment of the editors.

von Olga N

Apr 18, 2016

It is a very basic course, very useful for general public. But if your specialization is nutrition or public health, this course is way too easy and does not have enough info.

von Anna M

Jun 16, 2017

It can serve a good source of information for a person who wants to change his/her lifestyle to the healthier one.

von Ryann G

Feb 14, 2016

I enjoyed this course and learning, specifically how to adapt a healthier diet and the evolution of food in the US. The videos were interesting and the information was insightful and applicable to daily life. The only thing I might change in the course is having the professor incorporate definitions to some of the terms (i.e. nutrient dense, ​, metabolic​ abnormalities) in the videos, or as a supplemental document.

I would recommend this course to others.

von Pan C T

Jan 04, 2017

This Course is useful and practical for all the students and people would like to know the detail of food and health. Actually, after finishing this course, I have a stronger interest in food than before. If the lecturer can give us more information about this area, that would be better.

von SOPHIA E N

Jun 04, 2018

very educative, interesting and insightful

von Aakanksha C

Jul 03, 2018

It was very informative. Though it could have included more topics related to beverages like green tea, black coffee, or about metabolism, different types of fruits and nutritional value of each.

von arwa

Apr 19, 2018

a nice short course which is very helpful ,

von Haley B

Jun 27, 2016

This was a great course in learning more about how and why we eat the way we do. I enjoyed the detailed information I learned, and highly recommend this class.

von lena.pan

Feb 13, 2018

It will be better If it could go deeper

von Misty H

Feb 15, 2016

Good info, maybe a bit basic. Would love a more in depth follow up.

Thanks for all your hard work.

von Jana R

Jan 20, 2016

I would have loved to get more information. Addtional readings, forums to share ideas and recipes, projects etcs about food, health and nutrition. Maybe homework would increase our knowledge! Some paper as final assignment would be helpful.

Thanks for the course and enjoy your meals :)

von TANKshital k

Jul 04, 2017

very good information regarding food and one who is begginer in food and nutritions knowledge should go for it

von Alex D

Feb 16, 2017

nice course, could be more scientific

von dr p H P

Jan 20, 2018

an enriching tasty well balanced course for sure!!!:-)

von Marie P

Jan 07, 2017

Nice course to get started on Food and Health

von Nikhil M

Jul 20, 2017

Very well explained nice course for beginners. Thank you entire team of Coursera, Maya and Michel for sharing the important facts of food.