Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
1,244 Bewertungen
405 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 405 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Marjorie G

May 21, 2019

I wish there is a part two to this course. I want to learn more,

von Cristoberly A B

Apr 13, 2019

A course that every Canadian needs to take to promote the healing of our nation.

von KATHY M

May 20, 2019

I knew very little about Indigenous before I started this course. I have learnt many things and looking forward to learning more. This is a great course for a distinct overview of the nation.

von Natalie G

Sep 17, 2018

Great course. Very informative and relevant. Videos were well-edited and featured accompanying course notes, which were very helpful for the quizzes. Would highly recommend to all Canadians.

von Art H

Nov 21, 2017

There are several reasons why I rated this course as being poor. First, the presentation style does not make use of the capabilities of the medium, namely a significant (perhaps 70 to 80%) portion of the course is just lecturing. There are flashes of material on the screen behind the presenter but, most of the time, there is no specific discussion of the picture, diagram or map. The course would be enhanced significantly by using videos, real interviews (rather than just having the interviewee speak about the topic just like a lecturer), and by really incorporating graphics into the presentation. My second reason is that the material is presented in a very superficial manner. I realize that this is an introductory course but the course organizers/presenters need to go in depth into a few of the examples rather than just quickly going over them. Thirdly, there is very limited resource material given and the access to that material is not very user friendly. For example, if one wanted to get more information on a particular treaty, it would be helpful to have the reference to that directly incorporated into the course notes so that one could click on the reference and bring up an article with more details.

von Annie P

Nov 19, 2018

Wonderful introduction to indigenous culture, issues, and issues told from an indigenous perspective. Highly educational and eye opening. It should be a mandatory course for all Canadians. Highly recommend.

von Louis P

Dec 04, 2018

Wonderful, amazing, very informative. I have learn so much in those months. Thank you for this education!

von Rob M

Dec 03, 2018

Great introduction the the amazing diversity of the Indigenous peoples.

von Michelle B

Dec 11, 2018

Took this training along with several of my colleagues at the Justice Institute of BC. The material is presented in a very neutral way and invites the learner to draw their own conclusions about the information. Overall, this was a tremendous learning experience. Thank you!

von Alonso P H

Jan 05, 2019

Excellent course. Very insightful and a very good introduction to many different issues.

von Narinder S S

Jan 30, 2019

A very deep and layered learning with in-depth teachings on the varying degrees of struggles the Indigenous peoples of Canada endured during the settler invasions. I appreciated the geographical layout of how Canada was inhabited by the Indigenous people and how they navigated, traded and established mutual agreements with each other to ensure the land and its' inhabitants all thrived before the settlers arrived. A deep appreciation of how our Indigenous people value 'the whole' and not just how our natural resources benefit the limited few for the short-term. A great course which I wholeheartedly

von Tomos S

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent course. Very well prepared and informative.

von Katherine M

Jan 30, 2019

I learned a lot from this course and gained an appreciation of modern indigenous challenges.

von Ravi s

Jan 31, 2019

good course to give an better understanding about Indigenous people's and their contribution in building Canadian society

von Shajini J

Feb 01, 2019

Very important and comprehensive course!

von Virginia C

Feb 03, 2019

Very informative and easy to follow. Thanks for the opportunity to learn more about Indigenous culture.

von Aaron F

Nov 20, 2018

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.

von Amelia S

Nov 06, 2018

Thorough, informative, entertaining, and eye-opening. This course is everything that grade seven studies of Native history should be.

von Kameron K

Nov 24, 2018

This course is an amazing experience and a great start towards educating yourself about the lives of Indigenous Peoples in Canada. I can't recommend it enough to anyone who seeks to work towards reconciliation by furthering their understanding of the struggles, successes, and beauty of First Nations, Inuit, and Metis people in Canada and the incredibly distinct and diverse cultures that have occupied this land since time immemorial.

von Heather F

Nov 23, 2018

Very informative and engaging!

von Lindsay D

Nov 25, 2018

Every Canadian should take this course and classes based on it should be mandatory in every high school across the country. I'm hoping a second instalment will come where we can learn in more depth about the suffering of this country's Indigenous Peoples.

von Linda B

Nov 11, 2018

Very informative!

von Logan S

Nov 29, 2018

This course was very informative about the history of indigenous peoples of Canada. I now have a greater perspective about the issues that Canadians must deal with regarding indigenous issues in modern society.

von Sean G

Jan 16, 2019

GREAT INSIGHT TO THE HISTORY OF CANADA

von Tara P

Jan 17, 2019

Amazing, transformative and so informative!