Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Indigenous Canada, University of Alberta

4.8
960 Bewertungen
318 Bewertungen

Über diesen Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

von JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

von YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtern nach:

318 Bewertungen

von genevieve lawrie

May 24, 2019

Should be part of public school curriculum.

von Sarah Hewitt

May 23, 2019

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

von Katherine Bender

May 23, 2019

I really enjoyed to learn of all the little things that made Canada the way it was and the changes that our Indigenous people are making .

von Simon Tessier

May 22, 2019

Loved it. Videos and materials provided were very interesting. Knowing more about how indigenous people were treated unfairly by us settlers revealed mixed emotions.

von Marjorie Gray

May 21, 2019

I wish there is a part two to this course. I want to learn more,

von Adriana Lopera

May 21, 2019

It was very good. Very informative. I liked it very much.

von Wendy Mah

May 21, 2019

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

von KATHY MCKENZIE

May 20, 2019

I knew very little about Indigenous before I started this course. I have learnt many things and looking forward to learning more. This is a great course for a distinct overview of the nation.

von Tyson Marcinski

May 19, 2019

This course is a very in-depth overview of history told from the perspective of the indigenous tribes of Canada and includes a unique view of cultural practices and the impacts of colonialism both past and present. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the videos were well made. Thank you for the hard work.

von Wally Speckert

May 19, 2019

I was blessed to have taken this course and to have increased my awareness and understanding of indigenous peoples, the role that they have played in Canada, their history, and the shameful what that the European settlers treated them and that we as "new Canadians" have treated them. I would highly recommend this course. It will educate you and open your mind.