Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
1,681 Bewertungen
566 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 570 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Vera K

Mar 12, 2018

Everyone living and breathing on this continent has an obligation to know (at least this much more) about the real history and culture of this land. I went to school in Toronto (born here) and didn't even get a sliver of the information in this course. At times I cried, got mad, felt guilt, felt gratitude and everything in between during these lessons. I think it's one step that non-indigenous people can take towards reconciliation is to start getting a real picture of how we got to where we are today. I'm very grateful for having found and completed this course. I will continue to share and encourage others to take this course.

von David H

Nov 30, 2017

I found this course very informative and presented ia ab easy to understand format. The impact of the Europeans is astonishing that what they did was try to conquer and divide the diverse and different Indigenous Peoples of Canada. This course really made me aware of all the issues they have and rightly so. I've always been interested in knowing more about our first peoples in this vast land we call Canada and this course helped immensely. I'll strive to learn more and pay more attention to what's happening in current relations between the Colonists and the Indigenous Peoples. We collectively could learn a lot more from them.

von Paula M C

May 30, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and the instructors! It has provided me with a much broader understanding of Canada before and since colonization, and of the painful and poignant struggles that the Indigenous peoples of this land have endured at the "divide and conquer" whims of colonial and European powers. I am most impressed with the resilience and the power of community action of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada to effect positive change for all. I will highly recommend this course to my colleagues here at Western U. It was my first MOOC and I'm happy it was with you, Professor Bear! Miigwetch!!

von Melvin R W

Dec 29, 2018

This well constructed and designed course offers an excellent introduction to native peoples from a variety of perspectives....anthropological, geographic, historical, cultural, philosophical, political, spiritual, artistic. The teachings are clear and the mixed used of lecture, interview, image and quiz carries one of an engaging journey which can be taken an one's own pace and in one's own time. I'm an American MDiv in Interfaith Spirituality and Comparative Religion and found this a valuable addition to my repertoire of knowledge. Thank you to the scholars at the University of Alberta who developed this course.

von Chet K

May 25, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. I actually started this course because I did not understand the issues our Indigenous people face here in Canada.

When I don't understand something my preference is to take a stance of trying to learn. I started by reading books by indigenous authors and those were very informative. Then after creating some dialogue from reading the books it was recommended that I take this course to learn about Canada's history from an Indigenous perspective.

The presenters do an excellent job, the videos are short and the reading material is provided. I highly recommend this course.

von Jennifer L

Aug 31, 2017

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

von Irene D

Jan 30, 2018

I’m very pleased with this informative indigenous course. I’ve learned a lot about issues affecting indigenous - First Nation and politics . I’ve learned a lot about the affect that land has on indigenous culture and a little about trieties and the politics involved. It’s help me develop language and open

my mindtjank up to the abuse that took place and how and why it’s important for them to be heard and understood as a community . I love the storytelling approach and that they leave people to learn at their own pace and that woman detained a lot of power in their comminittees 🙏

von Nashira D

Aug 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

von Irina D

Feb 17, 2019

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

von Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

von Kim R

Nov 10, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

von Monica P

Aug 08, 2018

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

von Alexandre C

Jun 06, 2017

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

von Liyan D

Jun 07, 2019

Growing up in central and northern Alberta, I thought I had a pretty good idea of Indigenous history. I was wrong. This course has changed everything. For example, I now REALLY understand that I was born on Treaty 6 lands, and spent quite a few school years on Treaty 8 land. That reality matters and should be foremost in our minds. I also learned that there is another word for "Cree" and I had no idea that was the case. I now know that nehiyawak (lower case only) is a correct and respectful term. Everyone should take this course!

von Christopher M C

Aug 12, 2018

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!

von Sharifa D R

Jun 18, 2018

This course was an amazing introductory course to Indigenous Worldview, Community, and History. The only way humanity can do better, is to educate themselves of failures and wrongdoings in the past. #preventhistoryfromrepeatingitself I hope this course acts as a staring point for people who want to know more about the Indigenous land we are inhabiting. As mentioned in the course there is much more knowledge to be learned, and I am sad the course was not longer. I Highly recommend this course to every Canadian!

von Gwendolyn F

Jun 05, 2017

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

von Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

von Jana C

Apr 10, 2019

Indigenous Canada is an OUTSTANDING course. The lectures were presented in an engaging and professional manner and I appreciated the thought-provoking interviews throughout, as well as the art depiction/description at the end of each module.

This course left me with many emotions, which in turn, has placed within me the desire to delve deeper into the histories and stories of Indigenous people.

Thank you, I am grateful for the opportunity to have taken this course.

von Francois C

May 18, 2020

Excellent series of lectures given in the Indigenous oral tradition. Very eye opening for a Canadian whose knowledge of Indigenous people had primarily come from a few pages of a high school history book. The course only touched on many important and current issues which I am now in a better position to appreciate, and will follow with great interest. I offer my sincerest thanks to the lecturers, and to the University of Alberta for making this course available.

von Sean M

Jul 16, 2019

I would recommend Indigenous Canada to anyone with an interest in acquiring knowledge about Aboriginal/non-Aboriginal relationships and how our collective history shapes our relationships today.

The course is a worthwhile investment of time for those who are interested in seeing matters from an indigenous perspective. It was certainly helpful for me and brought me to a new level of understanding of the complex history of indigenous people and the nation of Canada.

von Heidi M

Oct 27, 2017

It was fantastic in every way. I highly recommend this course. The format and the quality of the videos and course notes were very high. The actual content was delivered in a concise but thoughtful way. I have taken previous courses on Indigenous history and learned more in this course then I have in all the others combined (including the history classes/courses from high school and university). This is really something every settler in Canada should have to take.

von Nicole M B

May 06, 2020

There is so much covered in this course. It is very thorough in a lot of different subjects affecting indigenous populations, from the past up through the present. There is a lot of content regarding the various treaties, laws, and interactions with the Canadian government, and they are particularly thorough with this material. If you are looking for a class that will give an broad introductory base in indigenous law, culture and thought, this course is for you.

von Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.

von Val H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! I can not say enough good things about it. I especially appreciated going through history in chronological order from and Indigenous perspective. The lectures were extremely well done, the information was concise and easy to understand. I highly recommend this course for all Alberta teachers in preparation for the new Teacher Quality Standards. The information provided will give you a solid foundation to hang all future learnings from.